Leave a comment

Knock-knock! Who’s there?

*GOD*day!

I know, I keep coming here and sharing and I truly don’t know if anyone is even reading.  Blogs are a strange thing.  You do, in your little mind, now and again wonder though.  You wonder if anyone is reading, glancing, even gazing over to see if you, as a human being have something of worth to share.  I can only speak for me alone, and that moment in my mind only lasts a few minutes.  I don’t do my blog for anyone really but me.  Well, me and a lot of times, obedience to what the Lord is placing on my heart for the day to share.  That might sound something to you as if I’m living between a rock and crazy, but no, it’s not, it’s how I roll.  Which brings me to what I’m sharing about today.  See, I love how all the words just flow, like batter when it’s poured into the pan.  No matter what part of the pan you really start in, it all flows into place.

Knock-knock! Who’s there? Popped into my head as I was once again rethinking a phrase.  How often we think of those words as a line in a joke, but today I was being convicted by the Holy Spirit on more of a life lesson with it.  No, really!  I was completely convicted on how sometimes in my blog I can vent about a person and sort of well, “knock-knock” them.  Have you ever?  I mean really, have you ever knocked a person.  Critiqued them, criticized them and well, they aren’t present to get to defend themselves.  I’m convicted on that today.

So often I can get caught up in a cause and before I know it, I’m actually causing myself to stumble.  I stumble right into my big mouth opening wide and instead of keeping my feet inside my mouth, so I don’t share, out they come.  In the case of the blog, I guess it’s my fingers.  Maybe my fingers should shut down sometimes, like the black-out today.  Maybe they need a time out from my mind.  They should picket, protest, play keep away from the thoughts that sometimes come out.  I do mean it all for good, but truthfully if I end up bashing someone, how does that make me look?  Quite truthfully, because we are being transparent here, I look bad.  I look like I cannot hold my tongue, fingers, what have you in control.  And you know what?  I can’t!  However, and as I said before I’m the queen of “However”, I have the constant usage to prove it =)  So, however:  I cannot have self-control without some help.  So help came, and it’s convicted me.

The quote that actually popped into my head was not from the Bible either.  I know, me? Right?  How about that?  Nope, today the quote came from no other than that of Julia Child.  Yes, Julia.  She once said, “It’s so beautifully arranged on a plate—you know someones fingers have been all over it.”  That got me thinking about all of us who blog, type, write for a living, share with others our viewpoints.  We have a choice to beautifully arrange words in such a way, be it about a person, place, or thing, or we can arrange words in somewhat of a dehumanizing way, which makes truly both the writer and that being penned/typed, look quite well frankly, ugly.  And we all know ugly is never pretty, it’s just ugly.

So today being convicted by the Holy Spirit I want to make a fresh new start in sharing.  Oh yes, I’m still going to write the way the Lord leads, but I’m going to be careful about picking anyone in particular to pieces.  It’s not for this woman.  If I’m going to pick something to pieces it’s only going to be food. =)  In that we all can enjoy.

I’ll join GOD in His passions

I’ll make sure though that my reciprocity will be good for good, and when someone does something evil, or that goes against the grain of GOD-good, I will speak of it, without bashing the person.  I’ll leave the outcome, as we all must, in GOD‘s Hands, and His timing.

You didn’t really think I was just going to quote Julia Child did you?  Wow, if you thought that, you sure haven’t been reading around here lately.  Most assuredly you don’t know me in my non-cyber life.

Proverbs 6:16
[ Seven Things God Hates ] Here are six things God hates, and one more that he loathes with a passion: eyes that are arrogant, a tongue that lies, hands that murder the innocent, a heart that hatches evil plots, feet that race down a wicked track, a mouth that lies under oath, a troublemaker in the family.

***********************************************************

Julia Child also said, “Find something you’re passionate about and keep tremendously interested in it.”  I’m not sure I’m an eloquent and good writer, but I can most certainly say I’m passionate when it comes to things I believe in or do.  In fact I’m one of those people who gets passionate period!  If it’s sadness, I’m patiently sad.  If it’s happy, I’m passionately happy.  If it’s anger, well I better be passionate to know that anger is a passion that gets checked at the door of self-control.  Anger has no place in the kitchen of life.  It always flairs into a tongue on fire.  I will however (see) say that I will be passionate and try my best to sting know one.

One thing Julia is misquoted on is a statement she said.  People tend to leave the former part of it out, and they only quote her as saying, “Never apologize.”  This is not what Julia said, what she said was, “No matter what happens in the kitchen, never apologize.”  There’s a huge difference!  It’s another way, the use of words, or missed words gets us all into trouble, and also misrepresents another human being.

1 John 3:  The Message (MSG)

18-20My dear children, let’s not just talk about love; let’s practice real love. This is the only way we’ll know we’re living truly, living in God’s reality. It’s also the way to shut down debilitating self-criticism, even when there is something to it. For God is greater than our worried hearts and knows more about us than we do ourselves.

****************************************************************

Just as a tree is known by it’s fruit, so are we by our words.  We say things like actions speak louder than words, and it’s true, but words can evolve into some action being taken on the part of others.  So quite truthfully we all just need to come to a place where our words, and our actions, are kept in check.

Mark 12:29
Jesus said, “The first in importance is, ‘Listen, Israel: The Lord your God is one; so love the Lord God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence and energy.’ And here is the second: ‘Love others as well as you love yourself.’ There is no other commandment that ranks with these.”

*****************************************************************

And so I will.  I’m listening GOD!  I’m also loving.

Until all have heard and know of His love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

