Leave a comment

Don’t argue with idiots.

*GOD*day!

I’m a foodie in more ways then one.  Truly I read a cookbook like it’s  novel, and if I hear something about a food product I haven’t yet heard about, I don’t forget and look up the info.  All things food, yes I am a admitted foodie.  In fact just last evening someone mentioned something about pasteurized eggs that are safe to eat raw.  I’d not heard about this.  Understand that we don’t have cable or the ability to watch television so I’m out of the loop-d-loop if this was something on television.  So I of course remembered this and researched it this morning.  Food education is something I like and knowing about products and such is something that I truly do enjoy.

Which now brings me to today subject and another sort of food I know I need, no, we need to feast on each day.  It’s not just a breakfast for champions, it’s a words that fill you up so that you can stand firm.  It’s the food we need along with all the physical sustenance also needed.  Without each of these nourishment’s we become weak.

John 6:
The Bread of Life

 27“Don’t waste your energy striving for perishable food like that. Work for the food that sticks with you, food that nourishes your lasting life, food the Son of Man provides. He and what he does are guaranteed by God the Father to last.”

 28To that they said, “Well, what do we do then to get in on God’s works?”

 29Jesus said, “Throw your lot in with the One that God has sent. That kind of a commitment gets you in on God’s works.”

 30-31They waffled: “Why don’t you give us a clue about who you are, just a hint of what’s going on? When we see what’s up, we’ll commit ourselves. Show us what you can do. Moses fed our ancestors with bread in the desert. It says so in the Scriptures: ‘He gave them bread from heaven to eat.'”

 32-33Jesus responded, “The real significance of that Scripture is not that Moses gave you bread from heaven but that my Father is right now offering you bread from heaven, the real bread. The Bread of God came down out of heaven and is giving life to the world.”

 34They jumped at that: “Master, give us this bread, now and forever!”

 35-38Jesus said, “I am the Bread of Life. The person who aligns with me hungers no more and thirsts no more, ever. I have told you this explicitly because even though you have seen me in action, you don’t really believe me. Every person the Father gives me eventually comes running to me. And once that person is with me, I hold on and don’t let go. I came down from heaven not to follow my own whim but to accomplish the will of the One who sent me.

 39-40“This, in a nutshell, is that will: that everything handed over to me by the Father be completed—not a single detail missed—and at the wrap-up of time I have everything and everyone put together, upright and whole. This is what my Father wants: that anyone who sees the Son and trusts who he is and what he does and then aligns with him will enter real life, eternal life. My part is to put them on their feet alive and whole at the completion of time.”

Just wanted to pop my little head in here this morning and share a word or two.  When your life involves dealing with people, of which I of course am one of, it is never ever a dull moment.  If you work in retail or in a business where daily you are dealing with all sorts of people and their comments, claims, and complicated lives, your life is one of which you sometimes could be on warp speed, or wish just saying out loud, beam me up Scotty, would get you out of Dodge quicker than you can can say, licketty-split.  You just want to be transported back to your real Home, your mother ship of sorts and fly, fly away from all the drama of the day as fast, fast as one can…  thoughts of your earthly haven here pop in your head, but for the Believer thoughts of going Home (Heaven) pop into your head even quicker.  Heaven Home because it’s the truest fix, while earthly haven home is just a temporary dwelling nest of temporary safety.

On the other hand…  You are remembering this as you work along in your day, you love people.  This is why you are in the business of dealing with people.  It’s a catch 22 of sorts.  What you are really experiencing is that you don’t like dealing with idiots.  I know that isn’t a nice word, but I do now and again call myself an idiot.  I do use the word more than I should and it has been something I’ve been working on to better myself.  Now my son says everyone is stupid.  His philosophy is this:   We all do stupid things at one time or another, therefore everyone is stupid.  It sort of makes sense doesn’t it?  I know that we don’t like those words, idiot and stupid, but lets face it, we all can be one time or another one or the other or both.  I’m sure there are a bazillion people who might quickly step up to the mike to share these moments in my life about me.  Since we can agree and attest to my sons statement being true, at least I can, I know this to be truer…

Don’t Argue With Idiots

The info below was taken from English Language and Usage:

What is the origin of the phrase do not argue with idiots? Please cite some credible references. From Googling around, I found these three variations. One came from the bible but I couldn’t find any credible source for the other two.

  1. Don’t argue with idiots because they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience. – Greg King.
  2. Never argue with a fool; onlookers may not be able to tell the difference. – Mark Twain.
  3. Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him. – Proverbs 26:4 (King James version)

You know I just love that this site used the Bible.  What a perfect place to start when you looking for wisdom.  Knowledge is quite a different thing from wisdom.

Sure you can gain a lot of knowledge going to school and going to college but wisdom, that true authentic Biblical wisdom, comes from GOD.

Authentic

Authentic means: “of undisputed origin, made or done in a traditional way”.

Or as my dad would have said, “It’s the real McCoy!”  Which is truly a funny thing to be saying because if you have some knowledge about idioms, this one is a doozy.  No really!  If you are saying this saying you could actually be being offered up something that isn’t authentic I think.  The original saying is from the Scots and it being the The Real MacKay,  so how someone, somewhere got McCoy out MacKay, and some sort of folk etymology enters in and presto-chango what was a real saying derived from something else, now becomes a something completely different.

We live in a world where nothing is as it seems.  Right about now you are wondering that about me.  You most likely are thinking I’ve fallen down that rabbit trail hole and you cannot see where I’m going with what the title says and gotten myself here.  No worries, I’m gladly going to connect the dots for you, just be patient, be very patient.  Plus, not having met me, people often confuse my traveling tongue of discussing five things in ten minutes time and covering all the subjects I planned as me being a nervous sort.  No, not at all!  What I am is someone who seldom gets the floor to talk so when I do, I’ve got so much to say and so little time to have anyone’s so called precious time of attention.  My blog however… a different story.  It’s all me, all mine, and yes, I’m sure I’ve said things here to upset even the nicest of persons who believe what they believe.  It’s all good.  If we all would just adhere to the biggest thing I say which is: Let’s just get along and agree to disagree.  However in that we all have to own who we are and what we believe.  This includes thinking things that we just somehow “think” are idiotic.  So here we go…

Authority

Matthew 28:

The Great Commission

16 Then the eleven disciples left for Galilee, going to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him—but some of them doubted!

18 Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

authority n.   1. A person or group holding the ability, power, or right, to control and command.  2. Power to influence, resulting from experience.

Ooh I just love where GOD is going with all this in my head.

I don’t need to be beamed up by Scotty, although there are days I do want to be quickly transported from my job in my Publixican world back home quickly.  Some days are just like that.  Praise the Lord there are so few of those days and the goodness of the rest of my working time out-weights by leaps and bounds those few no good terrible-horrible days.

However I have something, no Some-ONE greater to see me through.  Something authentic.  Something which is my real dealio for survival of the fittest.  Don’t need any other survival manual.  Don’t really need anything else but the wisdom afforded me to carry on, on those wayward moment days.

It’s not a mission like the Blues Brothers, they might have said they were on a mission from GOD but really, not so much.  When GOD is in it, He doesn’t want one doing things that go contrary to His system of how things are done.  You can’t be a two sides of your mouth sort of child of GOD.  You can’t out of one side be speaking in a manner unbecoming, or behaving in a manner unbecoming, all the while trying to do some sort of behavior in the form of words, and say it is because you are on a mission from GOD.

I find it humorous that this past Sunday a very sarcastic comment about getting to an ABF was said to my husband and I by someone.  What is an ABF?  It stands for Adult Bible Fellowship.  Now we use to attend these ABF’s, we even led them.  We did so because when we first attended one, the leader said, “You are bringing to much Bible into sharing.”  Seriously?   I could have responded with something like, No thank you, those adult fellowship, small bible, groups are not for us.  Sure I could have.  Yet no, don’t get into an argument with idiots.  I mean idiot in the nicest way possible when I say this.  As I said, I’ve been there, I’ve done these things, said some idiotic things in my day.  I’m just saying today, I’m discussing what it means to be a Disciple of Jesus Christ and be commissioned.  I’m pretty sure it doesn’t have to do with laughing at people who enter into your church doors or mocking them with a sarcastic comment about which you know they don’t attend.  It is uncalled for and it is behavior unbecoming of a CHRISTian brother or sister.  I wrote about these people who say these things in get all up in your face.  These are the people I refer to as having that unbiblical gift called intimidation.  Enough said by them and me on that subject.

You Cannot Get To Heaven By Good Works

So here we are full-circle and ready to understand that we need to walk away from the idiots.  Sometimes we ourselves are the only idiot we are facing.  We can be our own worst enemy too.  We often can get so worked up and argumentative that we need to get face forward and down on the ground before the Lord for a little bit of tweaking ourselves.

We need to not get into an argument with those that say one thing, but they live a whole  different life.  Like those who, let’s say, shout out all their good deeds for the world to hear about.  Every conversation evolves around something that someone did to make them look like the queen or king of the hour.  These are the people that carry the baggage that portrays they are christian, but for the most part they spend more time wanting everyone to see them through the portrayal.  No worries, if you are watching for them, you’ll see them coming a mile a minute.  They’ll have the shirt, the bag, and tag to go with the name of fame entitlement they bestow mostly upon themselves.

What that does, the aforementioned, does not glorify GOD but to give some shinning glory to oneself.  Faith without works is dead works.  Faith that comes in a package of making self look really darn good is good for you and not so much for the reward one gets later. You cannot mingle in the water of Life with GOD and muddle it up with all your good glory as you go along.  It just doesn’t work that way.  Sure you’ll receive your applause of men now, but wow, forfeit that.  Some people will continue on in doing and being what they are because good people don’t do anything about it.

There is an intimidation factor floating out and about in the world.  It’s these people who have the ability to intimidate and put fear into the lives of people who need people.  People who are people people.  These people, who aren’t really people people, but people who want nobody messing  up their perfectly pictured little world, they really don’t want you muddling up the waters of sitting pretty in their little world.  People people annoy the living tar out of people who are people people for self gain.  They never ever understand the Biblical love that makes a Bible Believing brother or sister in-Christ love for the sake of the cross.  They are all about the applause now and standing out.  Now I should not say never, never is not a true statement.  At some point if these people who love being at the center of attention stop, drop to their knees and realize you don’t have to wear all the garb of showing off that you are a CHRISTian, and realize that all you have to show is the character of Jesus, yes, yes that means that they are willing to allow GOD to change their heart.  So, I retract my statement to say, if ever they come to that place of repentance and admit, yes, that will make for change for the betterment of their witness.  Oh and sure they will appeal to lots of people.  People like stuff and these people are all about having stuff.

Centered

Don’t get in the way.  As I said we all can be idiots sometimes.  We are our worse enemy at times, and at other times we can sound more like the enemy than that of someone who came to serve Christ.  We get all these practiced out ways to lead someone to Christ in our head and we think we need all these formulas.

So what should a solid Bible Believing CHRIST-centered CHRISTian do?  Do as Christ did.  Do not get into a word war.  Do not concern yourself with this person or that.  Put them in the hands of GOD and trust me, when He gets to tweaking people it’s better then anything we could ever do to make a change.

I also have to say though that I’m not for cowardice in not speaking the truth.  One should do that.  When idiotic things are being said, or being done, you do have a voice.  The saying, evil flourishes when good people do nothing, that is so, so true.  It goes on because people get corrupted into being accepted, and that becomes more important than the injustice.  People cave into pressure to be accepted into a church group, or work group, something.  They don’t want to lose out on being a part of something and not be on the outside.  The truth though is, what was Jesus?  Jesus wasn’t by any sense of the means on the inside group now was He?  No, no, no He was not.

Jesus Was The Mission, He Was On A Mission From GOD

The commission a church will preach on is that you make disciples.  They will get feathers in their caps and applause of men as they journey along singing that song.  A corporation will tell you they are thriving because people in their corporation are advancing and moving upward and onward.  The thing not spoken of, the little lies and left out true to the life situations that go on behind the scenes will remain unspoken of.  Partially because they know that we are the small voices of the world.  We are the voices in the wilderness of giants.  We are the people who will speak the truth in love.

Yes, that is the key.  You don’t argue, you don’t shut down, but yes, yes you can expose behavior that is unbecoming and unacceptable.  After that, after that not arguing, just stating what’s what, you have to leave all the people in all the places in GOD’s Hands.

Psalm 98:8-9

 8 Let ocean breakers call out, “Encore!”  And mountains harmonize the finale—  9 A tribute to God when he comes,  When he comes to set the earth right.   He’ll straighten out the whole world,  He’ll put the world right, and everyone in it.
You Can’t Use GOD
There are a groups that think they own the corner of the market on works and that they truly are on a mission from GOD.  There are groups of people claiming to have gotten the chosen one, and using that as their new status and claim to fame.  Many lives are in the balance of all that is being done, yet which ones are in it, one for the money, and two for the show.  All I know is GOD is saying: Three to get ready, Father SON and Spirit, it’s time to go.

Acts 26:21

 21-23“It’s because of this ‘whole world’ dimension that the Jews grabbed me in the Temple that day and tried to kill me. They want to keep God for themselves. But God has stood by me, just as he promised, and I’m standing here saying what I’ve been saying to anyone, whether king or child, who will listen. And everything I’m saying is completely in line with what the prophets and Moses said would happen: One, the Messiah must die; two, raised from the dead, he would be the first rays of God’s daylight shining on people far and near, people both godless and God-fearing.

They’ll be many a person who will be cold and calculated and cunning in their efforts to keep things as they are.  How about you?  Is life confirmed and clearer?  Are you falling the wisdom of GOD’s Word and standing firm?

The Greatest Commission of All, Tell The Truth, Live the Truth

Are you in a situation that you need help with?  Just cry out, “Rescue me!”

Psalm 94:7-9

5-7 They walk all over your people, God,
      exploit and abuse your precious people.
   They take out anyone who gets in their way;
      if they can’t use them, they kill them.
   They think, “God isn’t looking,
      Jacob’s God is out to lunch.”

 8-11 Well, think again, you idiots,
      fools—how long before you get smart?
   Do you think Ear-Maker doesn’t hear,
      Eye-Shaper doesn’t see?
   Do you think the trainer of nations doesn’t correct,
      the teacher of Adam doesn’t know?
   God knows, all right—
      knows your stupidity,
      sees your shallowness.

Never once did Jesus need to manipulate or manhandle what was to be done.  Many preachers and teachers, many businesses are in the business of making something more than just disciples or in the people business of serving others.  Some are in the business of profit, and they’ll cut you, before they ever cut their losses.

You’ve got to think through now, while it is still called today which side you are on.

Romans 1:

 16-17It’s news I’m most proud to proclaim, this extraordinary Message of God’s powerful plan to rescue everyone who trusts him, starting with Jews and then right on to everyone else! God’s way of putting people right shows up in the acts of faith, confirming what Scripture has said all along: “The person in right standing before God by trusting him really lives.”

Ignoring God Leads to a Downward Spiral

 18-23But God’s angry displeasure erupts as acts of human mistrust and wrongdoing and lying accumulate, as people try to put a shroud over truth. But the basic reality of God is plain enough. Open your eyes and there it is! By taking a long and thoughtful look at what God has created, people have always been able to see what their eyes as such can’t see: eternal power, for instance, and the mystery of his divine being. So nobody has a good excuse. What happened was this: People knew God perfectly well, but when they didn’t treat him like God, refusing to worship him, they trivialized themselves into silliness and confusion so that there was neither sense nor direction left in their lives. They pretended to know it all, but were illiterate regarding life. They traded the glory of God who holds the whole world in his hands for cheap figurines you can buy at any roadside stand.

Just 1 More Thing

Until all have heard of and know, His Love,

Jeannie Bee


Leave a Reply

