Leave a comment

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cupcakes

*GOD*morning!

Or so it is here in my world.  I guess my little inner, silly cupcake self was so internally excited about making these and bringing them to work today, that I awoke earlier than my usual 5:30-6-ish self, because I woke up at 4:15am and could not go back to sleep.  Yeah, I know right?  I had no plans on actually getting up quite that early to attend to the task of only still needing to decorate these sweet creations, but wowza, there I was bright eyed and ready to detail those cupcakes.

My other motivator was in loving cinnamon, and who doesn’t like breakfast cereal?  If you don’t, my ♥ feels for you.  Cereal is another one of those comfort foods.  I’m sure the industry knew this and deep down for some unknown reason, cereal in those smaller boxes even tastes better as a snack.  Or as…

*Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cupcakes*

1 Box Krusteaz Cinnamon Crumb Cake and Muffin Mix

1 Box Duncan Hines French Vanilla Cake Mix

4 eggs

2 cups of water

1/3 cup canola oil

NOTE: *More water if the batter is slightly to thick–you want the consistency to be more cake batter like, then that of muffin batter.  Add no more than a tablespoon at a time though.*

Preheat oven to 350º.

Prepare muffin tins by placing 36 liners in pans; set aside.

Open Krusteaz package, set aside cinnamon crumb package.  Add Krusteaz cake mix pouch into bowl, along with the remaining listed ingredients.  Mix together until thoroughly blended.  Stir in 1/2 of the cinnamon crumb packet.

Using an ice cream scoop fill each liner with batter.

Bake 20 minutes.  Cool completely before icing.

Icing:

Using a blender or food processor, crumb two cups of Cinnamon Crunch Cereal.  Mix into that the remaining cinnamon crumb packet.  Set aside.

I used a basic buttercream icing I made with powdered sugar, a stick of butter, and… for my little extra flavor, I used white chocolate coffee syrup along with 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract.

Ice cupcakes as desired.  Top roll cupcakes in Cinnamon Crunch Cereal mixture.  Top each with a whole piece of Cinnamon Crunch Cereal.  I also used little cinnamon candies just to say to everyone who was trying, this is indeed a cinnamon cupcake.

Happy Baking,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

