Leave a comment

5′ Tall Is Not Small

un·der·es·ti·mate/ˌəndərˈestəˌmāt/

Verb:
Estimate (something) to be smaller or less important than it actually is.
Noun:
An estimate that is too low.
Synonyms:
verb.  undervalue – underrate – disparage – misjudge
noun.  underestimation

Psalm 27

A David Psalm

1 Light, space, zest— that’s God!
So, with him on my side I’m fearless,
afraid of no one and nothing.

2 When vandal hordes ride down
ready to eat me alive,
Those bullies and toughs
fall flat on their faces.

3 When besieged,
I’m calm as a baby.
When all hell breaks loose,
I’m collected and cool.

4 I’m asking God for one thing,
only one thing:
To live with him in his house
my whole life long.
I’ll contemplate his beauty;
I’ll study at his feet.

5 That’s the only quiet, secure place
in a noisy world,
The perfect getaway,
far from the buzz of traffic.

6 God holds me head and shoulders
above all who try to pull me down.
I’m headed for his place to offer anthems
that will raise the roof!
Already I’m singing God-songs;
I’m making music to God.

7-9 Listen, God, I’m calling at the top of my lungs:
“Be good to me! Answer me!”
When my heart whispered, “Seek God,”
my whole being replied,
“I’m seeking him!”
Don’t hide from me now!

9-10 You’ve always been right there for me;
don’t turn your back on me now.
Don’t throw me out, don’t abandon me;
you’ve always kept the door open.
My father and mother walked out and left me,
but God took me in.

11-12 Point me down your highway, God;
direct me along a well-lighted street;
show my enemies whose side you’re on.
Don’t throw me to the dogs,
those liars who are out to get me,
filling the air with their threats.

13-14 I’m sure now I’ll see God’s goodness
in the exuberant earth.
Stay with God!
Take heart. Don’t quit.
I’ll say it again:
Stay with God.

*********************************************

*GOD*day!

This morning as I was reading this bit of Scripture I started thinking a bit about how we often forfeit, often forget that we are also, not just suppose to be in prayer before GOD, but also we are suppose to lean in and listen.

A lot of people, well-meaning CHRISTian people, say they listen to GOD.  Yet if you ask them how is He speaking to them, or where in Scripture has He led them as of late, seldom is there any response.  Oh yes, they might tell you about their latest Bible study at church, the latest Sunday sermon preached from the pulpit to the masses, but nothing, nary a word, about where or how GOD leads them in their private study, prayer time.

Two things make for a great prayer warrior.  They are someone who listens, and someone who prays.  They are people who take prayer quite seriously.  If they say they will be praying, you can count on the fact that they will indeed be doing so.  You can also count on the fact, that if they are a solid, Biblical CHRISTian, they are going to be praying as Jesus taught, which is that a prayer warrior knows, above all else, that it’s not our will, our thinking we know our greatest need to be met, but the Father does.  A solid, faith-filled, focused warrior in prayer knows that what the petitioner wants you to pray for, just might not be in their best interest.  Yet often, if we solid Biblical prayer warriors dare to say to someone in turmoil, “I’ll be praying for GOD’s will, we can get many a good person quite upset.  Why is that?  It’s because we don’t always want to think about what someone else believes is in our best interest, we want what we know we want.

We all need to know that with this Living Eternal GOD, comes the fact that we have to trust, and rest, in all the unknowns, to His knowing the future.  It means that though we often might weary men and women around us, we should never weary GOD.  Yet, we so often do, not intentionally, but we do.  Can you even imagine how weary worn He gets when we aren’t good listeners.  When by, disobedience, doing what is best, and His will, even if it makes us uncomfortable, we are to be above all obedient unto that will.

Not sure what I’m saying yet?  Well read this passage of Scripture and see just how easy it is for man to weary GOD, and decide that even in our thinking we are doing that “right thing”, we are actually not taking a stand for, or with GOD at all.

Isaiah 7:

10-11God spoke again to Ahaz. This time he said, “Ask for a sign from your God. Ask anything. Be extravagant. Ask for the moon!”

12But Ahaz said, “I’d never do that. I’d never make demands like that on God!”

13-17So Isaiah told him, “Then listen to this, government of David! It’s bad enough that you make people tired with your pious, timid hypocrisies, but now you’re making God tired. So the Master is going to give you a sign anyway. Watch for this: A girl who is presently a virgin will get pregnant. She’ll bear a son and name him Immanuel (God-With-Us). By the time the child is twelve years old, able to make moral decisions, the threat of war will be over. Relax, those two kings that have you so worried will be out of the picture. But also be warned: God will bring on you and your people and your government a judgment worse than anything since the time the kingdom split, when Ephraim left Judah. The king of Assyria is coming!”

18-19That’s when God will whistle for the flies at the headwaters of Egypt’s Nile, and whistle for the bees in the land of Assyria. They’ll come and infest every nook and cranny of this country. There’ll be no getting away from them.

20And that’s when the Master will take the razor rented from across the Euphrates—the king of Assyria no less!—and shave the hair off your heads and genitals, leaving you shamed, exposed, and denuded. He’ll shave off your beards while he’s at it.

21-22It will be a time when survivors will count themselves lucky to have a cow and a couple of sheep. At least they’ll have plenty of milk! Whoever’s left in the land will learn to make do with the simplest foods—curds, whey, and honey.

23-25But that’s not the end of it. This country that used to be covered with fine vineyards—thousands of them, worth millions!—will revert to a weed patch. Weeds and thornbushes everywhere! Good for nothing except, perhaps, hunting rabbits. Cattle and sheep will forage as best they can in the fields of weeds—but there won’t be a trace of all those fertile and well-tended gardens and fields.

******************************************************************

A Fractured World Still Cries Out

Even now, after all the things we’ve gone through as a nation, we still aren’t focusing on the main thing.  We’ve seen towers fall, and man for a moment become changed for what?  A few weeks.  We slowly, but ever so surely crept right back into the “me-me” society.  It’s a sad thing that we haven’t learned so much over the ages, with all that we’ve faced as a nation, as a world.

What do I mean:

  • Foreign philosophies have permeated our thinking and our very culture.
  • Self-centeredness has boomeranged and even entered the church body.
  • We’ve become a nation of technology, and are so mesmerized by the latest gadgets and gizmos, we portray ourselves as advanced, but we are less people-to-people oriented then every before.

Scripture is clear on how it will be for those who don’t follow GOD’s precepts.  For those that do, we can be assured that if this people group can fall back on it’s roots of being a nation that was “under GOD” as in following His Word, we will be absolved and blessed again.  Will that happen?  I have no idea, but I do know that it begins with me, and it must happen at the pulpit of the churches that claim to be Bible believing.  Restoration begins with each us.  It’s so very much time to take a stand that doesn’t have you worrying about how anyone else see’s you.  Don’t worry if what you are saying isn’t good enough, even for the person next to you in the pew.  It’s time you stopped following a leader that isn’t following a leader, but possibly a paycheck, a settled in group of people who have been planted into the pew since it’s birth.  That is not how it’s all suppose to be.  The Bible does not say seek man, it says seek GOD first.

5′ isn’t small after all…

Scripture describes the giant that David came up against as being approximately 9′ tall.  That’s tall by any standard for a human being.  So no matter how tall David was, the giant was taller.

I’m only 5′ tall and yet I don’t see myself that way; only on the days I take my eyes off of what GOD desires for me to do.  And yes, it does happen.  It happens to the best and worst of us.  The thing is to exercise that spiritual muscle to reflex more and more against doing that.  That takes even the smallest person, man, woman, or child, to being not only praying, but listening and following their leader.

Scripture goes on in Psalm 112 to say that a man who trust GOD, and is committed to His will and purposes, is a man rich.  A person who even among poverty, believes themselves wealthy.

I have to tell you all that as someone who is about to become homeless, I feel this way.  It is the reason I can still go on and do what I need to do daily, knowing so very well that all that is here is temporal any way.  What counts in my existence is not the money in the bank, the car that I drive, the house that I live in, the paycheck I get.  Sure, that is all good, but if I count that as my gain in life, what a pathetic thing I am before GOD.

We’ve got to decide now what course we are going to steer ourselves on.  We’ve got to decide is truly the GOD who fills our worship songs that we are really and truly going to stand upon.

Our nation is being plummeted with many failures and breakdown.  Yet, if you go on and read Psalm 113, we are so reminded, when we listen to GOD, that out of the ashes of our failures, it is GOD and GOD along who can bring meaning and purpose.

Remember, it is GOD, not man, who will exalt the humble and poor.  Something to listen to, something to read, something to get ready for.  It is He who honors and uplifts the weak.  It is He who strengthens those who are making themselves a vessel ready to be used for His plans and purposes.

So I ask you

How tall are you, when you stand up to GOD’s Word as your measuring stick?  As I heard a Carol King song at work the other day, being the quirky person people think I am, but GOD knows I’m not, I was thinking about: “Where you lead, I will follow.”  The question GOD is asking is: If you sang that song to Him, and He was asking:  “If I lead, will you follow?”  What do your actions show to be your answer.  I didn’t say, what would your answer be?  I said, what do your actions show as your answer?

Until all have heard and know of His love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

