Leave a comment

You Pick Two!

*GOD* day!

It’s you pick two day!

That kind of picking two, wow, that’s not so hard.  There are only two choices, so of course, if you desire, you pick both!  I know I will.

But life isn’t like Panera, or the picture above.  So often we have to make choices to choose “one”.  You can’t, after all, in the living breathing worlds scenario, have your cake and eat it too.  Well okay, sometimes you can.  In most cases though, it’s choose what-whom-when.

James 2:

 5-7Listen, dear friends. Isn’t it clear by now that God operates quite differently? He chose the world’s down-and-out as the kingdom’s first citizens, with full rights and privileges. This kingdom is promised to anyone who loves God. And here you are abusing these same citizens! Isn’t it the high and mighty who exploit you, who use the courts to rob you blind? Aren’t they the ones who scorn the new name—”Christian”—used in your baptisms?

8-11You do well when you complete the Royal Rule of the Scriptures: “Love others as you love yourself.” But if you play up to these so-called important people, you go against the Rule and stand convicted by it. You can’t pick and choose in these things, specializing in keeping one or two things in God’s law and ignoring others. The same God who said, “Don’t commit adultery,” also said, “Don’t murder.” If you don’t commit adultery but go ahead and murder, do you think your non-adultery will cancel out your murder? No, you’re a murderer, period.

We all grow up having to make choices, right?  My earliest memory of having to make a difficult choice came with friends.  You know, when it’s choosing which friend to stand by, and which one to leave.  For me, this was always hard, for my two best friends in the whole wide of the world, were sisters.  Yes, they were just a year and a couple months apart.  Can you imagine?

**************************************************************

You Pick Two

Maybe you’ve been in similar situations in life.  Maybe it’s now, as an adult.  You have friends, co-workers, family, and quite honestly you just love them all, want conflict resolved, but so often, as it is with people, they want you to choose people over the right thing.

Two Choices

One of the greatest trainings I’ve even taken was “How To Deal With Conflict Biblically”.  It was worth every cent spent.  It wasn’t easy, and as if the training wasn’t difficult enough, one of the women, a missionary woman, who was with her husband in the training, decided she didn’t quite like me.  No, true story.  She ended up being quite critical of me, and though, try as I might, to put into practice all that we were gaining in wisdom, she made it so, so hard.  I never quite get people like that.  I personally think it was because some of the other missionary women, and some of the women in the training liked me.  She was one of those quite, but I like all the attention on me women.  Me, well… quite frankly, I don’t know how to be anyone but me.  I guess she didn’t either, because when we finally got paired into a group setting and we were acting out a scenario, she pretty much became relentless, to the point that I took personal, and wow, talk about life depicting fiction, this it.  When we were finished I think everyone in the group knew she had laid into me a bit harshly.  Praise GOD the instructor called for a break before we went over all that we learned.   Me?  I, as I do, went out into the hall and called my husband.  He just said, as he often does, “come home”.  Nope, that quitting business is not for me.  I went before the Lord, prayed and asked for strength and wisdom.  Strength to go back into that room, and wisdom to keep my mouth shut.  Well whoever is reading… GOD answered.

We got back into the room and of course, she wasn’t through.  As we got our turn to share what unfolded during our scenario, she actually criticized me and said that she felt I internalized and took everything way to personal.  My eyes welled up.  I prayed for strength.  Two choices, one to lash out at her in this true to life moment of conflict, or two, choose to allow GOD to know the truth, and me, just to express what I “felt”.  I’m a very feelings girl.  Still, I’m not stupid and just because she felt she was right and she was judging me, I decided, what the heck, go for it, so I did.

I explained that what unfolded had a personal connection for me.  The scenario unfolding before us, was in fact something like I was facing in real life.  So, if what unfolded was seemingly personal to her, from me, it’s because it was.  It brought out some emotions, thoughts, feelings, etc.  And… in the scenario we did, I felt she was judging me in thinking I was a weakling, instead of seeing me as a person with feelings.  Everyone noted the differences, and of course we talked about how conflict is a huge part about understanding where each person is coming from.

Just Don’t Pick People To Pieces

Dealing with conflict is never easy.  We live in times where conflict is around us 24-7-365(366-2012).  Yippy-skippy, one extra day of conflict!  Or, as it should be, one extra day of choosing whom we serve, making choices that please GOD, and allowing ourselves the ability to be ourselves, along with the choice of allowing others to be who they are.

So often we think we have to change someone, when in truth, Biblically speaking, we are not in charge of changing people.  We are about bringing Truth-GOD‘s Word to the forefront, but we are planters and watering cans.  Only GOD can change a heart.

One of my favorite children’s books, just happens to be a book I absolutely love.  It is simple, pure poetic rhyme all about “ME”.  Well… you too! =)  It had nothing to do with Bible, but everything about choosing to be true to yourself.  Nothing to do with teaching children Scripture, but everything to do with helping children discover that each of us are the true Apple of His Eye, His oh so treasured possessions.

After teaching Bible I’d often read this book, as a reminder to the children just how special each of them were.  After a certain time, they’d ask to have it read, or ask me to read it to them privately outside, just me, and couple of the children, needing a reminder that you indeed are the only you, you are.

The Book:  Me I Am! by Jack Prelutsky

I highly recommend the book for every mom and dad to read to their children.  If you loved, “I’ll Love You Forever”, this too will become a beloved treasured book for which your children will be thankful to you for.  Always and forever, you will be giving them the ability to remember that there is nobody like them.  God doesn’t create cookie-cutter people, for we are each made in His image, and sprinkled upon each of us, we impart a bit of who we are, so that they can grow into whom GOD intends for them to be, the forever and always only Me they will ever BE!

Until all have heard of, and know His love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

