Leave a comment

In It To Win It or Done It and Won It?

In It To Win It or Done It and Won It?

by Jeannie Majka-Sherwood

We in the Body of Christ are  not to judge.  Coming from me, the queen of disliking to take tests, I know as a Believer I can’t judge, but “testing” that is a requirement of how we know people who are they say they are.

There is so much garbage on television, no wait, if television is just depicting real life, then there is so much garbage in life.  Yes, that’s it.  What is going on around us is just being portrayed on television, shows up on Facebook, plays out in the media, twitter, text, etc.  All the garbage in the world just keeps spewing out and into our minds, and takes a place in our head and hearts; if we aren’t careful.

The other day at work someone said some initials to me.  I walked away with another associate and shared that I had no idea what those initials meant, and she said she didn’t either.  I said, I hope they mean something nice, but usually when people have to reduce something to initials these days, it’s usually because it’s something you won’t, or can’t in the immediate moment share with the general public listening ear.  A while later I passed by this person and said I had no idea what those initials meant (my mistake) he shared.  What I heard was me stepping into something I didn’t need to know.  Quite honestly I could have gone on not knowing, because it’s not my style.  When I mentioned I could have lived without knowing or that I hadn’t ever heard that, I was told by this person that I was pretty much who the statement was about, because if I couldn’t remember, it was probably because… well, I can’t share that here, nor do I want to.   Some of you think it’s just hollywood, the fact is it’s not, it’s us living in a world that has left the Holy Word behind for the sake of what?  Some initial standing?

I could have gotten upset at his words towards me, could have taken the bait and bantered my little self silly over how rude, crude, and insensitive he was.  But really, why?  Why would I, why would you?  I’m sure he thought he had the last word, as I said nothing except that what he said wasn’t nice.  He just chuckled.  This is our world people, television is just living it out loud.  The media is just picking up on the state of the people in it.  The question now is, are you in this world to win it, or are you in it, to win that which you are suppose to do and know you’ve won it?

“In It To Win It”

Mark 8:

The Message (MSG)

 34-37Calling the crowd to join his disciples, he said, “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat; I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to saving yourself, your true self. What good would it do to get everything you want and lose you, the real you? What could you ever trade your soul for?

*******************************************************************

What is the point in accepting this life in-Christ if who and what you are going to be, or fill yourself up with is all the winnings of the world?  As I was even typing this, my husband had the news on and what do they begin to talk about?  Kim K.  Yes, and what is being shared is will she keep the prize ring, which in her prenup, it was agreed that if they split she’d pay 20 million for the ring if she wanted to keep it.  “In It To Win It”?  This was her seventy-two hour in it and these are her prizes.

Done It and Won It

2 Corinthians 13

1-4Well, this is my third visit coming up. Remember the Scripture that says, “A matter becomes clear after two or three witnesses give evidence”? On my second visit I warned that bunch that keeps sinning over and over in the same old ways that when I came back I wouldn’t go easy on them. Now, preparing for the third, I’m saying it again from a distance. If you haven’t changed your ways by the time I get there, look out. You who have been demanding proof that Christ speaks through me will get more than you bargained for. You’ll get the full force of Christ, don’t think you won’t. He was sheer weakness and humiliation when he was killed on the cross, but oh, he’s alive now—in the mighty power of God! We weren’t much to look at, either, when we were humiliated among you, but when we deal with you this next time, we’ll be alive in Christ, strengthened by God. 5-9Test yourselves to make sure you are solid in the faith. Don’t drift along taking everything for granted. Give yourselves regular checkups. You need firsthand evidence, not mere hearsay, that Jesus Christ is in you. Test it out. If you fail the test, do something about it. I hope the test won’t show that we have failed. But if it comes to that, we’d rather the test showed our failure than yours. We’re rooting for the truth to win out in you. We couldn’t possibly do otherwise.

We don’t just put up with our limitations; we celebrate them, and then go on to celebrate every strength, every triumph of the truth in you. We pray hard that it will all come together in your lives.

*******************************************************************

I might not have the credentials to teach the class, or hold the seminar but I’ve got something better.  I’ve got that fire inside me and I’m not afraid to set my world on fire for Christ.  I don’t need to attend another seminar, or go to another raising of the roof.  I don’t need to meet and greet and get filled up with a warm and fuzzy moment in time.  My warmth is the fire inside that will keep me going strong until I’m carried Home.

How about you?  Are you looking to gain the whole world and forfeit your soul for the sake of the applause, fitting in, knowing the lingo and being such a home boy or girl you are just to cool for Jesus and the Word of GOD?

OR

Have you accepted the fact that you’ve won God’s approval and now you are in it all to win it all for Him?  This is the life of a Believer, of those of us living in the Body.  We don’t need another program, another agenda, another thing to do on the mans to do list.  At some point, in some moment in the Body of Christ we are going to realize that we keep trying to win people with the ways of man, when all GOD said we were to do was to be as a child, that the Gospel of Christ was for those who had ears to hear, and that we are called not His adults, but His children.  Children need it simple, plain and clear.  This is why when I taught Bible at Northside CHRISTian school, and adults heard me, they said they never heard anyone teach the way I taught, and one principle, who ended up being key in my being let go, said, as she cried, and then later wrote me a note I have to this day, “Jeannie, I never heard anyone make the Word of GOD so understandable.”  All I can say is that I didn’t walk into the classroom to teach with any plan on my mind or heart except that of to lead a child to Christ.  My plan was to allow Him to work within me so that His Word became clear to the little ears about to hear it.  Thank You GOD for always moving me out of the way.  One day that very principal moved me out of the way, but that didn’t stop the fire inside me.  I’ve still got it, I still see those special blessings and I still in fact still get to pray for them.  I even as a Believer get to pray for the one who took me away from the best job I ever had in my entire life.  Breathing the Word of GOD into little blessings.  Yes, that was the best job ever.  Now I cook for a living, which is only second best, but never ever have I had to stop working for Jesus.  That is the reward of knowing that I don’t have to gain the world, and lose my soul.

I love the song by Toby Mac, Lose My Soul.  Give it a listen and afterwards allow the Lord to examine your heart.  Let’s forget how we are examining all the media hype on each of these individuals or idols on television or twitter.  It’s best we take a look at our own lives and see if it’s the whole world around us where we are living we are looking to gain.  Let’s take a look and examine and ask the Lord to take away anything that is not putting all eyes on Jesus.

Toby Mac: Lose My Soul

Until the whole world knows of His love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

