Leave a comment

Keep Yourself Awake

*GOD*day!

Yes, my mind was wide awake to these thoughts this morning.  Not just mindful of how *GOD* functions in my life, but in the world around me.  The more I become aware of the arguing and bantering going on within the presidential race, the more I realize how far we’ve not come.  What a wonderful blessing it would be to *GOD* if we finally did decide to agree to disagree and show the world, as Bible Believers we are fully awake to our function in this world, and how *GOD*, despite all the evil we see happening, is in full control.  Now I know lots of people spout that off all the time.  They say it sort of flippantly.  That’s what has to stop.  The other day I said to someone that our actions truly do speak louder.  If they do, what does *GOD*’s approval rating look like, when we represent Him?

~To Show *GOD* We Are Listening~

*GOD*: *GOD*Almighty, Creator, Redeemer, Father, Savior, Lord,Spirit. 

There is a difference in each one of these Names of *GOD*.  At each point of our life many people view Him differently.  Some it’s a view from a distance, and He is far, far away.  Other may just have begun to get to know Him, and discover Him as Almighty.  The very Maker of the worlds, and most importantly, you and I.  In discovering this, we discover how wonderful it is to be fully awakened to Who He is in our life on a personal level.  

Job 5:16-18

What a Blessing When God Corrects You!
 8-16 “If I were in your shoes, I’d go straight to God,
   I’d throw myself on the mercy of God.
After all, he’s famous for great and unexpected acts;
   there’s no end to his surprises.
He gives rain, for instance, across the wide earth,
   sends water to irrigate the fields.
He raises up the down-and-out,
   gives firm footing to those sinking in grief.
He aborts the schemes of conniving crooks,
   so that none of their plots come to term.
He catches the know-it-alls in their conspiracies—
   all that intricate intrigue swept out with the trash!
Suddenly they’re disoriented, plunged into darkness;
   they can’t see to put one foot in front of the other.
But the downtrodden are saved by God,
   saved from the murderous plots, saved from the iron fist.
And so the poor continue to hope,
   while injustice is bound and gagged.  17-19 “So, what a blessing when God steps in and corrects you!
   Mind you, don’t despise the discipline of Almighty God!
True, he wounds, but he also dresses the wound;
   the same hand that hurts you, heals you.
From one disaster after another he delivers you;
   no matter what the calamity, the evil can’t touch you—

♪♫Then sings my soul, my Savior GOD to Thee, How Great Thou Art…”♪♫
If I began to hum that in a church setting everyone would most likely know the song.  Yet, if I start humming it out in the world, and I have before, people will ask what is that song?  There is a world that doesn’t (yet) know the song.
As you and I now have that hymn in our head, think about the words.  What if we are also the “Art” on earth representing Him?  Do the lives we live show that He is Creator, and Lord over all?  Now I’m not saying, how great we are, I’m saying how Great *GOD* is in our lives.  What if our lives, our souls, showed the world, like a well done Master Piece of His Creation, that we are hungering, listening, following, and sharing?  We in fact are His art work.  We’ve just been throwing a little to much worldly paint upon the canvas of our lives.  What He began, we’ve splashed a little to much worldly color upon and soaked up, and now the song of our soul is one that does not fully depict an original Master Piece. 
There is Hope, The Day’s Not Over… Yet.
My quote: “There is only One Savior, and we are not Him.” Jeannie Bee
The Creator, is Redeemer, and He’s come to change lives. Love is a great place to begin, but it does not wash away falsehoods.  Love isn’t all there is, Love however, as another song says, will keep us together.  It’s not just any love though.  It’s the Love of our Savior.  That is the job of the Redeemer, who takes up residence, born within us, and reveals the way to go.  We can love people, all the while we also must let them know, we must show, that the difference within us, and shown outward, is that of His Love.  I say this all the time, and I’ll write it here again.  I didn’t get this quote from anyone.  I even remember the first witness opportunity with a family member that I had, who was criticizing me for thinking myself “better”.  We get that a lot.  I believe when I wasn’t saved, I said it to a lot of people because I thought myself ready, set and going to Heaven.  Boy was I wrong.  When I finally started reading the Bible, and dug into the Words that *GOD*, allowed them to penetrate me, I got it.  When I realized I myself was in need of a Savior. Though I believed in GOD, Jesus and Holy Ghost, on a personal level, I did not.  It was in that moment I lost complete interest in religion, and it was all because I understood in that moment what *GOD*, Father, Son and Holy Spirit was to me.  I didn’t know everything, and I didn’t need to.  I just needed to know the difference between knowing and receiving.  Later on I would learn the difference between knowing and growing.

2 John 1

1-2My dear congregation, I, your pastor, love you in very truth. And I’m not alone—everyone who knows the Truth that has taken up permanent residence in us loves you. 3Let grace, mercy, and peace be with us in truth and love from God the Father and from Jesus Christ, Son of the Father!

 4-6I can’t tell you how happy I am to learn that many members of your congregation are diligent in living out the Truth, exactly as commanded by the Father. But permit me a reminder, friends, and this is not a new commandment but simply a repetition of our original and basic charter: that we love each other. Love means following his commandments, and his unifying commandment is that you conduct your lives in love. This is the first thing you heard, and nothing has changed.

Don’t Walk Out on God

 7There are a lot of smooth-talking charlatans loose in the world who refuse to believe that Jesus Christ was truly human, a flesh-and-blood human being. Give them their true title: Deceiver! Antichrist! 8-9And be very careful around them so you don’t lose out on what we’ve worked so diligently in together; I want you to get every reward you have coming to you. Anyone who gets so progressive in his thinking that he walks out on the teaching of Christ, walks out on God. But whoever stays with the teaching, stays faithful to both the Father and the Son.

 10-11If anyone shows up who doesn’t hold to this teaching, don’t invite him in and give him the run of the place. That would just give him a platform to perpetuate his evil ways, making you his partner.

 12-13I have a lot more things to tell you, but I’d rather not use paper and ink. I hope to be there soon in person and have a heart-to-heart talk. That will be far more satisfying to both you and me. Everyone here in your sister congregation sends greetings.

♪♫This Is My Father’s World…♪♫
Our limited understanding of this world, of Who the Father is, grows daily with our understanding of the Bible.  This is why “growing” in the Word of GOD, on a personal level is important.
We must keep ourselves awake to the Word of GOD.  Why?  This is how *GOD* speaks to us, even today.  So often one single line, chapter or book of the Bible will speak to you more than any other.  Today it might be someones ability, for the very first time to understand Scripture, as they read it for themselves.

1 John 4:6-8

 4-6My dear children, you come from God and belong to God. You have already won a big victory over those false teachers, for the Spirit in you is far stronger than anything in the world. These people belong to the Christ-denying world. They talk the world’s language and the world eats it up. But we come from God and belong to God. Anyone who knows God understands us and listens. The person who has nothing to do with God will, of course, not listen to us. This is another test for telling the Spirit of Truth from the spirit of deception.

For This Very Reason: Jesus Christ as Savior

When people come to my blog, and they do.  I know this because stats show it, my goal is not to make myself known.  I don’t need to be the who’s who.  My heart desire is to present Jesus Christ to someone who comes here and reads.  My prayer is that maybe, just maybe because of something I said, or something from the Bible they read here, or even sought out further, they accepted Christ.

I’ve shared before that my favorite role at my last job was that of leading children to Jesus.  All the yuck and muck of the day would pass away in a moment of seeing a child come to understand the Word of GOD.  I never just taught a child to memorize a verse.  That has never been, nor will it be my style.  I’ve watched, known and met a lot of students who were some of the top notch memorizes at school, all to throw it all away, because what it represented was an A,for a grade.  The teacher so thrilled with doing their job, was accepting of such a thing.  Now I know we can’t know the heart of someone, but if we aren’t really teaching from a heart of wanting a child (and by child–I mean anyone on earth we are presenting Christ to), we ourselves are missing the mark for Christ.

There is a quote by Mother Teresa that says something or another about longing for Heaven, but having the power from *GOD* to be with Him while living right here.  I can only think she was talking about having that happiness that comes from being able to open all the doors He desires for us to walk through.  Finding strength in the happiness of obedience to the Word. Yet we’ve muddled it up.

~The Holy Spirit~

We muddle it all up when we show the world that we have banquets and awards that we’ve earned.  We on one hand tell them our reward is in Heaven, yet we share how we received this or that award for doing this or that.  Now I’m again, not wanting to be accused of being against awards.  I know on a personal level that I like to know that I’m doing a good job at something.  I don’t need an award though.  I know it because the Holy Spirit lets me know it.

Proverbs 29:18

 18 If people can’t see what God is doing,
   they stumble all over themselves;
But when they attend to what he reveals,
   they are most blessed.
I’ll give you an example from my own life.  My job isn’t anything at all like being “Top Chef”.  I’m not some culinary trained individual at all.  In fact pretty much all I’ve learned, I learned from my mom, reading books to know more, and from watching a lot of cooking shows.  Just like many a person, I was reading cook books like novels, long before Julie of Julia and Julie.  Yes, there are many of us.  Only we’ll never be well known, and we are all okay with that.  Our passion lied long before the movie in the accomplishment of doing this to make lives happy.  Yes, that is why I love cooking for a living.  Now I will also be the first to say about myself, I love baking, and I like cooking.  This however cannot be confused with the fact that I do love what I’m doing.  The reason I love it?  Because when a customer comes back to me and shares how they made a dish that we presented in Apron’s, and their family or guests, or co-workers loved it, and they shared the recipe, this brings me joy.  It is the “meaning” behind my job.  Now of course, as a retail associate my job is about selling.  However… =)  If you know me, I stink at selling anything that I don’t believe in.  No, really!!!  I’m not going to do a job I have to lie about.
So anyway… My job requires a lot out of me.  There are hoops to jump through and we are evaluated.  When it’s someone watching over my shoulder though, right there beside me, and I don’t feel it’s to guide me, but someone looking for me to screw up, what do you suppose I do?  Oh yes, I screw up.  Why?  Because what I’m doing is no longer being my natural self.  Instead of just letting go, and allowing myself to ignore being examined, I allow myself to be affected by my surroundings.  There is a lesson in this as well.  If I’m smart I can learn from it and not allow it to happen again.  I’m trusting my reliance on the Holy Spirit, that we won’t allow that to happen again.  It’s about me, being me and not allowing a human to intimidate me to be who I’m not.  We will each always have people who have that ungodly gift of intimidation come our way.  We’ve got to be fully awake to recognize the difference between *GOD* given gifts, and people having talents that are not gifts from *GOD*.  I was raised up with a finger-pointing mom who made *GOD* look like someone who was about to pounce on me.  I believe that’s why people who intimidate, sometimes do.  I’m the one who allows it in, yet I’m the one who needs to exercise my gifts from the Holy Spirit to be able to brush it off and walk in peace.
Now I’ve shared this on a small level.  Daily though, we each are bombarded  with people who want us to react.  They want to slip us up and have us show them we aren’t who we say we are.  Just watch some delegates.  Even those who are doing their best to put their best CHRISTian foot forward, are led into a trap.  It happens, it happens because we are human.  However… we’ve been given a Helper.
This is why:  Keep Yourself Awake!
We need to be fully aware of our surroundings.  We need to be keen on the choices we make, and the attitude of our heart.   We aren’t ever going to be picture perfect like Jesus.  We’ll do our best, and maybe some worst will slip in.  If only though, we’d stay awake to the traps that are set from satan out there.  If we’d all be just a little more keen to seeing how easy it is to walk into something, *GOD* never intended for us to partake in.
The Holy Spirit was given to us, not just to bring us the peace so often more talked up, but also to guide us.  This is why the Scripture above from Proverbs is in there.  It’s a Word of wisdom about allowing that guidance in, and living it outward.
Our peace comes when we are smack dab in the center of His will.  This is the peace that is afforded to us.  We won’t always hit the mark, but we should be aiming for it.
We learn lots of lessons from gardening.  This world is the garden in which we are planted.  We are either going to be a very weak seed and not have any, or little growth.  Or, we have the ability to choose to be a strong seed.  To be the person who multiplies where we’re planted.
If you belong to Pinterest you’ll see a lot of happy, warm and fuzzy quotes that come to close to using *GOD*’s Word to say something.  Apparently if it’s prettier it goes further.  Or if it’s the normal, warm and fuzzy verses that mankind can handle and grasp, those will go further on Facebook or Pinterest or Twitter as well.  Use the Word as written, quote it by The Book, all the verses, and most likely you will think you are planting a unhealthy garden.  No, this is not so.  What sprouts up from us being willing to show, tell and share the whole Truth is up to *GOD*.
Choose today who you will serve.  You will serve someone, maybe even end the day with a platter of yourself.  If you are a Bible Believing CHRISTian, that platter will never satisfy you. We’ve gained a bit of wisdom from Proverbs today, now go forth and prosper with some strength from Psalms.  See yourself as His sheep.  Pack up all the trappings you have in the world and turn it all over to The Shepherd. It’ll be as if that childhood poem, of Mary, Mary how does your garden grow, will turn into something like this:
____, ____ (your name) how does your garden grow?
You will hear in response from the Holy Spirit:

Psalm 77

 1 I yell out to my God, I yell with all my might, I yell at the top of my lungs. He listens.

 2-6 I found myself in trouble and went looking for my Lord;
      my life was an open wound that wouldn’t heal.
   When friends said, “Everything will turn out all right,”
      I didn’t believe a word they said.
   I remember God—and shake my head.
      I bow my head—then wring my hands.
   I’m awake all night—not a wink of sleep;
      I can’t even say what’s bothering me.
   I go over the days one by one,
      I ponder the years gone by.
   I strum my lute all through the night,
      wondering how to get my life together.

 7-10 Will the Lord walk off and leave us for good?
      Will he never smile again?
   Is his love worn threadbare?
      Has his salvation promise burned out?
   Has God forgotten his manners?
      Has he angrily stalked off and left us?
   “Just my luck,” I said. “The High God goes out of business
      just the moment I need him.”

 11-12 Once again I’ll go over what God has done,
      lay out on the table the ancient wonders;
   I’ll ponder all the things you’ve accomplished,
      and give a long, loving look at your acts.

 13-15 O God! Your way is holy!
      No god is great like God!
   You’re the God who makes things happen;
      you showed everyone what you can do—
   You pulled your people out of the worst kind of trouble,
      rescued the children of Jacob and Joseph.

 16-19 Ocean saw you in action, God,
      saw you and trembled with fear;
      Deep Ocean was scared to death.
   Clouds belched buckets of rain,
      Sky exploded with thunder,
      your arrows flashing this way and that.
   From Whirlwind came your thundering voice,
      Lightning exposed the world,
      Earth reeled and rocked.
   You strode right through Ocean,
      walked straight through roaring Ocean,
      but nobody saw you come or go.

 20 Hidden in the hands of Moses and Aaron,
   You led your people like a flock of sheep.

Until all have heard of, and know His Love,
Jeannie Bee
Leave a Reply

