Leave a comment

The secular world calls it “A Hell of a Day”

The Secular World Calls It “A Hell of a Day”

GOD however would say it is the issue of reason and reasoning.

GOD’s G.P.S. shows you are now at the intersection of:

Some of us grew up in a hell of a childhood.  How far have we really come though?   I’d like to think far, but I’m not so sure.  One thing I do know is that each day I’m praying for wisdom to make choices that take me further on the right road with Him, instead of pridefully making choices that leave me lonely, disgusted with my choices and maybe even looking a bit like some glow worm, but really feeling more like Richard Scarry’s Lowly Worm, and I’m an arrow in God’s bow, and desiring to be shot where He wants, not the world.

My “not holding back” Jeannie sermonette

It’s the shot glass or shot from His bow.  You can’t have it both ways in life.

The other day someone said to me, “Jeannie don’t hold back, tell us how you really feel.”  So I’m going to keep on doing just that.  If you don’t like it, don’t read.  It is after all a free world.  So on your “hell of a day” if you choose to drink or drug yourself, remember that what hell there is to pay later, you  paid for that.  You could however choose no hell to pay.  And if any hell does break forth, it’ll not be a drink you need, but some spirit that comes from the Spirit of GOD.

Drink, drank, drunk!

I’m old enough to remember the days when cigarette commercials were on television, in ads, and posted everywhere.  You could even find a cigarette machine in the hospital*gasp*.  In fact I’m old enough to remember when even as a young girl I could go into a store, or a tavern and as long as I had a note from my mom, dad, or some adult, they’d sell me cigarettes.  I can even remember sitting in a bar as young girl, because that is where my dad was, and I wanted to be where he was.  So, I’d prop my little self *yes, I was even little then* onto the bar stool and while my dad would get drunk I’d throw back a few Pepsi’s and few pretzel rods.  The more dad drank, the more I attained.  I could even get him to buy a friend who’d tag along a Pepsi and pretzel rod.   I grew up this way.  Ah the freedom of having alcoholic parents, and then some siblings as well thrown in.  Ah the freedom to be able to begin to drink at a young age and have your parents be no the wiser, or quite possibly knowing, but choosing to live where ignorance is bliss.  By ignorance I mean “ignoring”, for my parents where not ignorant by any stretch of the means.  They were pretty much good folks.  They did good deeds, went to church every Sunday, we had pictures of Jesus and saints all over the house.  We had statues with candles so if we sinned we could pray away all that sin and life would be well, a little less of a hell of a day of living.

I grew up this way and as I said I started to drink at an early age.  At first I think we all tried drinking because our parents did.  After all, we learn by example for the most part.  After that it became a way to numb away the painful things that happened in my life.  A lot painful memories of abuse, neglect, loss of loved ones.  I think that my personal bookends were abuse and loss though.  The rest was just the jelly side down of living life sandwiched in between it all.

Memories of drinking are some vivid, and of course, if you’ve ever gotten drunk, the horror of not remembering.  Some of your friends might think it’s funny, you might think it funny at the time, but truthfully it’s a whole of volunteering to do some frontal lobe numbing down.  Drinking does that.  In case nobody’s ever bothered to tell you before they offer you a drink, know this:  Your frontal lobe is where your center of reasoning is, now consider this, that each time you drink, you do some damage to your frontal lobe, not to mention to your liver.  How about the fact that often the same people who will walk and talk about how bad sugar is, are people who will swigger a jigger or two, or more shots.  How about those same people who are offering you a drink, or encouraging you to drink, are frontal lobe damaged themselves, and now you are allowing them to make decisions for you.  Woot-woot!  Sounds like a hell of a way to live to me.  But heck, I’ve only been there, done that, so why in the heck would anyone want to listen to me.

I’m sharing all that wee bit of wisdom because I’m just about fed up with the drunkening down of CHRISTians.  I’m sad that we’ve come a long way baby, and yet what we’ve done is watered down the Biblical filling of the Holy Spirit with the filtering in of a feel good numbing down of alcohol. That’s not all either.  We just keep steeping into territory of the secular world and pastors at the pulpit who have a paycheck at stake are not going to come right out and say something like this, lest they offend.

Now, mind you most of these pastors may have, or may not have ever been living in the world of drinking, or smoking pot, or who knows what, so they just speak from a paycheck perspective.  Some of them will say how they feel and to those who take a stand and don’t waiver, leaving it up to the attender to figure what is best for them by GOD, good for you.

Wonder what would happen if the paycheck was removed, and they just did a “secular” job for a living, and they preached from the pulpit of life for Christ for free. Sort of like the every day person like myself does.  It’s always amazing to me to see how many people will pay money to go hear someone who makes money sharing the Word, but listen to someone who shares the Word who doesn’t make a dime at it, not so much.

You don’t have to have a degree to share the Gospel, but you are paid to do so, you better not be watering it down and suiting yourself up with some loyal friends and followers of your own choosing.  Picking and choosing, choosing and picking, instead of standing firm on the ground walked before you by Jesus.  You better be thinking twice before you are not nice, and you decide that your twelve followers put you into a position of being followed, instead having Jesus as the leader of your pack, and the twelve, and you, following Him and Him alone.  I’m just say’n.   Now I’m not knocking working for a living.  Or working for GOD.  I’m just saying that sometimes things get skewed and we all sort of like the Elvis song Suspicious, get “caught in a trap.”  And maybe you think you can’t walk out because you love someone, or some sort of traditions.  God is saying, “Why can’t you see what your doing to Me, when you don’t believe a Word I’m saying.  We can’t go on together, with suspicious minds.”

Today go for the GOD-not the golden ticket of feeling good for some temporary amount of time.  Or even holding on to some unnecessary guilt that might even lead you to thinking that drinking is something good for the mind.  It is neither good for the lobe, or globe of life.  Try some fruit of the Spirit for a change.  Something that is good for wisdom and strength and living life in a more GOD-incidental way.

Want some GOD advice?  I’m not holding back still…

When I first accepted Christ as my Savior I was ready, aimed and fired up.  There was little I believed that I could not do.  No, I didn’t think I was super-human or super woman.  I did however believe from the instant I got saved, the Words of the Bible that I read, and God’s Word was indeed going to be a lamp guiding my steps, and light to help me go along the way dispelling darkness.  Now I’d be a big old liar if I said I always make wise choices, I do not.  I say that sadly, because I know that I don’t have to learn that way.  GOD’s got ways and means that help us avoid such pitfalls, but sometimes we are as a friend put it, goats.  We are ready to chew up and swallow any old thing that fancy’s us being eating, drinking and being happy.  That’s not the GOD plan though.

When I got saved I was so very blessed by GOD to have women about me who knew the Lord… lots of women.  Women who had a purpose, long before Rick Warren had some multimillion dollar book deal.  These women by the way, they worked with me.  They’d been watching me live like hell all the days they’d now known me.  I’d been searching, searching for something of purpose in my life, something of more meaning than that which I’d yet to know.  I knew something was missing from from my life, I had not idea that something was Someone! It took a born-again Bible believing Christ-centered person to see, to care, and to wait patiently on their GOD to witness to me.

You see I was raised Catholic, I knew the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, but not raised in a way, that it was anything mostly but the “God is going to punish you Jeannie.” GOD.  And Jesus was a statue, and the stations of the cross.  Church was where you sat, knelt, and stood, non-stop and you better have a chapel veil on your head or a nun is going pin a hanky on it.  Now before you say I’m being harsh, I’m actually quite grateful for having been raised Catholic.  It at least instilled in me a belief in GOD, a knowledge of Jesus, and as far as the Holy Spirit, well, that sort of was just something of a snow white dove.  Sorry, but my family had all sorts of doo-dads hanging about, but hell was really what was lived out.

I want to add a bit of something here as well.  Before you go thinking what you think I’m thinking or feeling, or harboring I’m going to make something quite clear.  I love my parents.  I loved them then, I love them now.  I miss them each and every day.  My dad showed me more love than my mom did.  Yet later, just before she died, my mom told me how sorry she was.  How sorry she was for not having had the time or energy to invest in me.  That she understood though that I’d be a better mom with Joey, who was my first, and that she some how knew I’d find a way to make life better.  Now, what you don’t know, what I haven’t shared, is that my mom had been raised in a Protestant home.  She however, at the age of fifteen met a man who was twelve years her older, my dad.  She got pregnant and had a baby.  Thus the unforgiving GOD with the finger-pointed hand extended, entered her life.  It also entered into the rest of ours, especially mine.  Because instead of a GOD of love, I entered into a new version of GOD who had me consistently needing to be forgiven and going into the confessional filled with such guilt.  The same guilt my parents passed onto me.  Guilt learning for which I’m also grateful for because you have to take the good seed of something and allow it grow into GOD-fruitful living.  I did.  I took the guilt of my life, and when I saw that the Bible said:

John 3:3 The Message (MSG)

 3Jesus said, “You’re absolutely right. Take it from me: Unless a person is born from above, it’s not possible to see what I’m pointing to—to God’s kingdom.”

I chose that GOD-road for a trip of a Life-and lifetime of trusting Him here until I get Home. GOD made a way, by sending His Son.

John 3:16-17

The Message (MSG)

 16-18“This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life. God didn’t go to all the trouble of sending his Son merely to point an accusing finger, telling the world how bad it was. He came to help, to put the world right again. Anyone who trusts in him is acquitted; anyone who refuses to trust him has long since been under the death sentence without knowing it. And why? Because of that person’s failure to believe in the one-of-a-kind Son of God when introduced to him.

I was doing the dance of pure joy.  A dance I know my mom once knew the tune to.  Sin entered into her life, and I’m sure because her mom might have pointed a GOD-finger even, one of disappointment, she just couldn’t let go, and let GOD forgive her.  So she converted.  She just was distracted by the dance of you can work and earn your way out of this dance, done by satan.  That left her always feeling half filled.  And why not?  She was only half right.  Faith without works is dead.  Works without faith in Christ Jesus, having accepted Him, leaves one oh so very alone in the plan GOD has.

Beyond that I knew of Jewish people, and those people at Chicago’s O’hare airport, who had shaved heads and were dressed in garb.  That was about the extent of my world religion.  Oh and lest we not forget the time I got grounded for two days for going to church service at a Lutheran church.  Oh my mom was so bad.  Funny the things that stick in our frontal lobe.  Even things that alcohol might kill or deaden, GOD has a plan to use, and He indeed was Himself, as always armed and at the ready to save Lives for Eternity.  These women in my work path, at a secular school, I might ad, were as well. These women had thee Book, the Bible.  The came armed and prepared to deal with the dangers of life.  One woman in particular made an impact on me to this day, which I still use after leading someone to the Lord.  You see most people will tell you after getting saved to start with the book of John.  Why?  Well, why not?  You can actually start reading anywhere your little old self pleases in the Word of GOD, and as long as you are prepared to be filled up and educated and ready to be armed with some goodness from Him, for GOD-useful Kingdom building power, you are good to go.  This particular friend said to me, “Jeannie, all you need to do in the beginning, and even as you go along in your Christian walk, is to read the Bible.  Be sure to read every day a Psalm and Proverb.  Psalms for strength, Proverbs for wisdom.”

My parents also taught me something else that is a good and fine example.  Even though my mom got pregnant at such an early age, they had that stick-to-it thing going on.  That until death do we part agenda.  My parents went on to have ten more children after their firstborn.  How amazing is that?  I think that’s why even after the death of my first husband, I was wanting to continue on in that path of being One with GOD and someone else.  You see once again, I could focus on all the terrible, and trust me I did for a long, long time.  GOD bless the CHRISTian people along the road of my life, who had to put up with my growing up.  Patience truly has been the virtue of many of them, as it has not always been a smiley road.  Now though, I try to smile through the struggles.  That taught me stick-to-itness!  The best post it note from my parents ever!  It’s sort of like the godfather thing:  “Leave the gun.  Take the cannoli.”   The godfather quote is a way of saying it’s just a part of this life, killing and all.  It’s also the secular life where you can pretty much do as you please and don’t ever sweat the choices you make, even if they are ungodly.   GOD-father, Son and Spirit, their notes are much better and steeped in a sweeter GODly lifestyle.  Although you don’t have to go crazy being perfect, you better make sure you got the plan right.  It’s the salvation plan, or the plan to just get by.

Hebrews 3:13

The Message (MSG)

 12-14So watch your step, friends. Make sure there’s no evil unbelief lying around that will trip you up and throw you off course, diverting you from the living God. For as long as it’s still God’s Today, keep each other on your toes so sin doesn’t slow down your reflexes. If we can only keep our grip on the sure thing we started out with, we’re in this with Christ for the long haul.

   These words keep ringing in our ears:

   Today, please listen;
      don’t turn a deaf ear as in the bitter uprising.

So today, I’m going to give you a wee bit of a started Word of GOD to get the hell out of your day.  The enemy has a way of twisting and turning and making something look safer, better, easier to handle, or swallow.  Don’t allow a life of tradition to keep you from a life Everlasting.  Choose this day Who you will choose.  You don’t have to live in this life like it’s a rat race, and you’re caught in a trap.  GOD loves so much, so much He sent His Son for a purpose, and in that He had plans for your life and mine.
So if by some strange chance you are still thinking it funny that you get drunk, or high, or are a party type of inebriated person, and you think you are way cooler and more fun than me, think again.  Oh no wait, you are able to do less and less of your own thinking because you continue to forfeit all that for a drink, or a high, or what have you.  Also…  please don’t come up to me and tell me coffee is bad for me.  Or that sugar is bad for me.  Or that fat is bad for me.  Yes, I eat Gibbles potato chips and they are made with LARD, and I like them!!!   Lard was around long before sunflower oil, which I’m allergic to, so there.   And by the by, when your children start partying and drinking, and doing all the things you do, because for the most part, they learn by example.   Don’t come crying to me because your car insurance went up because they got caught drinking and driving.  Maybe they saw you do it, and thought I can too.  Train up a child and all…
It’s the future.  Maybe their future will be one of GOD’s choosing or booze choosing.  A lot of it is up to you and the example you set.

Psalm 37:4 The Message (MSG)

 3-4 Get insurance with God and do a good deed,
      settle down and stick to your last.
   Keep company with God,
      get in on the best.

Proverbs 16:16 The Message (MSG)

 16 Get wisdom—it’s worth more than money;
   choose insight over income every time.

Revelation 2:7 The Message (MSG)

 7“Are your ears awake? Listen. Listen to the Wind Words, the Spirit blowing through the churches. I’m about to call each conqueror to dinner. I’m spreading a banquet of Tree-of-Life fruit, a supper plucked from God’s orchard.”

Habakkuk sang a song that left him quite assured.  Try singing this tune, and remain in Him no matter what you face.  See if, especially at the end of Habakkuk’s  prayer, you don’t recognize a bit of what is happening in the world around you.  Sure, you can keep on keeping on, or you can choose to do it His way, instead of stumbling *literally* down the highway of life.  You can keep gaining all sorts of worldly knowledge and be fit to be tied, or tie one on.  Or, you can get fitted with a whole new garment and be tied to the Truth and real wisdom for living.  Don’t take my word, take GOD at His GOD breathed Word.

Habakkuk 3

God Racing on the Crest of the Waves

 1-2 A prayer of the prophet Habakkuk, with orchestra: God, I’ve heard what our ancestors say about you,
   and I’m stopped in my tracks, down on my knees.
Do among us what you did among them.
   Work among us as you worked among them.
And as you bring judgment, as you surely must,
   remember mercy. 3-7God’s on his way again,
   retracing the old salvation route,
Coming up from the south through Teman,
   the Holy One from Mount Paran.
Skies are blazing with his splendor,
   his praises sounding through the earth,
His cloud-brightness like dawn, exploding, spreading,
   forked-lightning shooting from his hand—
   what power hidden in that fist!
Plague marches before him,
   pestilence at his heels!
He stops. He shakes Earth.
   He looks around. Nations tremble.
The age-old mountains fall to pieces;
   ancient hills collapse like a spent balloon.
The paths God takes are older
   than the oldest mountains and hills.
I saw everyone worried, in a panic:
   Old wilderness adversaries,
Cushan and Midian, were terrified,
   hoping he wouldn’t notice them.

 8-16God, is it River you’re mad at?
   Angry at old River?
Were you raging at Sea when you rode
   horse and chariot through to salvation?
You unfurled your bow
   and let loose a volley of arrows.
   You split Earth with rivers.
Mountains saw what was coming.
   They twisted in pain.
Flood Waters poured in.
   Ocean roared and reared huge waves.
Sun and Moon stopped in their tracks.
   Your flashing arrows stopped them,
   your lightning-strike spears impaled them.
Angry, you stomped through Earth.
   Furious, you crushed the godless nations.
You were out to save your people,
   to save your specially chosen people.
You beat the stuffing
   out of King Wicked,
Stripped him naked
   from head to toe,
Set his severed head on his own spear
   and blew away his army.
Scattered they were to the four winds—
   and ended up food for the sharks!
You galloped through the Sea on your horses,
   racing on the crest of the waves.
When I heard it, my stomach did flips.
   I stammered and stuttered.
My bones turned to water.
   I staggered and stumbled.
I sit back and wait for Doomsday
   to descend on our attackers.

 17-19Though the cherry trees don’t blossom
   and the strawberries don’t ripen,
Though the apples are worm-eaten
   and the wheat fields stunted,
Though the sheep pens are sheepless
   and the cattle barns empty,
I’m singing joyful praise to God.
   I’m turning cartwheels of joy to my Savior God.
Counting on God’s Rule to prevail,
   I take heart and gain strength.
I run like a deer.
   I feel like I’m king of the mountain!

Until all have heard of His love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

