Leave a comment

♪♫ For Such A Time As This ♪♫

*GOD*day!

Sure I’m old, but even when I wasn’t I tended to love the old songs.  Truth be told I  love music.  I can’t sing worth a hoot, but that’s okay because I sing, and if you don’t like my voice, I can’t say that bothers me either.  I’m not looking to make a career of singing, I sing because my song is for my King.  Or sometimes my song is just because, if you’re happy and you know it, you sing, you hum, you whistle.

Today however, my song and my heart are just singing a simple song that is an older song.  It is a generational song, and if we don’t begin to embrace both the fact that we’ve accepted Christ and He wants to mold and make us, we are missing out on the best part of  being a CHRISTian.

There are a lot of saved people, but they are living in the world missing the mark of change.  They are running the race but immersed in the world around them, instead of reaping the benefits of being under the reconstruction from the King.  People today question, or make comments today like I did as a new CHRISTian.

Here is how transparent I’m going to be today.  I might have even shared this story, and some of you have heard it, but because I’m not a pastor or certified anybody, most people don’t listen to me or give a flying fig about what I have to say.  Now I don’t say that in sour voice or with animosity, I’m just speaking the truth and the Truth, with love in my heart.  Listening to me isn’t going to gain you anything, but listening isn’t enough.

James 1:

Act on What You Hear

 19-21Post this at all the intersections, dear friends: Lead with your ears, follow up with your tongue, and let anger straggle along in the rear. God’s righteousness doesn’t grow from human anger. So throw all spoiled virtue and cancerous evil in the garbage. In simple humility, let our gardener, God, landscape you with the Word, making a salvation-garden of your life.

 22-24Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear! Those who hear and don’t act are like those who glance in the mirror, walk away, and two minutes later have no idea who they are, what they look like.

 25But whoever catches a glimpse of the revealed counsel of God—the free life!—even out of the corner of his eye, and sticks with it, is no distracted scatterbrain but a man or woman of action. That person will find delight and affirmation in the action.

 26-27Anyone who sets himself up as “religious” by talking a good game is self-deceived. This kind of religion is hot air and only hot air. Real religion, the kind that passes muster before God the Father, is this: Reach out to the homeless and loveless in their plight, and guard against corruption from the godless world.

Now My Story – Now His Story

When I first got saved I was just like most people when they first get saved; well okay, maybe not like most, but on the level of being excited, yeah, that was me to the umpteenth degree ☺ .  I was on top of the world and wanted everyone to understand what I just understood for the first time.  That in itself is a GOD-thing.  How you go about it though, that’s the steps that can be tricky.  Now I’m a very strong willed individual.  Like I had to share that.  I’ve even raised strong willed children.  Like that is a shocker.  Most strong willed people raise strong willed children or students.  It’s our nature.  Though the world wants to break you of being strong willed, that is not the thing to do.  What needs to be changed in a strong willed individual is the bent.  The bending of that will and the direction of that will is what needs to be tweaked.

Before I was saved I was living out my life story.  After one gets saved that story title of “This is my life” should change to, “This is His Life”.  I’m not kidding when I say that.  I do believe we each have individual journeys He is taking us on, yet we all should be telling the story of Jesus Christ with our life.

My First Presto-Change-O

Drinking?  I’ve heard pastor’s preach on this till the well is overflowing with opinion.  Some say it’s okay, some say they’ve preached the Word and it’s not okay.  Me, I’m an analogy teacher and I know how to teach from one school, my own learning curve and that of the Word of GOD.  You can take me, you can leave me, you can take GOD at His Word, you can leave GOD with His Word, you can mingle GOD’s Word with drink.  Choice is yours, but the leading sure as Heaven-best be led by the Holy Spirit.

So here’s my story and be it anyone reads it or does not, it’s a glory story of mine between me and my Glorious GOD Father-Son and Spirit.  Key being the Holy Spirit part.  Why?

Let me put it this way.  I listen to a lot of people say “I know him.”  “I know her.”  Really?  What does that really mean to know someone?  Or we say, “I know who that is.”  It’s true that we often know just a small portion of “who”.  Or we know a small portion “about” someone.  Saying I know, that’s big stuff.

For instance I can definitively say, “I know my husband.”  I do know him.  I know as much about him that an earthly individual can know about someone, or the earthly individual affords you to know.  It’s all based on earth.  I however cannot say that I know my husbands heart.  I have glimpses into his heart, but only GOD knows the heart of any one of us on a level that goes so deep, so wide, that well, it should be a bit intimidating.  I mean that in the most GOD-respecting way.  There should be, and in this I believe we have failed in the Body, to define that in-Christ Jesus, in accepting Jesus, in believing in Father, Son and indwelling of the Holy Spirit, we omit that there does need to be a healthy fear of GOD.  We leave that out though cause quite frankly I don’t think it draws to many numbers in the door or brings forth the most tithe.  Sorry, this is why I don’t get paid for doing this.  I have no fear of you, of man, I however sure as Heaven-fire have a healthy fear of GOD.  I’m GOD with that!  Are you?

Drinking Games

Ever play them?  Maybe you were born and raised in the church and you never have had a drop of alcohol in your life.  GOD-for you!  I mean that.  Whoever the people are out there that think you have to try something before you can speak about it, they are co-coo.  I mean that!  Seriously, should I try to kill someone before I know it’s wrong?  I think not, in fact I know I don’t have to do that.  So if someone ever says such an idiotic thing to you.  Just politely say, well… I’ve never killed anyone, should I try that out now to see if it’s wrong.  Okay, so don’t say that.  That would be wrong too.  My point, two wrongs never ever add up to a right thing to do.

The drinking game I was playing after I accepted Christ Jesus was my wine cooler drinking game.  It wasn’t a game at all, it was a way of life.  Wine coolers, how bad can that be?  Seriously, a tasty little cool down on a hot Florida day, which basically is every day–no problem-o, no worries, just be happy!

Yea, had GOD said this? Eve got the same little tiny question from a little snake in the grass.  A little wee voice, from a sleeking little serpent sent to mess with the mind.  You think to yourself, that was then, this is now.  Things have changed.

Really?

No, no they’ve not changed.  It’s all still going on.  A little wine here, a little beer, a little cheer.  It’s all good.  Sure, it’s all good, but is it all GOD?

Enter the little serpent again… “Yea, had GOD said?” and you and I are back in the Garden with GOD and GOD wants to know?  Who said this?  Me or the snake?  Do I encourage you to get something from somewhere other than Me?

A whole lot full of people are taking a look backward and instead of asking GOD what to do, where to go, how to behave… they just wait until they hear the answer they want from the right preacher, teacher.  What you are doing is allowing a little serpent to give you what you want.  Satan was on track in asking Eve wasn’t he?  I mean seriously, when satan asked Eve, had GOD said?  satan backed it all up with the idea that GOD wasn’t looking really out for the good of Eve.  satan was right, GOD wasn’t!  GOD was looking out for the GOD-of Eve.  Only Eve, she was looking for what she wanted.  Now, now is any of this clearer how the picture hasn’t changed much in this world?  It’s still going on.  People in the Body are claiming just like a serpent did, and the question is still proposed and being answered by man, not GOD.  Cause that’s the way man continues to like it, and well, it annoys me so very much.  This is after all my blog and I’m not afraid to say so.  So here goes, GOD has a lot to say about this, but you can just shy away, click me out, but ask yourself first…

Yea, hath GOD said?

Which Do You Want?

So here it is my drinking game story.

I worked at school.  My first husband Joe, who is Home with Jesus now, he traveled.  Like by travel, I mean he traveled.  He had a job where he was only home maybe 165 days out of the year, maybe.  Those days were only every six to eight weeks and only for two, maybe three days at a time, with the exception of the end of Nov. to Jan.  where there was no construction going on in malls across America, so he was home.  Anywho…

I basically was a single mom.  Many a day I felt like that.  Maybe more like a military mom, who’s husband was away, and still very much in the picture.  That would be a better descriptive view of our life.

Me, Jeannie Bee would come home with my children and get them settled into homework, play time, what have you.  All the normal day to day mom and kid routines that play out across this great land that we love; with one exception in my life.  When I got home from a day in public school I needed to chill.  By chill I mean grab my Bible and inhale some wisdom from God’s Word.  You didn’t think I was going to say that did you?  I was a new CHRISTian and I at least had the smarts to know this.  What can I say, I was led to the Lord by some amazing Bible teaching folks, Larry and Pat Freeman.  I will never forget them, nor not say that I’m thankful to GOD for them.

So my story goes.

I also had a friend named Jeannie, yes Jeannie.  How GOD-incidental does life get when GOD is in it?  Very!!!  So Jeannie has been telling me that I need to stop drinking all together.  We play out the same old oldie but goodie conversation about, GOD does not want you to drink, Jeannie says over and over.  Me Jeannie, I say the legen—wait for it

dary… They drank in the Bible.

How many times have you said that?

Yet, has GOD said?

Before you answer that question, read on.

So here is my every day normal Jeannie day of coming home from public school and settling in.  I go to the fridge, grab a delicious wine cooler, grab my Bible and settle in for a long Bible chat.

What am I reading on this particular day?  I’ll never forget.  Go back up and reread James 1 again.  Yep, those are the very Words of the day GOD was speaking to me.  Oh satan was here, but when you are wanting more of Him and less of this world and the voice trying to outdo His, you can hear, but will you listen?

Reading and Listening

Commercial Interruption:

The other day I blogged about Joe vs. The Volcano.  I made some cookies with said name in them, inspired by the movie and Duncan Hines.  This commercial interruption is because there is also a line in that movie that I never really understood until yesterday.  It finally, along with James 1 makes full sense to me.  I even was telling Dan this last evening.

I’m sharing the clip because if you look at it from a GOD-view, which I do, you might hear GOD saying to you and I:  You can be hearers of the Word but can you be doers of the Word?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LnLDMqPBeKQ

You and I get so annoyed with him saying that over and over, or repetitive words from seasoned CHRISTians who are trying to share wisdom, we tune them out, like you want to tune this boss out.  Yet, if GOD was saying this to us, regarding being hearers, and not doers, don’t you believe it is He, GOD, who is frustrated with us?

_______________________________________________________

This concludes our commercial interruption

_______________________________________________________

What I’ve shared above is a true story.  What follows is also true, just as it occurred.

I’m reading and right at verse 25  25But whoever catches a glimpse of the revealed counsel of God—the free life!—even out of the corner of his eye, and sticks with it, is no distracted scatterbrain but a man or woman of action. That person will find delight and affirmation in the action.

I hear: Jeannie which is it you want to be filled with to help you?

Seriously, it was audible as if it was loud and clear.  Only it’s something you hear more with your heart and spirit then with your ears.  But remember GOD’s Word say’s:

Isaiah 30:21

21 Your ears will hear a word behind you, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right or to the left.

So what’s a Jeannie to do?

I’ll tell you what I did, I ignored it.  Yep, yes sirree I did.  I just kept drinking my wine cooler and reading.  How’s that for right living?  How’s that for making a wise choice?  How’s that for obedience?  Yep, now I see that I was sort of like Jonah.  I apparently felt that wine coolers were much better than, well, you know the story.  In fact there are many lessons to be learned in the Bible, and quite honestly, once again, you don’t have to go through the misery to know first hand by doing it yourself to learn before you know.

My story though, my truth be told.

So I ignore it and read, and drink and read.

Again I hear, and this time the words are different.

“Jeannie, which do you want, Me as your comforter to help you, or that wine cooler?”

Want to know what I did?  I’m not stupid okay.  I’m slow out the gate sometimes, but pretty much I’m a by the Book girl.  I got up poured the wine cooler down the drain.  Went to the fridge grabbed the rest of them and poured them out too.

In my journal the next morning what do you suppose I wrote after this encounter with satan and the Holy  Spirit?

What did I write…

And I will never be the same again!

I also wrote how very grateful to GOD I was for giving me His voice in the wilderness to hear again.  He didn’t have to.  He didn’t have to send me Larry and Pat Freeman to witness to me.  He didn’t have to give me  another Jeannie in my life, yet He did.

So I ask you today, not knowing what it is GOD wants out of your life so that He can fill it with more of Him, Yea, has GOD said?  Who are you listening to today for growth and wisdom?  Are you taking the walk seriously, or are you taking it as a casual affair with one foot walking with Jesus and the other relying on drinking?  Cause my dear child of GOD, GOD says you can’t have it both ways.

You are all with Him, or you are fiddling and messing with a little serpent in the grass that once led us all down a path that led Jesus straight to the cross.

For Such A Time As This by Wayne Watson

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ewvh6grD8I4&feature=related

Who’s voice will you follow. Will you be like Eve, or will you choose to show satan that He can no longer be the twister of GOD’s Word and His voice in your life? Which is it? It’s a GOD day or it’s a day you make satan smile.

Until all have heard of and know, His Love,

Jeannie Bee

Commentary:  I want to add how difficult it was for me to post that shot glass with it reading “I ♥ Jesus”.  I did it though because once upon a time, that was me.  The difference being, I allowed Him to speak and sent satan slithering away.  What if Eve had done that?  Wouldn’t you be so very grateful to her now?  We aren’t though, and yet what we sometimes do is mix and mingle this worlds ways, with the ways of GOD.  Come out from under this thinking people, it’s just a little slight of the hand, from a still very cunning, snake in the grass.


Leave a Reply

