1 Comment

Anchor of Hope

*GOD* day!

I don’t know how many times someone at work says that to me, you are weird Jeannie.  You can believe it, or not.  I know for sure I’m unique in my thinking, but I’m not weird.  Weird is in the eyes of the one who can’t look past judgement.  Weird is for those who tell a world filled with CHRISTians that they judge, yet we live in a world that berates and gives quite a beat-down to people who are of particular faith.  In fact… I can be at out and about in the world, be it work or play and if I said something offensive, some world wide god or their gods name in an unacceptable way, I’d be flogged with words.  Words of “You can’t say that.”, “Those are hateful words.”  Yet CHRISTians, Born Again Bible Believing CHRISTians everywhere, each and every day face words that use our GOD and Savior Jesus CHRISTS’ name in vain as if, well, as if the new fangled way of saying it is any better.  I found out some time back that saying food words like cheese and rice, are the new suppose to be unoffensive way to say my Jesus’ name in vain.  Yep, it’s all about being unhateful or disrespecting ones religion.  The thing is, this thing we CHRISTians have going isn’t a religion.  It’s a relationship.  The damage done when words get flung at CHRIST JESUS say more about you and your beliefs, not me and mine.  Your food words when spoken and swallowed up into the air, will, as will all our words, have accountability.

2 Corinthians 6:1-10
Companions as we are in this work with you, we beg you, please don’t squander one bit of this marvelous life God has given us. God reminds us, I heard your call in the nick of time; The day you needed me, I was there to help. Well, now is the right time to listen, the day to be helped. Don’t put it off; don’t frustrate God’s work by showing up late, throwing a question mark over everything we’re doing. Our work as God’s servants gets validated—or not—in the details. People are watching us as we stay at our post, alertly, unswervingly . . . in hard times, tough times, bad times; when we’re beaten up, jailed, and mobbed; working hard, working late, working without eating; with pure heart, clear head, steady hand; in gentleness, holiness, and honest love; when we’re telling the truth, and when God’s showing his power; when we’re doing our best setting things right; when we’re praised, and when we’re blamed; slandered, and honored; true to our word, though distrusted; ignored by the world, but recognized by God; terrifically alive, though rumored to be dead; beaten within an inch of our lives, but refusing to die; immersed in tears, yet always filled with deep joy; living on handouts, yet enriching many; having nothing, having it all.

Today as I was cleaning and handling some details of life I started thinking about how crazy life is.  How people say things to you, that if I said to them, I’m pretty sure they’d not like me so much.  This is why in this world you can’t hang onto the words of others.

I’ll give you a for instance.  I was in ____, shopping.  One of the vendors from our store was in this particular store that day and we got to chatting about jobs.  She informed me that she was leaving her job because it was _______.  She let me know _______ just hired her on, and this particular day was her last day working for _______.  Fast forward to a few weeks later and I run into her in same store again as I was shopping.  We are chatting this time, but also with the person who will be training her.  We talked and I shared about some of the difficulties I’ve been facing on the job.  Let’s face it, momma said there would be days like that, but she never ever could envisioned or shared with us some wisdom suitable for the days we are living in now.  Any who… this particular woman who had just a few weeks earlier been disgruntled with her current job conditions say’s to me, “Just be thankful you have a job.”

My mouth dropped and I said, that’s just something people say to make themselves feel better, not the other person.  The trainer looked at me and had this smirk.  I just looked at her and she knew I knew that I was someone she got to vent with a few weeks back.  She immediately changed the subject, knowing that the comment was really being more about being, what my sister always referred as “flip”, most certainly not the same empathetic person I was for her, or giving me the same compassion.

flip n. A quick, light blow or movement that sends something (someone) spinning into the air.

flippant adj. Frivolously shallow and disrespectful.

World of Words

We live in a world filled with words.  We need to remember, remind ourselves daily if need be, to catch and hold onto the words worthy of swallow and the words spewed at us that, if we get stunned and stand there with our mouths gaping open, to spit quickly out.

Yes words, are things that hurt or encourage.  Words that are for growth, goodness and even godly attitudes.   This is why words to music are still to this day words that move us.

This is the reason I love writing and love listening to music as I write.  Or, as I listen thoughts of what is being placed upon my heart open up into creative ideas to share in my head.  Yes, words rule, words can be cruel, but for this woman, all I know is that my heart needs to stay focused on Christ, and the greatest of all things I can take and give.  Yes, for me, Jeannie Bee, I know…

I Need To Be In Love by The Carpenters

The hardest thing I’ve ever done is keep believing
There’s someone in this crazy world for me
The way that people come and go through temporary lives
My chance could come and I might never know

I used to say “No promises, let’s keep it simple”
But freedom only helps you say goodbye
It took a while for me to learn that nothing comes for free
The price I paid is high enough for me

I know I need to be in love
I know I’ve wasted too much time
I know I ask perfection of a quite imperfect world
And fool enough to think that’s what I’ll find

So here I am with pockets full of good intentions
But none of them will comfort me tonight
I’m wide awake at 4 a.m. without a friend in sight
I’m hanging on a hope but I’m all right

I know I need to be in love
I know I’ve wasted too much time
I know I ask perfection of a quite imperfect world
And fool enough to think that’s what I’ll find

So here I am with pockets full of good intentions
But none of them will comfort me tonight
I’m wide awake at 4 a.m. without a friend in sight
I’m hanging on a hope but I’m all right

I know I need to be in love
I know I’ve wasted too much time
I know I ask perfection of a quite imperfect world
And fool enough to think that’s what I’ll find

Until all have heard of and know, His Love,

Jeannie Bee

One comment on “Anchor of Hope

  1. My brother suggested I may like this web site.
    He used to be entirely right. This publish actually made my day.
    You cann’t imagine simply how so much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

