Leave a comment

Half Empty and Half Full

*GOD*day!

Read this passage, I bet you can’t figure out what in the world it has to do with a glass half empty or full.  Prayerfully you will after this whole little Jeannie Bee line for line is through. ☺

Remember that a glass has to be emptied and filled.  It has to get rid of the old in order to get the new.   What are you filling your life glass with these days?

Amos 4:

 4-5“Come along to Bethel and sin!
   And then to Gilgal and sin some more!
Bring your sacrifices for morning worship.
   Every third day bring your tithe.
Burn pure sacrifices—thank offerings.
   Speak up—announce freewill offerings!
That’s the sort of religious show
   you Israelites just love.”
         God’s Decree.

 6“You know, don’t you, that I’m the One
   who emptied your pantries and cleaned out your cupboards,
Who left you hungry and standing in bread lines?
   But you never got hungry for me. You continued to ignore me.”
         God’s Decree.

 7-8“Yes, and I’m the One who stopped the rains
   three months short of harvest.
I’d make it rain on one village
   but not on another.
I’d make it rain on one field
   but not on another—and that one would dry up.
People would stagger from village to village
   crazed for water and never quenching their thirst.
But you never got thirsty for me.
   You ignored me.”
         God’s Decree.

This morning I came across that old saying: Is the glass half empty or half full?  It truly got me thinking, and as always got me Biblically thinking; that’s just how my mind rolls.

Half Empty and Half Full – at the end of the day, which are you?

Half empty is suppose to portray the pessimistic attitude.

Half full therefore portrays the optimistic point of view.

Some people appear to be quite full and yet…

Which are you?

If you are a human I’m guessing you are both.  In my many years of being one, a human, I’ve seen some of the most positive people I know have days where they crumble.  Crud happens and it weakens our resistance.  Now I’m not saying those optimists get down and become pessimists, no not at all.  In fact after their glass begins to empty a little more than usual, they, those optimistic people, they get stronger.

In the other glass, the pessimistic glass holders, they get down and dirty, and so often it is that the pessimistic person goes purposely looking for things to empty out.  They try to weaken the integrity of those optimistic people all so that they can feel worse, which how it happens I’ll not know, they feel better some how.

Filled To The Brim With Sour Milk

Some days we run into more than our share of negativity.  It’s not hard to do at all any longer.  We’ve all worked with some people who are so very, very good at portraying a positive attitude in front of others but behind the scenes they are nothing at all like what they pretend.  Yes, there are pretend optimists.  No worries, when they walk away from those whom they act for, or the cameras not rolling any longer, they spill out all the sour milk they’ve been holding onto, wanting some of it to spill over onto you so that they can add you to their misery loves company.  No thanks, that glass that is full to the brim with sour spoken words that bring down even the strongest of man or woman when they get going, that’s not for me, or for you.

Try to accent the positive, and I’m not talking about lip service sort of feel gooders.  Lip service feel gooders aren’t about you really feeling good either, they are all about just wanting things to be looking good.  They don’t fix problems, in fact most of the time these people can make matters worse because they won’t own  up.  Own up to the fact that sometimes things are wrong, and stuff needs to be reevaluated.  Sometimes stuff needs fixing, including people.  You can’t however ever say that to the pessimistic bully because sure as you do… wham-o you are truly in for it.  I’m sure you’ve met these folks.  They cannot stand happy people.  They will even try to create situations to get you in the middle of so that they can say, “nah-nah-nah-nah”.  Sound childish?  That’s because it is.  These are the people who never ever grew up.  They didn’t get stuck in the Toy’s R Us aisle of life either.  Cause that’s a happy place.  They got stuck in the grumbly R us aisle.  Grumblers, complainers and moaners, oh my!!!

Allow me to explain further.  I work with someone who if a customer says something nice about my announcements at work, or a manager speaks nicely about me, she’s all over the compliment in front of the customer or manager who complimented me.  You’d actually think she liked me, but behind the scenes she is nothing like she appears to the people who say nice things about me.  Now I’m not a saint and I can’t say I always handle this well.  I’d love to say I do, but truth be told, I don’t.  Sometimes some of that sour milk pours into my glass and it just sickens me.  Thus goes the dance of this little milk-maids glass.   That’s their goal though; although I’m not sure they exactly have a goal.  They just are this sort of people and because they have yet to find their true selves, they are who they are.  Doesn’t mean they can’t change, just means that they won’t until they themselves are willing.  GOD has a way of continuing to go after all of us until we begin to desire to mold ourselves and make ourselves after His will.  It’s all about choosing what to fill your life cup with.

GOD Empties and Fills

It’s good to be emptied.  A glass emptied is a GOD-thing.  When we are completely empty we are available to be completely filled with the things of GOD.

Now, on an opposite day a customer will say, after I’ve made my announcement, something like this: Wow that was really perky and happy.  And just when I, being the gullible woman that I am, for a moment anyway, say thank you.  Just to hear the customer say back, that’s just sickening.  Where in if the pessimistic milk-maid is near by, she will giggle like a school girl and jump right in to bash me and my happy little self to pieces.

Let me introduce you to sour milk glassed people on a Biblical level:

Isaiah 44:

 12The blacksmith makes his no-god, works it over in his forge, hammering it on his anvil—such hard work! He works away, fatigued with hunger and thirst.

 13-17The woodworker draws up plans for his no-god, traces it on a block of wood. He shapes it with chisels and planes into human shape—a beautiful woman, a handsome man, ready to be placed in a chapel. He first cuts down a cedar, or maybe picks out a pine or oak, and lets it grow strong in the forest, nourished by the rain. Then it can serve a double purpose: Part he uses as firewood for keeping warm and baking bread; from the other part he makes a god that he worships—carves it into a god shape and prays before it. With half he makes a fire to warm himself and barbecue his supper. He eats his fill and sits back satisfied with his stomach full and his feet warmed by the fire: “Ah, this is the life.” And he still has half left for a god, made to his personal design—a handy, convenient no-god to worship whenever so inclined. Whenever the need strikes him he prays to it, “Save me. You’re my god.”

Why We Have To Be Half Emptied and Half Full

This is the reason, because daily we have to filter through our life glass all the cruddy here and now that keeps getting poured into us.  Our sweet taste for living and life, and hope of tomorrow and the Eternal can get almost mixed together and the next thing you know we become nervous Nellie.  She’s no good for anyone.  It happens though, and it happens like quick.  Speaking of quick it’s sort of like that Quick syrup.  It looks so good for you.  It tastes so good.  It is good, but we forget to keep stirring in all the syrup that is necessary to make a good glass of chocolate milk.  We have to keep pouring into ourselves the very Word of GOD in order to be filled to the brim.

The Crack In The Glass

No worries, GOD is in the repair business.  We’re so busy hungering and thirsting for all sorts of things in this world, we, yes we, meaning even in the Body of Christ, we forget and forfeit all that we were suppose to be focusing in on all for the game, the game of fame and fortune.  As if getting something big from this world and pouring it into glass of discipleship and witness would make for a greater vision.  Oh we can fool ourselves into believing that getting that all important think will fix all the cracks in the glass that seems to be emptying quite fast.

In fact you can fool a lot of people a lot of times and all the while fool yourself too.  Oh we can.  I’ve been there myself.  My glass was sitting once upon a shelf where it loved to sit.  It was in a job I absolutely loved, working with children and parents that I absolutely still love.  I was that girl!  The girl with the sweet glass of milk and suddenly someone came along and hit me hard with sour milk that they’d been wanting for sometime to get into my glass of happiness.  They did in fact crack the glass of Jeannie.  Cracked, yes.  Broken to pieces and no more, NO WAY!

The Scratch In The Glass Remains

Did you  know they make this amazing stuff that can take scratches out of glasses.  This is how they repair all our so called “scratch resistant glasses” we all don.  I’ve found out from experience that they aren’t really scratch resistant; just like us.

We get scratched to pieces by life.  And just like man can’t really come up with this amazing thing that truly does stop scratches from happening, man can’t fix  us.  Nope, he can’t.  Sure we can latch onto the latest fix for our glasses that seemingly takes away the scratches, but really it’s just filling in the gaps of the scratch with some whatever material it fills it in with… sorry, I’m not chemical science girl, but I do know it’s some sort of material that as far as the “eye can see” the scratches are gone!  That’s the man eye though.

You can also try some sort of toothpaste rub on your glasses with a soft cloth.  If you believe that can I please interest y0u in purchasing and paying for my home so I don’t lose it?  Yeah, pretty much not gonna happen.

GOD’s Scratch Resistant Wear

There is only one way to go.  If you and I don’t keep filling our glasses up with the goodness of GOD and His Word, we’re eventually going to turn sour.  We are going to eventually crack and break.

There is a way, there is a Truth.  Hang in there, keep stirring up your life with the GOOD WORD.  Not just for tickling that ear with all the pretty stuff that you’d like to post on Pinterest or Facebook either.  Don’t just cover the outside of your glass with all this Word adornment.  That is not going to work at all.  Eventually your outter layer of just wearing the Word for show will not hold up.  You’ve got to pour into your life a lot of learning lessons.  Don’t just read the Word of GOD on Sunday or Wednesday, or in some Bible study.  Read it on your own with GOD.  Just the two of you.  Get in on that most personal relationship and know that when it is just the two you, you will get the etching, the seal of approval that will make you resistant to every sort of thing that comes your way in this life.

When you fill yourself up with the Word, with the things of GOD you overflow and pass it on.  Oh sure as shoot’n they’ll be those who don’t want to get a drop of that Truth on them, that’s okay.  As long as you don’t allow what they are offering to change the consistency of who you are in-Christ Jesus, just step away from the negative flow and show that He who is in your cup is so much greater than anything in this world.

What are you waiting for… filler up!!!

Psalm 141:

3-7 Post a guard at my mouth, God,

      set a watch at the door of my lips.
   Don’t let me so much as dream of evil
      or thoughtlessly fall into bad company.
   And these people who only do wrong—
      don’t let them lure me with their sweet talk!
   May the Just One set me straight,
      may the Kind One correct me,
   Don’t let sin anoint my head.
      I’m praying hard against their evil ways!
   Oh, let their leaders be pushed off a high rock cliff;
      make them face the music.
   Like a rock pulverized by a maul,
      let their bones be scattered at the gates of hell.  8-10 But God, dear Lord,
      I only have eyes for you.
   Since I’ve run for dear life to you,
      take good care of me.
   Protect me from their evil scheming,
      from all their demonic subterfuge.
   Let the wicked fall flat on their faces,
      while I walk off without a scratch.
Until all have heard of and know, His Love,
Jeannie Bee
P.S.  I hope this all made some sense to you.  It did to me this morning as I had received some very good news yesterday and also at the end of the day some bad.  What is important is how I’m going to view it all while it is still today though.  Prayerfully this helped you some way… If not, just make sure you take away from this whatever it is that GOD wanted you to take away.  That counts more and is truly what is most important.☺
Leave a Reply

