Leave a comment

Blessed For Success by Jeannie Majka-Sherwood

*GOD*day!

Welcome To Only The Beginning

To what life fuel looks like.  It was fuel for my little old self to be able to be proud of something I’d done during a time of my life that feels a lot like loss or losing.

This was/is only the beginning.  That’s what I’m sure Duncan Hines thought at the inception.  I’m sure even when a company comes together these are their thoughts, you don’t plan to be stagnant after all.  Herein lies the valuable lessons one can learn as you look at something not just for the experience of you, but many.

It might not have been this to many people, or to any people present, but as I sat at the table at the Delicious House (D.H.) restaurant, this is what I had before me all because of something someone else did, unknowing that it was going to bless this many people.  That person was Duncan Hines.  That person was a people person who factored into his life the people multiplication.  Now I stink at math, no really I do.  As I shared with someone this weekend, I would have bought stock in Mattel if only I knew they were coming out with that Barbie that said “I hate math.”  I seriously understood for the first time where Barbie and all her beauty was coming from.  I didn’t get the beauty part, but I understood her language at least. LOL

Math, one of those necessary evils as far as I’m concerned.  I’m not a fan, but I do get cooking math.  It’s different and if you do some research you’ll see math people, calculus people–ha-ha, we cooking folks get our own sort of calculator, and when we are all done using our calculators the product is, especially when it’s Duncan Hines, something SWEET!  I don’t say that with a mean spirit, I say that with some pride in even being capable of doing anything great using numbers. What the calculator will never be able to calculate however is the number of people that will be affected by what you think, say or do.  It will never be able to show you all the infinity and beyond that goes on long after us.  That’s the bigger picture that happened for me.  That’s the serving on my life plate that I was hoping to see and I did.  You will never be able to calculate people.  People either are multiplying themselves way beyond the thought of self, or they are self absorbed.  What I got to witness first hand this past weekend went way beyond the rolling out of a red carpet and the front doors of a building, beautiful and spectacular as it all was, was more about the people within and the people they serve out in the world.

You can purchase one of this little doozies and it’s going to be a huge help, especially if you are like me.

Psalm 23:5
You serve me a six-course dinner right in front of my enemies. You revive my drooping head; my cup brims with blessing.

Bless v. To pray for GOD’s favor upon someone or something.  To praise GOD or call Him holy.  To be blessed with, to have the stated benefit.

Want to know the opposite?  No worries, I’ll tell you later if you have the patience to read on.  If not, be blessed†♥†

Blessed adj. Enjoying happiness; favored by GOD:  Matthew 5:8,9 Blessed are the pure in ♥ for they will see GOD!

Blessing  n. 1.  An act of asking or receiving divine help, favor, protection, etc.  2.  Encouragement, approval.

Every Wonder of  “Why?”


Of course you do; wonder why I mean.   We all do at sometime or another think or say the word why.  Or we “why” at  how a product or even a person gets their name.  For instance just before I left I’d been talking with one of our customers in our store.  I’d seen him at my counter, I talked for him a bit.  You don’t get a chance when you are handing out ribeye steak so much, to talk with everyone.  Everyone has their mouth full and they are loving it.  Anywho… a couple of times before but never until then did I get to ask him his name.  His name?  It was Shamus.  Being me, I asked what nationality/origin that name was.  He shared that it was just the name given to him by his hippie parents. LOL  I laughed as did he.  I told him I like it.  I think it sounds like a great manly name.  Also I told him, if ever anyone wants to steal his identity it’s really going to be noticeable.  I’m pretty sure there are not a lot of Shamus’ living out in the world and thus it could be he was blessed with such a name.  He told me he liked the way I thought.  I’d like to be able to have told him I wished I’d always think that way… see the positive side.  I try, but there are days, you know, the days where things look like anything but being blessed.

Yesterday was that day for me.  You know how it is when you come off one of the highest highs and hit some of the lowest lows.  I’m home and it’s back to facing all that is going on and then some.  It’s the “then some” that catches and takes my breath away.

WAIT for it…

No it isn’t.  I’d have surely done myself in if that was the case.  The truth is you have to be person who practices what you preach.  I’m not always good at that as I tend to be the first to be critical of myself, not of others.  Not until at least I feel under attack, and still that is not the way to be either blessed or a blessing.

I was reminded in the muddle of yesterday, as it is always favorable to do, to allow the Lord to lead you and direct you.  To sustain you!  Ah, my sustenance. ♪♫  “All of my help cometh from the Lord.” ♪♫ and ♪♫ I get by with a little help from my friend. ♪♫

When you see the verse below, or we experience the Job like life of having things taken away, or our losses column is bigger than that of our gains, we tend to get in the dull drums.  We don’t have to though.  Truly we do not.  Just like Job when all that he was losing that was near and dear to him came crumbling away, Job sat even with his so called friends, who just kept telling him all the wrong he did to deserve all he was facing, unknowing of the conversation that had taken place between GOD and satan.

Take a look at each verse below and see the Bless, Blessed, Blessing!

Job 1:9-10
satan retorted, “So do you think Job does all that out of the sheer goodness of his heart? Why, no one ever had it so good! You pamper him like a pet, make sure nothing bad ever happens to him or his family or his possessions, bless everything he does—he can’t lose!

Job 1:21
Naked I came from my mother’s womb, naked I’ll return to the womb of the earth. God gives, God takes. God’s name be ever blessed.

Job 5:17-19
“So, what a blessing when God steps in and corrects you! Mind you, don’t despise the discipline of Almighty God! True, he wounds, but he also dresses the wound; the same hand that hurts you, heals you. From one disaster after another he delivers you; no matter what the calamity, the evil can’t touch you—

Psalm A Day for Strength

When I first came to know the Lord I too was blessed with some amazing people.  People who took me, as I was, just as I am, like Jesus does, all cluttered up with thoughts of man, dirty with all sorts of sin, and they saw past all that to me.  I remember back then, back then sometimes seems so nice because you weren’t losing your home, or the thoughts of better and worse in vows you took, were not really what you thought of.  You heard the better alright, the worse, H’m not so much.  You most definitely when taking your vows were not concentrating on the poorer or the death till you part.  I’ve experienced all of those.  Looking back, it’s not so wonderful yet I stand in wonder because in all that, like with Job, it has wonderment in it.  You just have to be a willing participant, willing to allow the Lord to show you that what He was doing was being up to good, for your good, and quite possibly for the good of others whom you haven’t a clue who they are, or what in GOD’s World is going on beyond you and your experiences.  That was back then, this is now.

Strength for today from Psalms, and wisdom from Proverbs.  Two medications I cannot live without.  Yes I said medications not meditations.  Early on I learned that I can’t just be comforted, I have to grow.  I can’t just live in the land of warm and fuzzy, I have to live on the rack and be stretched.  Do I like that part?  Holy jimmy no!!!  I do have to walk it though.  Talk it too!  Right now my heart is breaking and I’m at a loss for where He is leading us.  Right now my heart aches with more good-byes to come and yet, like that little palm I spoke of yesterday my roots are planted by a stream of His peaceful waters.  Explain that as I can’t, it is true.  I’m filled with what is to become of us and with where You lead Lord, I will follow.

Psalm 28:8-9
God is all strength for his people, ample refuge for his chosen leader; Save your people and bless your heritage. Care for them; carry them like a good shepherd.

Amazingly as it was, one of my most favorite teaching passages of the Bible to children is Psalm 23.  I don’t teach it like the norm, I teach so very much out of the box.  The reason is I like to explain each verse, step by step.  I have to remember that for myself, for others.

Speaking of out of the box…

Little did Duncan Hines probably know that the heritage he was leaving behind was going to play such a important role in the lives of so many.  So many, like he, ordinary people who have a love for food.  I don’t think he ever imagined anything hitting such a pinnacle.

You Waited Patiently for it…

The opposite of bless is to… You so want to say curse don’t you?  That’s not it though.  It’s damn!  Yes, damn to mean condemn to everlasting punishment.  Christians it is said will not use this word, and we don’t for sure want to be all fire and brimstone people preaching people, but truthfully, the opposite of the blessing part onto someone is to not bless them.  I can either be all up in your face about what I believe, or I can be all up in His face in prayer, praising Him, asking Him to comfort, lead and direct you, as at this point I’m pretty sure you have a handle on what I believe and who I am.

Psalm 34

 1 I bless God every chance I get; my lungs expand with his praise.

 2 I live and breathe God;
   if things aren’t going well, hear this and be happy:

 3 Join me in spreading the news;
   together let’s get the word out.

Ephesians 4:

 29Watch the way you talk. Let nothing foul or dirty come out of your mouth. Say only what helps, each word a gift.

 30Don’t grieve God. Don’t break his heart. His Holy Spirit, moving and breathing in you, is the most intimate part of your life, making you fit for himself. Don’t take such a gift for granted.

 31-32Make a clean break with all cutting, backbiting, profane talk. Be gentle with one another, sensitive. Forgive one another as quickly and thoroughly as God in Christ forgave you.

Since you’ve really been patient…

Here is that so called once again, icing on the cake of an experience. Even if you don’t like icing on a cake you surely like sweetness piled upon your life.  If you don’t… eh, let’s just leave that alone and move on and close this chapter of today’s blog.

Oh Duncan Hines I’m so happy GOD gave him breath, enthusiasm and a creative mind.  I’m so glad Duncan Hines had the where for all to see past simple and make something rise to the tippy-top of life.  I’m grate for Pinnacle Foods, a company that keeps that vision going and allowing it to enter into the lives of someone like simple people like we all are.  To pivot us into feeling as if we too have been offered something of a chance of a life-time.  Truth is, just as it was with Duncan Hines, it is about what the man was about, it is about what the weekend at Duncan Hines was about.  It was the…

pinnacle n.  1.  A tall thin spire built on the roof of a church =), castle, etc.  2.  A high pointed rock or mountain.  3.  The highest degree: the pinnacle of success.

Mountains

When I arrived in New Jersey and was in the car I said, “Ooh mountains!”  I’m from Florida, a mountain can be just about anything, but I was on a rolling roads that were nothing like here.  I saw up ahead buildings and such built on things higher off the ground than I see here in my neck of the woods.  Mountains are beautiful, agreed?

Mountains can also be those things which block you from getting to where you are going.  They can be somewhat daunting and stopping.

Not for me.  Not for any of us.  It’s a choice.  Drill a hole through the mountain or move around it.  It isn’t in getting to the destination, it’s the trying.  It’s the not giving up.  It’s that mountain moving where for all that Duncan Hines and Pinnacle foods has.  I think that is really why I saw mountains!  I was seeing the grandeur of  it all and scope and sequencing as much as my excited self could handle.

Pinnacle Foods

I might be writing about this for a while.  Truth be told I have no idea how the Lord will keep leading me, or for that matter how much longer we will even be online or in a home.  I don’t know, I do care, but I’ve got to keep moving on.  I’ve always known since becoming a Believer that this world was not my home.  I was even more greatly blessed, yes blessed this weekend by a sister-in-Christ Jesus who GOD placed right beside me, each other actually, who we were Book end reminders of what was wonderful and real and what was…

Only The Beginning

Please makes sure to click on the link below and give this song a listen.  Maybe today is a day you need to arrive at a pinnacle of your own.  Just maybe today will be the day you make it to your first pinnacle experience  too.  If so I pray you never let that go.  It’s not for the moment it’s for forever.  There are many things on this earth that will fade and pass away.  Let’s not let people be one of them.  I myself, even I don’t know you, care about you that much.  I care and desire for you to breath in faith, and exhale hope.  Keep doing that as if you were sitting with the Greatest Physician over all!  Why?  Because right now, right here, He is near, He is here.

My heart will always and forever be by the side of all those back at the Duncan Hines Test Kitchens.  That’s who I am.  No matter what the experience had life changing affects on me.  I will never be the same again for this opportunity.

“I would rather have thirty minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special.”  Shelby from Steel Magnolias.

Duncan Hines made me feel sort of like you feel when you are bride walking down the aisle.  Trust me, I’m not good at that.  I have a face for radio and fingers suited up with arthritis, and if they (Duncan Hines and Pinnacle Foods) can make me feel, all of us feel, as if we were deserving of that red carpet, there is not a single soul on this earth that I will allow to permit to bad mouth this company.  You sometimes just have to take peoples word for something, seeing isn’t always believing, believing is. =)

Not that my life has been a lifetime of nothing.  Oh no, not by a long shot.  People might think that winning a contest is the absolute, but really it’s not, no disrespect to DH, or to anyone else I’ve ever won anything with.  It’s all good, it’s all sweet, but it is and forever and always be about the people I meet.  Including those folks over there at Pinnacle/Duncan Hines/R.B.B. It will be about family, of which don’t speak to me any more, and who I miss with my whole heart.  It will always be…  my children Joey and Jill, for they are my best accomplishments to date.  That and leading people to the Lord.  Those are my lasting impressions upon this world.  Yet in all that mix, IS the mixing in of Duncan Hines.  A man I’ve never met.

I hope you can see how that is, Duncan Hines being so important.  I hope you can experience that accepting what you can’t change, and growing with the changing world and not getting all bugged out about losing a couple of grams of product is no where as important to you as gaining what you can’t ever keep in this world.

I hear it in retail all the time the complaining and grumbling side of losing a little of this, or I want, I need, you did!  Whatever happened on 9-11 as I was the closest I’ve ever been to New York this past weekend, and to someone who lived through that experience and got to talk with them, is what we all need to remember.  We are the buildings of this world, we are the people, and the bottom line of life isn’t what went down, it’s the person you are willing to pick up beside you today or tomorrow.

You are thinking now, Jeannie Bee you never did close out, you just keep going on.  You know what, you are right!  And I will keep going on until GOD exchanges me from this world to the Otherside.

On The Alter Of Love, Downhere

It’s Only Beginning, by Downhere

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKK33IvjC_k

Until all have heard of and know, His Love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

