Leave a comment

GOD-Friday: The Story of Easter ~before~ The Glory of Easter

*GOD*Friday!

Okay, for all of you who know me, I’m that woman who knows in her heart of hearts that every is a *GOD* day.  If it’s not we are leaving *GOD* out of it.  For a Bible Believing CHRIST-centered CHRISTian, this cannot be.  Why?  Because Jesus said so!!!

What this day isn’t about:

  1. Not eating meat.  This is not a Biblical requirement.
  2. Enjoying a day off of work.  Not Biblical either.
  3. Show off to others that you did this or that, for a lack of a better term, “religious” activity.

This day, this day we’ve donned as Good Friday, is really a day all about Jesus’ final week.  Not final, in “the end”.  Although many of that day thought it was.  I’m sure many who believe in Jesus, and think now He wasn’t the awaited Messiah, feel this way, this way of finality, as well.

Who Is This Man Who Says He’s GOD?

If I tell you I am Jeannie, you believe me.  If I share my family tree with you, you believe me.  If we study history and we get introduced to many people, such as Einstein or King Henry, you follow along with the facts as stated and you believe you’ve been introduced to someone who is, who they said they were, and we now say they were as well.

Yet, in this world of doubt, in this world where we want proof and we want some visual factoids shown, we end up with those that are Believers, and those that aren’t.

The life of Jesus.  His glory story unfolds forth in the Bible.  Hard to believe that many who Believe, don’t read the Bible.  They will believe something shared from a pulpit before actually picking up the Book themselves.

Today, if you are going to do anything at all, pick up your Bible, or if you don’t have one go to Bible Gateway and read.  Forget all the religious politics, all the religious traditions and trappings and give yourself over for the day to *GOD* aka. Jesus!

Yes, Jesus!  Notice as you begin to read for yourself about the life of Jesus that He was not involved and immersed in politics.  He was a man all business like either.  He in fact wasn’t about tradition.  What was He all about?  What was He about?  Wrong question to ask.  Who was He about?

He Was About *GOD* for He Was *GOD*

Yes, argue that point if you will, the factoids are the facts.  Yes, one of the reasons then, and now that lead us to this day is because of that claim.  Because of those who disbelieved.

I could put keyboard to blog here and tell you of the many people over time (after research of course) that want to prove that Jesus was just an ordinary, even though quite extraordinary, man.  I could share and take up word space and your time by telling you of all those who say He was just a prophet, just a special messenger with a special message.  Some think He was just a great teacher.  Man of man could I argue that.  If a teacher is great, shouldn’t that which He is teaching be the truth?  I do believe so.  What good would it be if we had classrooms filled with teachers not teaching the Truth?  Oh wait, we do!  We have that today in many a classroom where we can’t even bring a Bible.  Another subject for yet another day.  In the meantime if in fact someone says He was a great teacher, I’d like to think it is because they believe He was honest and Truth-filled.  If so, when He said He was *GOD*, it was because He was!

I’m not going to do all that, blog about all everyone else says.  I’m just going to blog and follow Jesus.

Why?  Maybe not all the reasons why, but here is one why.  Just like those who study counterfeit money, they never ever examine all the counterfeit money.  All the do is study, study, study the real deal.  They look at money and study money to the point where they are so ready, as soon as a counterfeit bill is passed before them, they recognize is as a fake immediately.

Somebody’s Wrong, Somebody’s Right

First things first?  If you do not, do not believe the Bible, you probably are going to just hear/read: blah-blah-blah-blah-blah.  On the other hand if you just listen to someone in church who reads from the Bible and you follow a lot of ritual without knowing Jesus yourself, in a personal way, what better way, what better day is there, than that of today, a day of not ritually doing things, but getting to know Jesus in a more intimate, personal, Jesus and you way?

Biblical Factoids For You To Look Up Yourself

Do this because you sing the song about having just a closer walk with Him.  Now do it!!!  Just do it!!!

The 1st Scripture will be for: reference, the 2nd fulfillment.

Born of a virgin:  Isaiah 7:14 – Matthew 1:23

Born in Bethlehem: Micah 5:2 – Matthew 2:5

Found in Egypt:  Numbers 24:8 – Matthew 2:15

Heals many:  Isaiah 53:4 – Matthew 8:16

Crucified:  Isaiah 53:12 – Mathew 27:38

No bones broken:  Psalm 34:20 – John 19:33-36

It’s In The Details

Look these Scripture verses up.  Read with special eyes.  Eyes that are not being critical but those eyes which read to faith.  Those eyes will see clearly, if one is open to believing in the first place that the Bible is GOD-breathed and written by those inspired by GOD.  You have to at least have the faith to believe that.  You also have to believe that it is not religion, or one church that saves you.  You don’t have to be open to all religions either.  You can’t in fact.  You do however need to begin with the fact that if you now believe in the Bible and it being all Truth.  You need to believe what it says.  What Jesus said.  All those words in red, mean something powerful.  Jesus said He was GOD.  Jesus said there was only one way to the Father.  Never once did He, Jesus, specify a specific religion.  That was mans doing, not *GOD* Father or Son.

So if today is an important day to you.  One in which you want to remember how it is you are or can become a Child of GOD, these details matter.

“For unto us a Child is born, unto us a Son is given; and the government will be upon His shoulder, And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty GOD, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” Isaiah 9:6

What a Reference Reminder, yes?

The Old Testament said He was GOD

and

The New Testament said He was GOD

John 1

 1-2 The Word was first,
      the Word present to God,
      God present to the Word.
   The Word was God,
      in readiness for God from day one. 3-5Everything was created through him;
      nothing—not one thing!—
      came into being without him.
   What came into existence was Life,
      and the Life was Light to live by.
   The Life-Light blazed out of the darkness;
      the darkness couldn’t put it out.

In John’s day those who heard John say this knew the sacred Scripture and would recognize reference to what we now know to be the Book of Genesis.  John was showing, and telling.  Same as we as Believers need to do today.  We can talk, talk, talk.  We can get all religious up in someones face.  Or, we can bring the Word, allow just as John did, show, tell, and allow the talk to come from Scripture.

The B-I-B-L-E

The Bible is living and breathing, and when we, or someone else reads it, with an open ♥ it comes alive.  That is why I’ve shared, and I’ll say it again here, bring your Bible.  Allow anyone you are discussing it with, to read it for themselves.  Don’t read it for them, unless they can’t read, or don’t understand the language.  If you are looking for the Bible in another language, look also to Bible Gateway.  You can get in a bazillion different languages.

The Word was with GOD

A statement of meaning.  John knew Jesus was GOD.  He also knew that though Jesus was GOD, He was a distinct person who had, as the “with” implies, communion and fellowship with GOD, the Father.

The Word was GOD

Jesus and a big word now, deity.  Doesn’t say Jesus was a god.  What does it imply in the Greek, Jesus alone is GOD.

Learn as you grow.  Alone the way today and your tomorrows, learn more as you grow.  I’m not going into super detail, but know that the New Testament is filled with references like this.  People will argue these things with you.  People not studying the proper use of grammar, thus misinterpreting.  John meant what he said.  He knew firsthand.  John was well schooled and anything not meaning what it should, he wouldn’t have shared.

John 1:

15John pointed him out and called, “This is the One! The One I told you was coming after me but in fact was ahead of me. He has always been ahead of me, has always had the first word.”

If that doesn’t turn your crank today to want to focus on the Main thing, the main reason we’ve gotten to this day, how about:

Paul

John wasn’t alone in knowing, sharing and telling that Jesus was GOD.  Paul did his own unbelief and became an I’m A Believer!

Again, you do the looking up.  I’ll do the sharing.

Romans 9:5

Philippians 2:5-11

1 Timothy 3:16

Titus (one of my favorite Books; especially for women) 2:15

Now we’ve had:

Jesus is GOD, says: The Old Testament, The New Testament, and

now Jesus Himself:

John 10

 1-5“Let me set this before you as plainly as I can. If a person climbs over or through the fence of a sheep pen instead of going through the gate, you know he’s up to no good—a sheep rustler! The shepherd walks right up to the gate. The gatekeeper opens the gate to him and the sheep recognize his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he gets them all out, he leads them and they follow because they are familiar with his voice. They won’t follow a stranger’s voice but will scatter because they aren’t used to the sound of it.” 6-10Jesus told this simple story, but they had no idea what he was talking about. So he tried again. “I’ll be explicit, then. I am the Gate for the sheep. All those others are up to no good—sheep stealers, every one of them. But the sheep didn’t listen to them. I am the Gate. Anyone who goes through me will be cared for—will freely go in and out, and find pasture. A thief is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of.

 11-13“I am the Good Shepherd. The Good Shepherd puts the sheep before himself, sacrifices himself if necessary. A hired man is not a real shepherd. The sheep mean nothing to him. He sees a wolf come and runs for it, leaving the sheep to be ravaged and scattered by the wolf. He’s only in it for the money. The sheep don’t matter to him.

 14-18“I am the Good Shepherd. I know my own sheep and my own sheep know me. In the same way, the Father knows me and I know the Father. I put the sheep before myself, sacrificing myself if necessary. You need to know that I have other sheep in addition to those in this pen. I need to gather and bring them, too. They’ll also recognize my voice. Then it will be one flock, one Shepherd. This is why the Father loves me: because I freely lay down my life. And so I am free to take it up again. No one takes it from me. I lay it down of my own free will. I have the right to lay it down; I also have the right to take it up again. I received this authority personally from my Father.”

 19-21This kind of talk caused another split in the Jewish ranks. A lot of them were saying, “He’s crazy, a maniac—out of his head completely. Why bother listening to him?” But others weren’t so sure: “These aren’t the words of a crazy man. Can a ‘maniac’ open blind eyes?”

 22-24They were celebrating Hanukkah just then in Jerusalem. It was winter. Jesus was strolling in the Temple across Solomon’s Porch. The Jews, circling him, said, “How long are you going to keep us guessing? If you’re the Messiah, tell us straight out.”

 25-30Jesus answered, “I told you, but you don’t believe. Everything I have done has been authorized by my Father, actions that speak louder than words. You don’t believe because you’re not my sheep. My sheep recognize my voice. I know them, and they follow me. I give them real and eternal life. They are protected from the Destroyer for good. No one can steal them from out of my hand. The Father who put them under my care is so much greater than the Destroyer and Thief. No one could ever get them away from him. I and the Father are one heart and mind.”

 31-32Again the Jews picked up rocks to throw at him. Jesus said, “I have made a present to you from the Father of a great many good actions. For which of these acts do you stone me?”

 33The Jews said, “We’re not stoning you for anything good you did, but for what you said—this blasphemy of calling yourself God.”

 34-38Jesus said, “I’m only quoting your inspired Scriptures, where God said, ‘I tell you—you are gods.’ If God called your ancestors ‘gods’—and Scripture doesn’t lie—why do you yell, ‘Blasphemer! Blasphemer!’ at the unique One the Father consecrated and sent into the world, just because I said, ‘I am the Son of God’? If I don’t do the things my Father does, well and good; don’t believe me. But if I am doing them, put aside for a moment what you hear me say about myself and just take the evidence of the actions that are right before your eyes. Then perhaps things will come together for you, and you’ll see that not only are we doing the same thing, we are the same—Father and Son. He is in me; I am in him.”

 39-42They tried yet again to arrest him, but he slipped through their fingers. He went back across the Jordan to the place where John first baptized, and stayed there. A lot of people followed him over. They were saying, “John did no miracles, but everything he said about this man has come true.” Many believed in him then and there.

Today you can throw all this away.  You can believe in religion or you can have a relationship.  You can be a part of a religion or you can be a part of Body of CHRIST.  A religion cannot save you.  If you think that, you are now believing that it is religion that saves, not Jesus.

The response of the observer, you. What if this was your last day on earth. What if, as the polls say: it's decision day! Choose this day whom you will serve. Nothing, religion or relationship?

John 14

1-4“Don’t let this throw you. You trust God, don’t you? Trust me. There is plenty of room for you in my Father’s home. If that weren’t so, would I have told you that I’m on my way to get a room ready for you? And if I’m on my way to get your room ready, I’ll come back and get you so you can live where I live. And you already know the road I’m taking.” 5Thomas said, “Master, we have no idea where you’re going. How do you expect us to know the road?”

6-7Jesus said, “I am the Road, also the Truth, also the Life. No one gets to the Father apart from me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him. You’ve even seen him!”

8Philip said, “Master, show us the Father; then we’ll be content.”

9-10“You’ve been with me all this time, Philip, and you still don’t understand? To see me is to see the Father. So how can you ask, ‘Where is the Father?’ Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you aren’t mere words. I don’t just make them up on my own. The Father who resides in me crafts each word into a divine act.

11-14“Believe me: I am in my Father and my Father is in me. If you can’t believe that, believe what you see—these works. The person who trusts me will not only do what I’m doing but even greater things, because I, on my way to the Father, am giving you the same work to do that I’ve been doing. You can count on it. From now on, whatever you request along the lines of who I am and what I am doing, I’ll do it. That’s how the Father will be seen for who he is in the Son. I mean it. Whatever you request in this way, I’ll do.

The Spirit of Truth

15-17“If you love me, show it by doing what I’ve told you. I will talk to the Father, and he’ll provide you another Friend so that you will always have someone with you. This Friend is the Spirit of Truth. The godless world can’t take him in because it doesn’t have eyes to see him, doesn’t know what to look for. But you know him already because he has been staying with you, and will even be in you! 18-20“I will not leave you orphaned. I’m coming back. In just a little while the world will no longer see me, but you’re going to see me because I am alive and you’re about to come alive. At that moment you will know absolutely that I’m in my Father, and you’re in me, and I’m in you.

21“The person who knows my commandments and keeps them, that’s who loves me. And the person who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and make myself plain to him.”

22Judas (not Iscariot) said, “Master, why is it that you are about to make yourself plain to us but not to the world?”

23-24“Because a loveless world,” said Jesus, “is a sightless world. If anyone loves me, he will carefully keep my word and my Father will love him—we’ll move right into the neighborhood! Not loving me means not keeping my words. The message you are hearing isn’t mine. It’s the message of the Father who sent me.

25-27“I’m telling you these things while I’m still living with you. The Friend, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send at my request, will make everything plain to you. He will remind you of all the things I have told you. I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left—feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.

28“You’ve heard me tell you, ‘I’m going away, and I’m coming back.’ If you loved me, you would be glad that I’m on my way to the Father because the Father is the goal and purpose of my life.

29-31“I’ve told you this ahead of time, before it happens, so that when it does happen, the confirmation will deepen your belief in me. I’ll not be talking with you much more like this because the chief of this godless world is about to attack. But don’t worry—he has nothing on me, no claim on me. But so the world might know how thoroughly I love the Father, I am carrying out my Father’s instructions right down to the last detail.

“Get up. Let’s go. It’s time to leave here.”

Doubting Thomas’s

Ever wonder about that saying.  Some say it and have no idea of where it’s foundation comes from.  Some, who say they don’t believe in the Bible.  Maybe today that is you.

It’s Friday, but SONday’s Coming

Normally I wouldn’t throw this in until Resurrection SONday, but for all you doubting Thomas’s, or for all you who are stuck in the rut of religion, which separates us,  the Lord is leading me to share today with you…

John 20

Resurrection!

 1-2Early in the morning on the first day of the week, while it was still dark, Mary Magdalene came to the tomb and saw that the stone was moved away from the entrance. She ran at once to Simon Peter and the other disciple, the one Jesus loved, breathlessly panting, “They took the Master from the tomb. We don’t know where they’ve put him.” 3-10Peter and the other disciple left immediately for the tomb. They ran, neck and neck. The other disciple got to the tomb first, outrunning Peter. Stooping to look in, he saw the pieces of linen cloth lying there, but he didn’t go in. Simon Peter arrived after him, entered the tomb, observed the linen cloths lying there, and the kerchief used to cover his head not lying with the linen cloths but separate, neatly folded by itself. Then the other disciple, the one who had gotten there first, went into the tomb, took one look at the evidence, and believed. No one yet knew from the Scripture that he had to rise from the dead. The disciples then went back home.

 11-13But Mary stood outside the tomb weeping. As she wept, she knelt to look into the tomb and saw two angels sitting there, dressed in white, one at the head, the other at the foot of where Jesus’ body had been laid. They said to her, “Woman, why do you weep?”

 13-14“They took my Master,” she said, “and I don’t know where they put him.” After she said this, she turned away and saw Jesus standing there. But she didn’t recognize him.

 15Jesus spoke to her, “Woman, why do you weep? Who are you looking for?”

   She, thinking that he was the gardener, said, “Mister, if you took him, tell me where you put him so I can care for him.”

 16Jesus said, “Mary.”

   Turning to face him, she said in Hebrew, “Rabboni!” meaning “Teacher!”

 17Jesus said, “Don’t cling to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father. Go to my brothers and tell them, ‘I ascend to my Father and your Father, my God and your God.'”

 18Mary Magdalene went, telling the news to the disciples: “I saw the Master!” And she told them everything he said to her.

To Believe

 19-20Later on that day, the disciples had gathered together, but, fearful of the Jews, had locked all the doors in the house. Jesus entered, stood among them, and said, “Peace to you.” Then he showed them his hands and side. 20-21The disciples, seeing the Master with their own eyes, were exuberant. Jesus repeated his greeting: “Peace to you. Just as the Father sent me, I send you.”

 22-23Then he took a deep breath and breathed into them. “Receive the Holy Spirit,” he said. “If you forgive someone’s sins, they’re gone for good. If you don’t forgive sins, what are you going to do with them?”

 24-25But Thomas, sometimes called the Twin, one of the Twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. The other disciples told him, “We saw the Master.”

   But he said, “Unless I see the nail holes in his hands, put my finger in the nail holes, and stick my hand in his side, I won’t believe it.”

 26Eight days later, his disciples were again in the room. This time Thomas was with them. Jesus came through the locked doors, stood among them, and said, “Peace to you.”

 27Then he focused his attention on Thomas. “Take your finger and examine my hands. Take your hand and stick it in my side. Don’t be unbelieving. Believe.”

 28Thomas said, “My Master! My God!”

 29Jesus said, “So, you believe because you’ve seen with your own eyes. Even better blessings are in store for those who believe without seeing.”

 30-31Jesus provided far more God-revealing signs than are written down in this book. These are written down so you will believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and in the act of believing, have real and eternal life in the way he personally revealed it.

It’s Friday, But SONday’s Coming:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tn94B3GHcjY

Until all have heard of and know, His Love,

Jeannie Bee

 

Leave a Reply

