Leave a comment

Pumpkin Bread French Toast

Why not?

Why not?  That’s what my husband said when I said I wanted to try making some banana bread French Toast.  However when I went to make the banana bread, yep, the banana’s had been eaten.  Everyone loves a good ripe banana, but those ones that you need for banana bread are the ones that have ripened to that perfect stage of ripeness that falls between just ripe and throw me in the garbage, please!!!  Any who—the banana idea went south.  This however was not going to stop me in the endeavor to give this idea a try.

Think me kitchen crazy, but I had two boxes of Krusteaz Blueberry Muffin Mix in the cabinet that had the blueberry filling missing.  I’d used the cans of blueberry in my Blueberry Donuts.  It all has a way of working out, this kitchen science thing =)  I took the two boxes, added some Jell-o Pumpkin Pudding Mix, which by the way is a seasonal thing, so if you want it, get it now in your local grocer, because it won’t be back until next year.  Or, be normal and just make your own pumpkin bread; but what fun is there in that? LOL

You do what you want.  You can use pumpkin bread, gingerbread, banana bread, blueberry, cranberry orange, the possibilities are endless.

The point is have some fun creating something good.  Not that it’ll make you a rock star, or the next Food Network Star, or Top Chef, it won’t.  It might not even be as great as a friends newest creation from her kitchen, but none of that matters.  What matters is the excitement you will have in discovering that creating something you’ve not done, is what matters on the platter of your life.  You don’t have to keep showing off, showing someone you’ve done something they’ve done, so you can do it better.  You don’t have to prove anything to anyone.  You just have to do it because it is all about the joy of cooking.  Something that seems to have slipped through the cracks of the kitchens across the world.  Some how it has started to become who can post the prettiest pictures, the first to share a recipe.  Instead of enjoying each others kitchens we’ve turned it all into some sort of competition.  That makes me sad.  Winning a prize for cooking is great.  I know this because I’ve won money with Taste of Home, Better Homes and Gardens, which I’ve now been included in two of their magazines.  Top that with,  this year I was one of Duncan Hines Most Valuable Bakers.  Honors, yes!  Something to my claim to fame?  No!  Yes, because I have so little, they mean a lot to me.  Make me sort of feel as if I have some value.  How pathetic is that?  Which I think is why it hurts when someone comes along beside you then, trying to top what you did in their own way.  Instead of enjoying and joyfully feeling good for you, in your little baking world, they compete.  They take away from you, or try, the joy you received in this very small success in your life.

That is why it hurts when someone always tells you how they’ve been there, done that.  What has happened to us?  Why oh why do we do this to people.  It’s why when you go and help the homeless, or do something for someone and you shout out all about it on Facebook, Twitter, your neighborhood times, what have you, you’ve just now reduced those you’ve helped to some trophy on your wall.

So?  Why Not?  Why not stop and just find pure joy in doing something nice, baking up something good, making a masterpiece that has your signature on it, and it is as Martha Stewart would say, “A good thing.”

Happy Day Bee-ing you,

Jeannie Bee

Pumpkin Bread French Toast

1 loaf Pumpkin Bread

eggs

milk

butter

canola oil

Powdered Sugar

Maple Syrup

Prepare milk and egg mixture like you would for any French Toast you’d make.  I use equal amounts of canola oil and butter in the pan.  Trust me it works nicely as your butter won’t burn, and if you use just oil, you don’t get that rich flavor that you do when you use a little butter.

Leave a Reply

