Leave a comment

Everybody!

*GOD*day!

Everybody Does It

I’ll let the teaching person in me come out first and share the meaning of “everybody”.

Every 1.  Each one of or all of a certain number.

Everybody Also everyone.  Every person.

Everyone Everybody.  Each individual person or thing in a group, no exceptions.

A Bit of Schooling:

I’m just going to jump right in on what I want to share.  It’s something that bothers me, something people say, sort of like, “It is, what it is.”  I’m neither a fan of that statement, or when you ask, “Who does that?”, and the response you get is, “Everybody!”  Now I know that there are times it’s appropriate.  Everybody isn’t the problem.  The problem is the use of the word “everybody” as it’s often used inappropriately.

Let me explain further…

Last evening while shopping with my husband I remembered a coupon in our ad booklet.  I went all the way back up front to pick up the flyer, walked all the way back to my husband, flipped through, all to find that someone had clipped the coupon out.  Annoyed?  Yes!!!  Yes, I was very annoyed.  The nice guys at customer service saw me coming back up front and asked what was up?  I explained what happened and said, “Who does that?”.  Almost in unison they said, “Everybody!”.  I of course shared that not to be true.  They continued to say “Everybody!” each time I expressed my big annoyance and rudeness at such a behavior.  As if someone was doing john q public, a favor by putting the rest of the booklet back on the rack.  They explained that it occurs all the time.  I’m here to say, not everybody!  I wouldn’t do that.  Why would anyone do that?

No!  Everybody doesn’t!

Now, I’m not being a picky pants and picking on “everybody”.  I’m just saying I highly doubt “Everybody!” is a good response.  What I believe happens, is that those responses come because, quite frankly, we settle.  We settle to accept what we believe can’t be changed.

In the past few days I’ve watched two movies that still bother me because there are people who accept this sort of state of mind, even though the two movies I watched, the things going on stirred peoples hearts and minds.  Stirred them to action for the good, during times that were bad.

Why is the change in us, never permanent?  The truth is, it isn’t always in everybody, but it is in some.  Granted I do get that there are some things that we can’t change, we don’t submit to the wrong though, or the injustice, we submit the outcome to *GOD*.  We entrust all that “is” to Him.  That’s quite different than just accepting what “is” and being able to make some significant effort on our parts, to do something about it, to change for the good, something, someone, or even ourselves.  I’m a fan of that.  Better still, *GOD* is a fan of that, a fan of every body changing for the good.

Part Of The Problem Is…

We have preferences instead of convictions.  That’s why a lot of CHRISTians are misunderstood and some bodies, they want to engage us in conversation to sway us as to why we shouldn’t believe, yet they, the ones trying to make this point, don’t want us to share the conviction we have in our beliefs.  The feeling people, of which I’m a part of, do move on feelings.  Yet, I am, as I shared before an INFJ.  So my feelings only play so much of a part in who I am, how I react or respond.  The other part is more about what is right and what is wrong.  The Truth is, wrong is wrong.  Saying everybody at the wrong time, that’s wrong.  Saying “everybody” in context, now that’s right =)

The problem lies not with everybody.  The problem lies with a generation, or generations who continue to move on accepting things.  I’ve spoken about this before, and I know my dads generation would never have accepted, that quality doesn’t go in a product any longer, before a name goes on.  My values are set a bit higher because I was raised up by a generation that knew that the hard earned money they made, when spent on a product, was because they trusted the name on it.   I believe that is why I enjoy working where I do, at Publix.  We really do have quality product.  I trust a Publix brand.  I also know that we stand by our product and if for any reason, any reason, you aren’t satisfied, we’ve got your back. So that just makes my point even more valid.  We are somebody, and so “everybody” can’t be true.

Some Are Ready, Not Everybody Though

1 Thessalonians 5:1-3
I don’t think, friends, that I need to deal with the question of when all this is going to happen. You know as well as I that the day of the Master’s coming can’t be posted on our calendars. He won’t call ahead and make an appointment any more than a burglar would. About the time everybody‘s walking around complacently, congratulating each other—”We’ve sure got it made! Now we can take it easy!”—suddenly everything will fall apart. It’s going to come as suddenly and inescapably as birth pangs to a pregnant woman.

It’s very sad that we’ve settled for “everybody” when it comes to people behaving badly.  Since I always know that *GOD* has something to say about things such as this, I of course have to bring Scripture into this blog today.

You want to talk about “everybody”?  I’ll share a little something in closing this blog today regarding “everybody” from a *GOD* viewpoint.  We settle for everybody in some things, some areas.  The important things though, not so much!  We accept what we don’t want to change about society and about ourselves.  It seems a lot easier that way, but in the end, we’ll wish that “not so much” not caring we lived, had much more, muchness!

1 Corinthians 15:21-28
There is a nice symmetry in this: Death initially came by a man, and resurrection from death came by a man. Everybody dies in Adam; everybody comes alive in Christ. But we have to wait our turn: Christ is first, then those with him at his Coming, the grand consummation when, after crushing the opposition, he hands over his kingdom to God the Father. He won’t let up until the last enemy is down—and the very last enemy is death! As the psalmist said, “He laid them low, one and all; he walked all over them.” When Scripture says that “he walked all over them,” it’s obvious that he couldn’t at the same time be walked on. When everything and everyone is finally under God’s rule, the Son will step down, taking his place with everyone else, showing that God’s rule is absolutely comprehensive—a perfect ending!

Everybody Does Fit Into His Plans. 

Everybody just won’t choose it!

To quote a Beatles song, with words that are actually somewhat fitting for us, as if they could have come from *GOD*.

I’ll paraphrase the song to go more His way…

Everybody who wants to know the secret, well, it’s revealed to those with ears to hear!

♪♫Listen, do you want to know a secret, do you promise to tell?  Closer, let Me whisper in your ear, say the Words you need to hear, I AM is in Love with you. ♪♫

What?  You don’t like my rendition?  Every body not believing?  I can live with that knowledge, the part about you not liking my rendition or remake, making it more personal on a Biblical level… but you can’t.  So here you go, once again, I never expect you to take my word for anything.  I do however pray, you take His.

Listen, you have no problem still shopping or thinking about Victoria’s Secret.  I’m old enough to remember when that was a store a “lady” by every sense of the word, could shop at.  It wasn’t this sleazy, cheapened place of business.  Yes, that’s my opinion.

Commercial Interruption:

This blog does come with commercial interruptions from time to time.  Today’s commercial is brought to you by the letter “L” for Lady.

Lady n. 1.  A women, especially one of refinement and good manners.  2. A polite name for an adult member of the feminine sex.

We now resume to Jeannie’s somewhat regular scheduled blog. =)

Why do I say all this? Why the commercial interruption?  To make a point.  A valid point of how watered down, and messed up we’ve gotten. I say it all because quite frankly, if you want to know a secret, the secret is out, and it’s degrading and sickening to watch how low we’ve gone.  Since I’m on a roll of letting secrets out, everybody read on!  Some of you don’t remember when quality went in, because we’ve settled as a country where some have settled for instant everything.

We’ve become that generation spoken of in the Book of Judges.  Yes siree, I do believe we have.  We’re seeing a generation that knows not the LORD.

I’m going to end this blog with some wisdom from Proverbs to show a bit of what I’m trying to say, but *GOD*’s Word says better than I ever could.  I’m also sharing, the now, was once a secret, but prayerfully will be made clearer to you now, from Paul, in the Book of Ephesians, chapter 3.

Proverbs 28

If You Desert God’s Law

1 The wicked are edgy with guilt, ready to run off even when no one’s after them;
Honest people are relaxed and confident, bold as lions.

2 When the country is in chaos,
everybody has a plan to fix it—
But it takes a leader of real understanding
to straighten things out.

3 The wicked who oppress the poor
are like a hailstorm that beats down the harvest.

Ephesians 3

The Secret Plan of God

1-3This is why I, Paul, am in jail for Christ, having taken up the cause of you outsiders, so-called. I take it that you’re familiar with the part I was given in God’s plan for including everybody. I got the inside story on this from God himself, as I just wrote you in brief. 4-6As you read over what I have written to you, you’ll be able to see for yourselves into the mystery of Christ. None of our ancestors understood this. Only in our time has it been made clear by God’s Spirit through his holy apostles and prophets of this new order. The mystery is that people who have never heard of God and those who have heard of him all their lives (what I’ve been calling outsiders and insiders) stand on the same ground before God. They get the same offer, same help, same promises in Christ Jesus. The Message is accessible and welcoming to everyone, across the board.

 7-8This is my life work: helping people understand and respond to this Message. It came as a sheer gift to me, a real surprise, God handling all the details. When it came to presenting the Message to people who had no background in God’s way, I was the least qualified of any of the available Christians. God saw to it that I was equipped, but you can be sure that it had nothing to do with my natural abilities.

 8-10And so here I am, preaching and writing about things that are way over my head, the inexhaustible riches and generosity of Christ. My task is to bring out in the open and make plain what God, who created all this in the first place, has been doing in secret and behind the scenes all along. Through followers of Jesus like yourselves gathered in churches, this extraordinary plan of God is becoming known and talked about even among the angels!

 11-13All this is proceeding along lines planned all along by God and then executed in Christ Jesus. When we trust in him, we’re free to say whatever needs to be said, bold to go wherever we need to go. So don’t let my present trouble on your behalf get you down. Be proud!

 14-19My response is to get down on my knees before the Father, this magnificent Father who parcels out all heaven and earth. I ask him to strengthen you by his Spirit—not a brute strength but a glorious inner strength—that Christ will live in you as you open the door and invite him in. And I ask him that with both feet planted firmly on love, you’ll be able to take in with all followers of Jesus the extravagant dimensions of Christ’s love. Reach out and experience the breadth! Test its length! Plumb the depths! Rise to the heights! Live full lives, full in the fullness of God.

 20-21God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

   Glory to God in the church!
   Glory to God in the Messiah, in Jesus!
   Glory down all the generations!
   Glory through all millennia! Oh, yes!

Until all have heard of, and know His Love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

