Leave a comment

Follow Me = Following and Followers

*GOD*day!

This morning as I opened up my Pinterest e-mail it struck me how daily there are several pinned your: repinned: and started following your board: happenings go on.  As I viewed a few “popular” Pinterest spots I noticed a Pinterester who had 2,615,259 followers.  Amazingly, this Pinterester only followed 117.  She wasn’t exactly someone led by the crowd.  I also realized that this person wasn’t someone who repinned it forward either.

Now I’m not even the popular girl on the block of Pinterest.  In fact in real life, I’m not either. I’m not sure what you do to get 2,615,259 followers on Pinterest, nor do I really care, but the idea of someone having that number, well it did make me wonder.  My first thought was, she must find some very interesting pin things.  So, I thought to myself I’m going to take it another step forward, and  what I discovered about this very followed Pinterester was that she had some recent pins that were pins I had a long time ago.  So, obviously it wasn’t the idea of having anything new, but found, and made new in her boards.  H’m, what my little head wonders now, could be the answer to this following?  Truly I was looking for an answer and I paused and asked the LORD to show me.

Eureka I hit Pin Dirt!

I just couldn’t resist saying that, and trust me, I know, I know it’s not as funny to you as it was to me.  I get that a lot in my job.  People who say I have no sense of humor because I don’t laugh at some lame joke they tell.  I do have quite the sense of humor, but like us all we don’t have the same humor.  Thus the Eureka moment!  We all don’t have the same taste either.

As I viewed just this one popular Pinterester board I noticed that it was everything and anything.  By that I mean, everything!  This Pinner allowed everything in.  Thus she was popular with everyone.  No, wait!  Let me rephrase that statement.  She was popular in specific areas of each board with different Pinners.  She accepted everything and certain individual out there did as well.  In fact if you are someone who stopped by you’d think she was popular.  The truth is what she shared struck an area of interest with others because she was willing take in everything and share everything. Thus the reason for *GOD* having me think about this.

Are We On The Same Page Yet?

Not quite yet?  Allow me to explain my brain, or try any way, and the thinking of things that the LORD placed on my heart.  Let me give you a *GOD* clue of where we are going with this.  I’m sure this will help you follow along with me.

Matthew 4:18-20

 18-20Walking along the beach of Lake Galilee, Jesus saw two brothers: Simon (later called Peter) and Andrew. They were fishing, throwing their nets into the lake. It was their regular work. Jesus said to them, “Come with me. I’ll make a new kind of fisherman out of you. I’ll show you how to catch men and women instead of perch and bass.” They didn’t ask questions, but simply dropped their nets and followed.

There is a huge difference between following something you believe and being popular and having followers.  This individual, like a lot of people in the world, accepted everything in.  Therefore they are most likely, as we understand the world as it is, and people being who they are, are going to be popular.

Follow Me

When a human says this, they want you to be under their leadership.  They say things that please a lot of people, a lot of the time.  In fact certain people have such a way to say things that they can sell you something you don’t even need, nor ever even wanted.

When a person offers you up everything on the platter, or says that all religions are acceptable and equal, more people are going to like this because more people fit into this thinking.  It doesn’t make it right, it just makes it popular thinking.

As a Bible Believing, CHRIST-centered CHRISTian, I don’t agree.  I don’t agree with the thinking of accepting every belief because that goes against my beliefs.  Now if you ask me am I accepting of people, yes I am.  Does that mean I agree with all the people I accept, no, it absolutely does not.  I cannot accept what goes against the very grain of my beliefs.

Now if you are thinking that logic is complicated and even prejudicial, let me put it this way.  If you think that, are you not also doing what you “think” I’m doing wrong?  Think about that for a minute.  Reread what I just wrote.

It’s true.  The very people who accept everything, allow it all in, and don’t believe in absolutes like a Bible Believing, CHRIST-centered CHRISTian does, will think them wrong, me wrong.  How can that be?  If the very people who accept everyone and everything now think you wrong, apparently they don’t believe, accept or follow everything.

F-O-L-L-O-W-I-N-G!

When you finally understand what being a Bible Believing, CHRIST-centered CHRISTian is all about, you are now following all the way.  You aren’t a dabbler in nice tickle the ear verses that look pretty to post on Pinterest or your Facebook.  You now are into faith book.

Psalm 86:11-17
Train me, God, to walk straight; then I’ll follow your true path. Put me together, one heart and mind; then, undivided, I’ll worship in joyful fear. From the bottom of my heart I thank you, dear Lord; I’ve never kept secret what you’re up to. You’ve always been great toward me—what love! You snatched me from the brink of disaster! God, these bullies have reared their heads! A gang of thugs is after me— and they don’t care a thing about you. But you, O God, are both tender and kind, not easily angered, immense in love, and you never, never quit. So look me in the eye and show kindness, give your servant the strength to go on, save your dear, dear child! Make a show of how much you love me so the bullies who hate me will stand there slack-jawed, As you, God, gently and powerfully put me back on my feet.

Psalm 119:57-64
Because you have satisfied me, God, I promise to do everything you say. I beg you from the bottom of my heart: smile, be gracious to me just as you promised. When I took a long, careful look at your ways, I got my feet back on the trail you blazed. I was up at once, didn’t drag my feet, was quick to follow your orders. The wicked hemmed me in—there was no way out— but not for a minute did I forget your plan for me. I get up in the middle of the night to thank you; your decisions are so right, so true—I can’t wait till morning! I’m a friend and companion of all who fear you, of those committed to living by your rules. Your love, God, fills the earth! Train me to live by your counsel

Matthew 8:20-22

 20Jesus was curt: “Are you ready to rough it? We’re not staying in the best inns, you know.”

 21Another follower said, “Master, excuse me for a couple of days, please. I have my father’s funeral to take care of.”

 22Jesus refused. “First things first. Your business is life, not death. Follow me. Pursue life.”

Followers

Yesterday I wrote about putting your whole self in.  This is what is required of a Bible Believing, CHRIST-centered CHRISTian.  I’m not saying that we are perfect, but we better be all Believing.  If we begin, like the world does, to water down our beliefs we are not all in.

Read the passage from Matthew 12 below.  You just can’t be all in with *GOD*, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, and then say you don’t believe what they are all in One, all about.

It’s like the commercial for that lemonade tea.  You watch on the commercial that there are two different groups of people.  One group is saying it’s the tea that makes the drink good.  Another group is saying it’s the lemonade that makes it good.  The truth is, it’s the two drinks in one that makes it good.

That is the same thing with Bible Believing, CHRIST-centered CHRISTian‘s.  You cannot take a true Believer and set them apart from the very Biblical Truths by which they follow.  If someone is doing that, it’s time to rethink what it is you really believe.

Matthew 12

In Charge of the Sabbath

 1-2One Sabbath, Jesus was strolling with his disciples through a field of ripe grain. Hungry, the disciples were pulling off the heads of grain and munching on them. Some Pharisees reported them to Jesus: “Your disciples are breaking the Sabbath rules!” 3-5Jesus said, “Really? Didn’t you ever read what David and his companions did when they were hungry, how they entered the sanctuary and ate fresh bread off the altar, bread that no one but priests were allowed to eat? And didn’t you ever read in God’s Law that priests carrying out their Temple duties break Sabbath rules all the time and it’s not held against them?

 6-8“There is far more at stake here than religion. If you had any idea what this Scripture meant—’I prefer a flexible heart to an inflexible ritual’—you wouldn’t be nitpicking like this. The Son of Man is no lackey to the Sabbath; he’s in charge.”

 9-10When Jesus left the field, he entered their meeting place. There was a man there with a crippled hand. They said to Jesus, “Is it legal to heal on the Sabbath?” They were baiting him.

 11-14He replied, “Is there a person here who, finding one of your lambs fallen into a ravine, wouldn’t, even though it was a Sabbath, pull it out? Surely kindness to people is as legal as kindness to animals!” Then he said to the man, “Hold out your hand.” He held it out and it was healed. The Pharisees walked out furious, sputtering about how they were going to ruin Jesus.

In Charge of Everything

 15-21Jesus, knowing they were out to get him, moved on. A lot of people followed him, and he healed them all. He also cautioned them to keep it quiet, following guidelines set down by Isaiah:

   Look well at my handpicked servant;
         I love him so much, take such delight in him.
   I’ve placed my Spirit on him;
         he’ll decree justice to the nations.
   But he won’t yell, won’t raise his voice;
         there’ll be no commotion in the streets.
   He won’t walk over anyone’s feelings,
         won’t push you into a corner.
   Before you know it, his justice will triumph;
         the mere sound of his name will signal hope, even
      among far-off unbelievers.

No Neutral Ground

 22-23Next a poor demon-afflicted wretch, both blind and deaf, was set down before him. Jesus healed him, gave him his sight and hearing. The people who saw it were impressed—”This has to be the Son of David!” 24But the Pharisees, when they heard the report, were cynical. “Black magic,” they said. “Some devil trick he’s pulled from his sleeve.”

 25-27Jesus confronted their slander. “A judge who gives opposite verdicts on the same person cancels himself out; a family that’s in a constant squabble disintegrates; if Satan banishes Satan, is there any Satan left? If you’re slinging devil mud at me, calling me a devil kicking out devils, doesn’t the same mud stick to your own exorcists?

 28-29“But if it’s by God’s power that I am sending the evil spirits packing, then God’s kingdom is here for sure. How in the world do you think it’s possible in broad daylight to enter the house of an awake, able-bodied man and walk off with his possessions unless you tie him up first? Tie him up, though, and you can clean him out.

 30“This is war, and there is no neutral ground. If you’re not on my side, you’re the enemy; if you’re not helping, you’re making things worse.

 31-32“There’s nothing done or said that can’t be forgiven. But if you deliberately persist in your slanders against God’s Spirit, you are repudiating the very One who forgives. If you reject the Son of Man out of some misunderstanding, the Holy Spirit can forgive you, but when you reject the Holy Spirit, you’re sawing off the branch on which you’re sitting, severing by your own perversity all connection with the One who forgives.

 33“If you grow a healthy tree, you’ll pick healthy fruit. If you grow a diseased tree, you’ll pick worm-eaten fruit. The fruit tells you about the tree.

 34-37“You have minds like a snake pit! How do you suppose what you say is worth anything when you are so foul-minded? It’s your heart, not the dictionary, that gives meaning to your words. A good person produces good deeds and words season after season. An evil person is a blight on the orchard. Let me tell you something: Every one of these careless words is going to come back to haunt you. There will be a time of Reckoning. Words are powerful; take them seriously. Words can be your salvation. Words can also be your damnation.”

Jonah-Evidence

 38Later a few religion scholars and Pharisees got on him. “Teacher, we want to see your credentials. Give us some hard evidence that God is in this. How about a miracle?” 39-40Jesus said, “You’re looking for proof, but you’re looking for the wrong kind. All you want is something to titillate your curiosity, satisfy your lust for miracles. The only proof you’re going to get is what looks like the absence of proof: Jonah-evidence. Like Jonah, three days and nights in the fish’s belly, the Son of Man will be gone three days and nights in a deep grave.

 41-42“On Judgment Day, the Ninevites will stand up and give evidence that will condemn this generation, because when Jonah preached to them they changed their lives. A far greater preacher than Jonah is here, and you squabble about ‘proofs.’ On Judgment Day, the Queen of Sheba will come forward and bring evidence that will condemn this generation, because she traveled from a far corner of the earth to listen to wise Solomon. Wisdom far greater than Solomon’s is right in front of you, and you quibble over ‘evidence.’

 43-45“When a defiling evil spirit is expelled from someone, it drifts along through the desert looking for an oasis, some unsuspecting soul it can bedevil. When it doesn’t find anyone, it says, ‘I’ll go back to my old haunt.’ On return it finds the person spotlessly clean, but vacant. It then runs out and rounds up seven other spirits more evil than itself and they all move in, whooping it up. That person ends up far worse off than if he’d never gotten cleaned up in the first place.

   “That’s what this generation is like: You may think you have cleaned out the junk from your lives and gotten ready for God, but you weren’t hospitable to my kingdom message, and now all the devils are moving back in.”

Obedience Is Thicker than Blood

 46-47While he was still talking to the crowd, his mother and brothers showed up. They were outside trying to get a message to him. Someone told Jesus, “Your mother and brothers are out here, wanting to speak with you.” 48-50Jesus didn’t respond directly, but said, “Who do you think my mother and brothers are?” He then stretched out his hand toward his disciples. “Look closely. These are my mother and brothers. Obedience is thicker than blood. The person who obeys my heavenly Father’s will is my brother and sister and mother.”

I’m not here for you to follow me. 

I’m here to help you Follow Christ Jesus.

Make A Real Fashion Statement of Your Life in-Christ

Get dressed in the best.  Dress for His success by dressing up in the Words that set you free.

Nope, I’m not.  I’m not on Pinterest for that reason.  I’m not doing this blog for that reason.  If I was, I’d be doing all I can to catch you in my net.  I’m not though.  I’m not because the Who I am about, is the only person I really want you to follow.  If we become friends, even just acquaintances, that’s just peachy, but I cannot represent myself as someone accepting of everything.  Quite honestly if you accept everything, you’ll follow anything.

One thing is for sure.  When Jesus talked about following, He meant that we are to follow faithfully.  We are not to break down into denominations, but into relationships.  We should not allow denominations to separate us either.  Yet, if something believed, is not Biblical, one cannot believe it, or receive it as Truth. This relationship with Christ, is the essential of a Bible Believing, CHRIST-centered CHRISTians life.

Commercial Interruption:

Now the all the beliefs behind someone else and their beliefs might not be my beliefs.  However… I can see the hope and good, and the Biblical parts of something being true.  These are the conversation starters.  In the end, if we can, and the Lord knows we should, we all just need to agree to disagree and move on with ourselves still loving each other.  There is no room for hate, or haters.  There is room for agreeing to disagree peaceably.

End of commercial! =)

With that said, though I might not follow this man or his beliefs.  I follow the words behind this song.  The words to this song, follow the Scripture and our being called to become disciples and share Who we Follow.

David Kauffman:Follow Me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ds-ww5FpwM&feature=related

Until all have heard of, and know His Love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

