Leave a comment

Crayon Cakes

*GOD*day all!

I arose at about 4:15, and yes, in the AM.  My eyes were wide open, so about 4:33AM, I decided I was apparently not going back to sleep.  So I got up, made the coffee and got directly into my day.  I scooted out into this fine Florida, beautifully cooler temp weather, and went on my merry way.

Today is one of those days.  No silly, not “one of those”, but one of those days where it’s cool outside, about 56º, but the sun is amazingly bright, and well, it’s Florida, so it’s cool, bright and everything is still green.  It’s why winter in Florida, when the temps drop, it’s one of my absolute favorite, color-filled and beautiful times of the year.

Appropriately too, because we are doing a quite colorful recipe at work the next four days.  Another *GOD*incidental season in life.  A time when *GOD* is reminding those who will listen, look and experience, all the goodness He has for us, even if things are not all beautifully packed up like a bright new box of Crayola Crayons.  It’s how He gives you that extra -umph- and you see the glass half full, waiting always upon His filling you up to the brim.  It’s allowing all the *GOD*colors of your day to shine through.

My former assistant mgr. texted me the other day to say hello.  As we texted back and forth, and he’d asked how things were going; as he knows about our home being in foreclosure, I mentioned that it was all going to work out.  I said at one time my husband promised me the sun and moon, and by golly I think he’s going to deliver on it.  We will maybe, quite soon, have the sun and moon as our roof.  My manager said to me, “Jeannie you always take the positives :), you’re right, it will all work out.”  I have to tell you, I’m pretty transparent, and as nice as He was being, Mike (aka.former assistant mgr.) knows that even as nice as that statement is, and it does make me feel even more positive, it’s not always true.  He’s seen me on some of my more colorful-but not good colorful days.  Days when I’d allowed the worst of the day to get the best of me, scrunch it up, and throw it up on the ground in the face of *GOD*.  Now I’m not saying that I cussed, or that I blasphemed *GOD*, or anything like that.  Yet my behavior got colorful in a way that was not the bright hope of tomorrow colors.  It showed that I was more concerned with something or another here, that brought out the worst in me, coloring my world, or anyone near me, in scribbled out colors that were not a very good witness.

Yes, we all have those picky-pants, pout days.  We do, but we shouldn’t.  For sure if we are growing in the Word, and His Spirit is involved, they should be less, and less, and less… well, you get the point.  The point of His color is that we allow Him total access to color our world.  That means He’s going to allow someone into our world who’s gonna mess with our *GOD*colors.  He’s going to tell us, remind us, imprint it upon our hearts, to love them.  We don’t have to approve of their behavior, their dishonesty, what-ever it might be, but we can’t respond in kind.  We might even have to distance ourselves until those muscles are fit to handle that sort of love load.  The colors that will flow forth will be as if we’d received that ever new box of big beautiful 64 Crayola’s on the first day of school.  I don’t know if kids still get that excited about crayons, but honestly if for my birthday someone gave me a nice coloring book and a box of big old Crayola Crayons, I’d be thrilled.  I’m doodler too!  I’d just have so much fun getting lost in each stroke of color, as I colored within the lines.

Ya know what?  It’s just like that with *GOD*.  Each time we stay in the lines, allow the boundaries He’s made, the life-style He’s mapped out, in, we’re on the right path.  It’s funny how, especially CHRISTians, can critique a certain sin, all the while forgetting their very own dis-colorful petty sins.  They might not be the sins that get picketed, or banned from our groups, but they are sins all the same.  *GOD* got an eraser for all those colors we allow in our life that have absolutely no place.

*GOD*calling-*GOD*colors

Many people quote from Ecclesiastes  8:15.  The problem is they misquote, because in context the whole idea of eat, drink and be merry, well here, you read it:

 15 So, I’m all for just going ahead and having a good time—the best possible. The only earthly good men and women can look forward to is to eat and drink well and have a good time—compensation for the struggle for survival these few years God gives us on earth.

See here’s the thing, that’s not exactly the whole story, as Solomon was on a quest of sorts.  Very similar to many of us.  He was just wanting to know, to have more wisdom and how all this thing, called life, unfolded.  We all so often don’t get it, we want it, and sometimes we sum it up incorrectly, but we quote to people, like the above mentioned verse, and we are so wrong.

Read the rest of the chapter:

16-17 When I determined to load up on wisdom and examine everything taking place on earth, I realized that if you keep your eyes open day and night without even blinking, you’ll still never figure out the meaning of what God is doing on this earth. Search as hard as you like, you’re not going to make sense of it. No matter how smart you are, you won’t get to the bottom of it.

However, read a little further:

Ecclesiastes 9:

 7-10 Seize life! Eat bread with gusto,
   Drink wine with a robust heart.
   Oh yes—God takes pleasure in your pleasure!
   Dress festively every morning.
   Don’t skimp on colors and scarves.
   Relish life with the spouse you love
   Each and every day of your precarious life.
   Each day is God’s gift. It’s all you get in exchange
   For the hard work of staying alive.
   Make the most of each one!
   Whatever turns up, grab it and do it. And heartily!
   This is your last and only chance at it,
   For there’s neither work to do nor thoughts to think
   In the company of the dead, where you’re most certainly headed.

What’s even cooler is this might have all unfolded because at the beginning of chapter 8, here is what Solomon said in verse 1.

1 There’s nothing better than being wise, Knowing how to interpret the meaning of life.   Wisdom puts light in the eyes,  And gives gentleness to words and manners.

Why is it the world didn’t pick that one up?  Now maybe you are getting my point.  In this world people are picking, picking apart, and so very much coloring outside the lines.  Some people are picking the verses from Scripture to suit their coloring book of life, and the well, quite honestly if you go back and read Chapter 9, I think you pretty much can get the idea that Solomon, you know this very wise, wise guy.  Maybe the original wise guy, well, he knew pretty much of what he was talking about.  *GOD* knew we even needed to be still reading about his accounts today.  We however need to get the colors of *GOD*‘s Word aligned up with life, and stay in the lines for living it out.

All righty now, that’s all I have to say about all that… for now =)

In the meantime, I hope you read a little further on and enjoy the recipe below.  We are to eat, drink and be merry in-Christ Jesus.  That’s the colorful garment of He left us with so that we might do, as He did, glorify *GOD* the Father.

Maybe make these Crayon Cakes, grab a cup of coffee or tea, take your Bible in hand, and enjoy a cup of *GOD*‘s Word and allow Him to color your world, along with enjoying Crayon Cakes.  There’s nothing wrong either, with you doing this by yourself.  So often, especially for women, they have to be in some group to do a Bible Study.  Honey, take that Bible and allow *GOD* to speak privately with you.  Doesn’t every little girl love some one on one attention from her Daddy?  Well girlfriend, it’s time!  He’s been waiting for you, so make it and bake and enjoy!

Crayon Cakes, via Publix Apron’s Simple Meals

Cooking Spray

Prep:  Preheat oven to 375º.  Coat large muffin tin

2 large eggs, (or 1/2 cup egg substitute)

3/4 cup of water

3 tablespoons canola oil

1 – 17.4oz. box Cinnamon Swirl Quick Bread Mix

1/2 cup plain candy coated chocolate pieces

Whisk together in a large bowl: eggs, water, and oil.  Stir in both bread and spice mix packets until blended.

Divide batter equally.  It took 2 ice cream scoops for each muffin cup for me.  Place 1 tablespoon of chocolate pieces aka. M&M’s =), on each muffin and stir to distribute through batter, allowing some pieces to remain on the top.  Bake 20-25 minutes.  Remove to wire rack to cool.  Just before serving, drizzle with the icing that came in the box.  Serve!

Leave a Reply

