2 Comments

“Never trust a skinny cook.” Just who said that?

*GOD*day!

Ever quote something and afterwards someone says, “Who said that?”  Are you always able to give an answer?

You have no idea, nor actually do I for that matter, how many times those words have been uttered before me.  I heard them all my cooking life.  I heard them on my job.  Until someone tastes my food, or as someone put it the other day… You sure do like food.  And I do.  I am a proud, would be if there was one, card carrying foodie.

It was the phrase that got me thinking this morning in a little more detail.  And, although I do not want this to be a political thing, cause I don’t.  It’s my blog and I’ll share it how I feel led.  Agree to disagree!!!

Something got my curiosity this morning as I viewed these words: “Never trust a skinny cook.”  Now whomever originally said such a thing, nobody seems to know.  I’m thinking though, it sure wasn’t someone skinny.  Then again, that would be another presumptuous statement and so, I can’t say that either.

My point today is that we all often quote things and we have no idea of the source.  Or, if the source of what was said, was even said the way something ends up getting quoted.  Maybe that’s why so many things that are said, or known quotes, have, author unknown, or anonymous, attached to them.  The original saying was left by the wayside and the person who actually might have said something, was misquoted.

This happens a lot with Scripture.  People love to do that, yet often it’s mishandled, or should I say, manhandled!  I posted a while back that one of the reasons I like to have anyone I’m with, read the Word themselves, even though I could memorize (which by the way—I stink at that), and that’s why.  Why not allow the very source to be the source.  Sometimes all we ever get out of someone who has been educated in the word, is a whole of their education.  Don’t misinterpret that, don’t misquote me either.  I’m only saying that so often when someone is preaching/teaching the Word of GOD, from the pulpit or classroom, and they are these very educated folks, they get themselves lost in translation.  *GOD* never intended for His Word to be manhandled like that.

I would love to have dollar, heck, I’d take a penny, for all the times I’ve had people say to me that they have enjoyed me sharing the Word with them, that I made it something they were able to understand.  Yes, maybe then I’d have fewer financial woes.  I’m joking of course.  My point is, that nothing much has changed.  People will compliment me on the way I can bring the GOOD NEWS to Life, but they won’t allow me to do it for a living because I’ve got no degree in Bible.  That’s a riot, right? Honestly, if getting a degree means I get to say I have a degree and now I can teach the Bible, I don’t want one.  I think that’s somewhat of an oxymoron.

Let me explain that using Scripture.  Let me tell you that we, the people, we’re given the Bible so that even on own, by our little itty-bitty selves, we can understand, and see clearly what *GOD* wants us to know.

Psalm 19:7-11

 7-9 The revelation of God is whole
      and pulls our lives together.
   The signposts of God are clear
      and point out the right road.
   The life-maps of God are right,
      showing the way to joy.
   The directions of God are plain
      and easy on the eyes.
   God’s reputation is twenty-four-carat gold,
      with a lifetime guarantee.
   The decisions of God are accurate
      down to the nth degree.

 10 God’s Word is better than a diamond,
      better than a diamond set between emeralds.
   You’ll like it better than strawberries in spring,
      better than red, ripe strawberries.

 11-14 There’s more: God’s Word warns us of danger
      and directs us to hidden treasure.
   Otherwise how will we find our way?
      Or know when we play the fool?
   Clean the slate, God, so we can start the day fresh!
      Keep me from stupid sins,
      from thinking I can take over your work;
   Then I can start this day sun-washed,
      scrubbed clean of the grime of sin.
   These are the words in my mouth;
      these are what I chew on and pray.
   Accept them when I place them
      on the morning altar,
   O God, my Altar-Rock,
      God, Priest-of-My-Altar.

“UNLESS someone like you
cares a whole awful lot,
nothing is going to get better.
It’s not.”

Now who said that?  Better still…

“Will you be the someone who cares a lot, to make things better, will you do that or not?” Jeannie Bee

When we care, we know that silly things, like being a skinny cook or a such things are not the things that matter.  After all, and don’t throw rocks at me, or call me names after I say this thing I’m about to say.  I have trouble following the president and his plans because quite frankly he doesn’t live what he preaches.  He talks all about health and sugar and these things he and the first lady say are bad-bad-bad, awful for us, yet out of the corner of his mouth is what?

Exactly!

I also want to add, that if he quit; which hooray for him if so, how can the first lady turn around and talk all about sugar, obesity and say this, and I do quote and paste this straight from the article.  Read it and see if you don’t see two sides of the coin.

Michelle Obama: The president has quit smoking

By Nia-Malika Henderson

http://voices.washingtonpost.com/44/2011/02/first-lady-obama-has-quit-smok.html

____________________________________________________

In the first ladies defense, I’m sure she very much cares about this cause she has taken on.  I know she can’t be all things to all people, I know that she is doing what she believes to be the best thing.  Yet take a look closely, as we are always suppose to examine the source.

In fact a whole lot of folks have no reluctance what-so-ever when it comes to scrutinizing anything Bible based, or someone who is a CHRISTian.  It’s no holding back, and name calling, well… let’s say a whole lot of people don’t practice at that point, exactly what they preach.

____________________________________________________

Now you can agree to disagree with me.  Please do, if you are so inclined.  What she is saying is that something that is a daily habit, or a habit like fast food being eaten every day, is bad, but the president she never said much to about smoking because it wasn’t a regular thing.  Folks, you either are a smoker or you aren’t.  You are either a drinker or you aren’t.  You are either a fan or you are not!

I’m thinking if you are going to talk to folks about stopping something, you should most certainly be able to discuss these other things at home as well, with your husband, the president.  I’m just say’n.  I’m also saying that when you make a statement that he will do it in his own time, and also share “he’s always wanted to stop.”  Yes, I do sort of take issue with the issues she has at hand.

You are either a Believer who can indeed share your faith, and should because you are commanded, and told to be a disciple maker.  Or you are not.  Your education doesn’t need to come at the hands of someone who just thinks themselves able.

Yet here we are now living in times when they are discussing the issue of taxing sugar because we here in America are consuming to much.  The way to stop us from consuming to much sugar is to tax it; or so they say.  I’m saying, really?  Really?  Did that stop people from drinking, smoking, buying gas?  Taxing sugar is someone’s crusade.

Yet… and of course I have to have a yet or however…

If a Bible Believing CHRIST-centered CHRISTian stands firm upon the Word of GOD, the BIBLE, we apparently are messed up.

I’m just say’n…

Don’t look now but here comes some Scripture on being and doing:

____________________________________________________

Matthew 7:14-16

Being and Doing

 13-14“Don’t look for shortcuts to God. The market is flooded with surefire, easygoing formulas for a successful life that can be practiced in your spare time. Don’t fall for that stuff, even though crowds of people do. The way to life—to God!—is vigorous and requires total attention. 15-20“Be wary of false preachers who smile a lot, dripping with practiced sincerity. Chances are they are out to rip you off some way or other. Don’t be impressed with charisma; look for character. Who preachers are is the main thing, not what they say. A genuine leader will never exploit your emotions or your pocketbook. These diseased trees with their bad apples are going to be chopped down and burned.

_____________________________________________________

Just for the fun of it.  I’m thinking that the first lady would trust a skinny cook.  I bet though, in different parts of the world, people see this as a hateful thing to say. How about we all continue on in just being free to be you and me, with improvements to come as we all grow together?

Enough said!

_____________________________________________________

Oh yes, I wanted to share one of my fun little creations from a couple of weeks ago.  I was so excited about it, I brought it into work for our deli manager.  She’s the one who just said to me, “One thing is for sure, you love food.”

In the end, maybe I’m just someone concerned because someone is talking about taxing sugar.  “Please leave sugar alone, it’s been my long friend over these many years.” A Somewhat Skinny Cook-Me

Happy cooking and baking,

Jeannie Bee

Until all have heard of, and know His Love,

Jeannie Bee

2 comments on ““Never trust a skinny cook.” Just who said that?

  1. You never did reveal who said the actual quote of never trust a skinny cook.

    • Bluemoon, I honestly don’t know. As I stated in the beginning, you can’t even find it when you Google. Though I do believe the actual original saying was, Never trust a skinny chef. Either way, it can’t seem to be accredited to a specific person, it always says, “Author Unknown”. Personally I think trusting a cook doesn’t have much to do with personal weight, but weighing in on whether we like their cooking or not. Even then, that crazy thing we call a palate is open to personal preference as well. Wow, now that’s a blog for another day. Thanks for your inquiry. Sorry so late in responding.

Leave a Reply

