Leave a comment

Give, don’t give up!

*GOD*day!

So I’m still at it, my little self doing chores, stopping to Pinterest and also stopping and allowing the Holy Spirit to inspire me.  I’m the sort of person that if I don’t write my idea down, or type, it’ll flutter away like the little hummingbird I’m accused often of being like.  This is why I’m learning to either make a note about something that flutters inside my head or quickly write.

“Write” now… Give, don’t give up!

I’m going to ask that you don’t pass judgment until you finish reading.  You see I get that certain denominations “think” they hold the corner of the market on going to Heaven, which by the by, irks me to no end.   Why, why does this irk me so?  Well let’s just start with the fact that it’s not Biblical.  Seriously, I get that someone Born Again is going to Heaven.  Why, because the Bible says so!!!

What I don’t get is a denomination that relates to itself, and in recent years has begun to mimic, let’s say, evangelical witness so as to bring in more people.  Okay, that last sentence was a cheap shot; I apologize.  I’m unsure why they do it, but I’m pretty sure it isn’t about saving people by Jesus’ grace because again, it all is hanging on the fact that you have to become a card carrying member of being _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _.  Yes, that is wrong.  It is because, once again, in order to make myself clear, and as not to confuse anyone with Bible Believing, Christ-centered CHRISTians, we don’t ask you to join a particular church or denomination to be saved.  We ask, as Jesus did, that you ask Him into your heart and life.

Why all this bothersome talk from me today?  I stumbled upon a site that had some devotions for just particular people.  It had ideas for particular denomination crafts and such.  This all for the start of what is referred to as Lent.

Really?  Really?? Really???

I’m just saying that maybe it would be more important to give up the idea that Jesus came to save a denominational group of people.  *GOD* sent His Son to save the world, not a worldly denomination.

So this season, before we begin to celebrate the very Jesus we Love, let’s set aside all the denominational hoop-la and show the world that Jesus came to save, not to self-serve a denomination, but save mankind.

Now I get that a lot of people will be giving up candy, or some other sort of world attachment to something they find difficult, but not impossible, to live without.  They’ll do this for so many days, and then in time, life goes back to the way it was.  I say how about changing yourself to be someone who digs into the Word, read your Bible every day and read the passages that show that *GOD* didn’t send His Son so that you could be saved by being, say… a _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _, or some other entitlement one might bestow upon themselves to show they “belong”.  The only title we need is Believer/CHRISTian!  I’m a Believer in Jesus Christ, and in the Word of *GOD*. 

Give him you, and allow *GOD* to know that His Son, Jesus Christ, came to save you, me, and anyone else willing to believe.  Don’t put some man made limit on a Savior for ALL!  By all means, give someone else the Word, as it was intended, for All.  Don’t water down this perfect LOVE, and make the Savior, something He is not.

My Story

I was raised in a denomination like this.  It limited me, it made me believe that I had to work my way for *GOD*‘s love.  You can imagine my surprise when I discovered that the work that Jesus did on the cross, was enough!  Can you imagine anyone saying it wasn’t?  Well, that’s exactly what many are saying.  Giving up something for a season will not draw you any closer to Jesus.  Well, unless what you are giving up is not pleasing to *GOD* in the first place.  Those the things we need to get rid of, but you and I don’t need a season to tell us that, we know, because if you have accepted Christ Jesus into your life, you are living with the Holy Spirit, as Jesus said you and I would, if we received Him.

So let me tell you about my first taste after no longer belonging to that denomination.

It was just after my husband died.  We had his service at a church we use to attend, and in fact had gotten married at, before we both became CHRISTians, in the sense of the Bible.  Now I’m not saying that people in this particular denomination are not saved, I’m just saying that you don’t need to be a member of this denomination to be saved and going to Heaven.  The two have nothing in common on the grounds of being saved.  Jesus is all you need!

As we had my husbands funeral service here, my, at the time mother-in-law told me I could not receive communion because I no longer a practicing person of this denomination.  Really?  Really?? Really???  Now I’m thinking, here we are having a service for my husband who was not either.  But again, he didn’t need to receive communion, he was with Jesus. 

So, what did I say, what did I do?  I said nothing, I did nothing.  As if that wasn’t enough, she asked for my two children to take up “the offering”.  Now both had accepted Jesus.  What did I say, what did I do?  I said nothing, I did nothing.

What I did do though, was receive communion with people who I believe some were Believers. Let’s not have these situations taking place any longer.  Let’s stop this nonsense and this discrimination, where a church Body uses Jesus, as someone who would limit anyone who didn’t belong to a specific denomination.  One Savior fits all.

This is why *GOD* sent His Son

This is why *GOD* sent His Son

Romans 13:9-10

“The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery,” “You shall not murder,” “You shall not steal,” “You shall not covet,” and whatever other command there may be, are summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Love does no harm to a neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.”
Covet: v. To desire eagerly to have something or someone belonging to another person.
How perfect is that for an example of what is wrong with a denomination claiming ownership to Jesus, as only being “their way” into Heaven.  Show me the Scripture that specifies that only _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ have access to gaining entrance into Heaven because *GOD* sent His Son, His Only Son, to die just for them.  Show me the Scriptures that prove this to be so.
Covetous:  adj. Desiring something that belongs to someone else.
It works both ways as well.  People who join a church just for their own personal gain, or for making contacts, etc.  This is also a distasteful thing in *GOD*’s mouth.

Ephesians 5:5

The Message (MSG)

 5You can be sure that using people or religion or things just for what you can get out of them—the usual variations on idolatry—will get you nowhere, and certainly nowhere near the Kingdom of Christ, the Kingdom of God.

It’s high time it all gets called out and we stop white-washing the Truth.   Think about how so many people pray to a saint or someone else, when Scripture says the only way to the Father, Father GOD, is through the Son.

John 14

The Road

1-4“Don’t let this throw you. You trust God, don’t you? Trust me. There is plenty of room for you in my Father’s home. If that weren’t so, would I have told you that I’m on my way to get a room ready for you? And if I’m on my way to get your room ready, I’ll come back and get you so you can live where I live. And you already know the road I’m taking.” 5Thomas said, “Master, we have no idea where you’re going. How do you expect us to know the road?”

 6-7Jesus said, “I am the Road, also the Truth, also the Life. No one gets to the Father apart from me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him. You’ve even seen him!”

8Philip said, “Master, show us the Father; then we’ll be content.”

9-10“You’ve been with me all this time, Philip, and you still don’t understand? To see me is to see the Father. So how can you ask, ‘Where is the Father?’ Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you aren’t mere words. I don’t just make them up on my own. The Father who resides in me crafts each word into a divine act.

11-14“Believe me: I am in my Father and my Father is in me. If you can’t believe that, believe what you see—these works. The person who trusts me will not only do what I’m doing but even greater things, because I, on my way to the Father, am giving you the same work to do that I’ve been doing. You can count on it. From now on, whatever you request along the lines of who I am and what I am doing, I’ll do it. That’s how the Father will be seen for who he is in the Son. I mean it. Whatever you request in this way, I’ll do.

The Spirit of Truth

15-17“If you love me, show it by doing what I’ve told you. I will talk to the Father, and he’ll provide you another Friend so that you will always have someone with you. This Friend is the Spirit of Truth. The godless world can’t take him in because it doesn’t have eyes to see him, doesn’t know what to look for. But you know him already because he has been staying with you, and will even be in you! 18-20“I will not leave you orphaned. I’m coming back. In just a little while the world will no longer see me, but you’re going to see me because I am alive and you’re about to come alive. At that moment you will know absolutely that I’m in my Father, and you’re in me, and I’m in you.

21“The person who knows my commandments and keeps them, that’s who loves me. And the person who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and make myself plain to him.”

22Judas (not Iscariot) said, “Master, why is it that you are about to make yourself plain to us but not to the world?”

23-24“Because a loveless world,” said Jesus, “is a sightless world. If anyone loves me, he will carefully keep my word and my Father will love him—we’ll move right into the neighborhood! Not loving me means not keeping my words. The message you are hearing isn’t mine. It’s the message of the Father who sent me.

25-27“I’m telling you these things while I’m still living with you. The Friend, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send at my request, will make everything plain to you. He will remind you of all the things I have told you. I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left—feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.

28“You’ve heard me tell you, ‘I’m going away, and I’m coming back.’ If you loved me, you would be glad that I’m on my way to the Father because the Father is the goal and purpose of my life.

29-31“I’ve told you this ahead of time, before it happens, so that when it does happen, the confirmation will deepen your belief in me. I’ll not be talking with you much more like this because the chief of this godless world is about to attack. But don’t worry—he has nothing on me, no claim on me. But so the world might know how thoroughly I love the Father, I am carrying out my Father’s instructions right down to the last detail.

“Get up. Let’s go. It’s time to leave here.”

The Issue

How can it be that a specific religion claims that it’s very own doctrine states that “Mary” is not to be worshiped but honored and revered, yet the practices of it’s churches all over clearly worship Mary, is this a church doing a good job teaching Scripture?  In fact if a denomination can ignore it’s own doctrine and practices what it says it doesn’t teach, shouldn’t this in itself be a red flag?

All I am saying, as someone who has been there, done that, and has researched this, it is best we as individuals know the basis behind the things we say we stand for and believe.  On Judgement Day it won’t be some Pope or some Priest who stands there on your behalf.  It will Jesus.  All the ritual you practiced over the years won’t get you into Heaven.
If the Bible is not the one source of authority, it’s time to examine what it is you believe.  Daily I talk to many who belong to a denomination and they will tell me something that they believe, and I’ll ask where that is in the Bible.  They don’t know, they just say that they hear this or that on Sunday, or doing lent, or at some point and time.  When I clearly show them that something is or isn’t in the Bible, they are amazed.  Why?  Because if you are claiming to believe something, and you find out it’s not so, but more of tradition, it’s a shock to the system.  It is at this crossroads one has to make a decision.
Got Questions:
The most crucial difference between some denominations  and “Bible Christians” is on the issue of salvation. Certain denominations view salvation almost entirely as a process, while Christians view salvation as both a completed status and a process.  Some see themselves as “being saved,” while Christians view themselves as “having been saved.” 1 Corinthians 1:2 tells us, “…to those sanctified in Christ Jesus and called to be holy…” The words “sanctified” and “holy” come from the same Greek root. This verse is declaring that Christians are both sanctified and called to be sanctified. The Bible presents salvation as a gift that is received the moment a person places faith in Jesus Christ as Savior (John 3:16). When a person receives Christ as Savior, he/she is justified (declared righteous – Romans 5:9), redeemed (rescued from slavery to sin – 1 Peter 1:18), reconciled (achieving peace with God – Romans 5:1), sanctified (set apart for God’s purposes – 1 Corinthians 6:11), and born again as a new creation (1 Peter 1:23; 2 Corinthians 5:17). Each of these are accomplished facts that are fully received at the moment of salvation. Christians are then called to live, practically (called to be holy), what is already true, positionally (sanctified).
Some denominations viewpoint is that salvation is received by faith, but then must be “maintained” by good works and participation in the Sacraments. Bible Christians do not deny the importance of good works or that Christ calls us to observe the ordinances in remembrance of Him and in obedience to Him. The difference is that Christians view these things as the result of salvation, not a requirement for salvation, or a means of maintaining salvation. Salvation is an accomplished work, purchased by the atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ (1 John 2:2). God offers us salvation and assurance of salvation because Jesus’ sacrifice was fully, completely, and perfectly sufficient. If we receive God’s precious gift of salvation, we can know that we are saved. 1 John 5:13 declares, “I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.”

We can know that we have eternal life and we can have assurance of our salvation because of the greatness of Christ’s sacrifice. Christ’s sacrifice does not need to be re-offered or re-presented. Hebrews 7:27 says, “He sacrificed for their sins once for all when He offered Himself.” Hebrews 10:10 declares, “…we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.” 1 Peter 3:18 exclaims, “For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God…” Christ’s once for all sacrifice was absolutely and perfectly sufficient. Jesus declared on the cross, “It is finished” (John 19:30). Jesus’ atoning sacrifice was the full payment for all of our sins (1 John 2:2). As a result, all of our sins are forgiven and we are promised eternal life in Heaven the moment we receive the gift God offers us – salvation through Jesus Christ (John 3:16).

If you are someone who belongs to this sort of denomination, as I once did, I don’t consider you a bad person, just someone, like I was at one time, misinformed 0n what the Bible says.  So I’m asking: Do you desire this “so great salvation” (Hebrews 2:6)?  Do you desire to know that if it was possible, and it is, you could be forgiven once and for all sins, now, would you want that?  If so, all you must do is receive it (John 1:12), through faith (Romans 5:1). God loves us and offers us salvation as a gift (John 3:16). If we receive His grace, by faith, we have salvation as our eternal possession (Ephesians 2:8-9). Once saved, nothing can separate us from His love (Romans 8:38-39). Nothing can remove us from His hand (John 10:28-29). If you desire this salvation, if you desire to have all your sins forgiven, if you desire to have assurance of salvation, if you desire direct access to the God who loves you – receive it and it is yours. This is the salvation that Jesus died to provide and that God offers as a gift.

If today is such a day you made a decision to accept Jesus Christ, I’d love to know.  Welcome to the family of God! Welcome, sister or brother, to the Christian life!  Welcome to being a part of a very big Family of GOD.

Skillet: How Deep The Father’s Love For Us

Until all have heard, and know personally His Love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

