Leave a comment

You’ve heard of P.U.S.H.? I say…

P.U.S.S.


I know, gross right?  Well, it’s that time of year when gross things are in.  Sin is something that seems to be “in” all year, and to me it’s like puss.  Puss that infects your life, sometimes even unto death. 

P.U.S.H. and P.U.S.S. go hand in hand.

Speed Pass?  Does that make any more sense?

“P.U.S.S. Pray Until Someones Saved!”  Jeannie

In case you haven’t noticed in my writing I love this day of typing we are living in.  No, I love to write but I stink at grammar, so I know, I know, many a head just cringes at the thought of my little hands typing, or typo-ing.  You know who you are.  You are the self-appointed grammar, spelling police.  You often get so caught up in that, you miss the Jeannie sermonette that GOD placed here from my little old brain to keyboard.  You also might have noticed another thing.  I me Jeannie, have my very own Jeannism dictionary.  It’s true, I do!  I heart that this wonderful world of typing gives you one little flick of the mouse and “Add to Dictionary” appears.  It’s just “injeannieous”!  A world of words all of my own.  A language designed for interpretation by the writer.  Hopefully the reader as well.

Which is a beautiful segway to the subject at hand; pun intended!

You’ve heard of P.U.S.H., right?  Pray until something happens.  Well I say that’s just ensconce.  Yes, I get the meaning behind it.  It’s that persistent widow from Luke 18, what you didn’t even know that the whole P.U.S.H. was Scritpural based?  You thought it was just a nice little bracelet, or catch phrase, something to make you strong, witness wear, or something cutesy to wear.  Maybe you even thought it wasn’t for you, just something for you to show someone else when they are facing hard times, that you are that Romans 8 sort of guy or gal.

Ah, praying!  Praying where you pray until something happens.  I get it, I get it already, but do you?

However, whoever told you to stop praying when something happens?

Here in lies the bigger issue.  We should be like that persistent widow.  I know I was like here with my first husband.  Over the years I’ve seen a lot of people throw marriages away because one spouse is unsaved.  This is where the persistent widow comes in baby.  You don’t have to wait to be a widow or widower either.  In fact don’t wait, because that is to late to pray.  There is no pray for the dead and the dead will pray for you.  It’s way, way to late for anything good to come from praying for the dead, and the dead most certainly cannot reach or affect you.  However, your prayer prior to this, it could have, it can, it should.

You see I know a little something about this.  I was this person who got saved, gave my life to Christ.  I am one, as those of you who know me, and those who don’t can only imagine, I can be one on-fire for Christ girl.  In fact when I am sold out to something, I’m solid as a rock on it.  Sort of like working at Publix and doing my Apron’s gig.  Sure, I’m suppose to be selling, but really we are a service to you.  We offer the ability to get something on the table, for your family to enjoy and make like easier for you.  See a theme here?

My fire hasn’t gone out since receiving Christ.  Sort of like my fire for Publix and Apron’s.  It’s a daily belief, it’s not a preference, it’s a conviction.  Some of you need to rekindle that fire.  Some of you need to get on fire.

We’re like  little candle in the wind of the Spirit.  Don’t you just love opportunities for sharing about Christ?  No, not so much?  I hope you are.  Because heck, if you can share about this or that latest product line, you really gotta be doing something even more fantastical for the Shepherd who gave what?  His LIFE!!!  You don’t have to be all preachy like.  You don’t have to say anything, you just have to show them you’ve got something that keeps you so on fire, so energized.  If you believe it, you give them the thought, they could too.  You might not be the one who they pray with some day, but you sure can be the one who got the wick installed so that whens someone else comes along and lights the wick with the Word, it penetrates and what do you know, Jesus light them up like a CHRISTmas tree, because now they see and believe.

P.U.S.H. sure, but don’t forget to keep on praying unceasingly in a manner of which is a two way communication.  Pray, listen, follow like a good sheep, Your Shepherd, in obedience.

Matthew 7

 1-5“Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults— unless, of course, you want the same treatment. That critical spirit has a way of boomeranging. It’s easy to see a smudge on your neighbor’s face and be oblivious to the ugly sneer on your own. Do you have the nerve to say, ‘Let me wash your face for you,’ when your own face is distorted by contempt? It’s this whole traveling road-show mentality all over again, playing a holier-than-thou part instead of just living your part. Wipe that ugly sneer off your own face, and you might be fit to offer a washcloth to your neighbor.

 6“Don’t be flip with the sacred. Banter and silliness give no honor to God. Don’t reduce holy mysteries to slogans. In trying to be relevant, you’re only being cute and inviting sacrilege.

 7-11“Don’t bargain with God. Be direct. Ask for what you need. This isn’t a cat-and-mouse, hide-and-seek game we’re in. If your child asks for bread, do you trick him with sawdust? If he asks for fish, do you scare him with a live snake on his plate? As bad as you are, you wouldn’t think of such a thing. You’re at least decent to your own children. So don’t you think the God who conceived you in love will be even better?

 12“Here is a simple, rule-of-thumb guide for behavior: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you, then grab the initiative and do it for them. Add up God’s Law and Prophets and this is what you get.

Remember: 

You aren’t in this for what you want.  You are in this for what He wants.  So don’t go asking without also being willing to listen for His answer.  GOD does answer, but with a warning label for all those “I wanter’s” out there.  GOD is not the genie who you rub with a wish and a prayer and then when you don’t get what you want you stick the lid back on the bottle and say, He is a liar.

Be willing to be willing to give up your agenda:

GOD’s got the answers and they come.  If you are going to pray, push, persist, remember the answers are: Yes, no, and not now.  You and I are sheep.  Sheep can and will be sort of stupid.  If you can’t admit that about yourself, you are going to constantly walk right off the cliff every day, with bah-bah-blaming GOD for all the things you didn’t get.  Like GOD is some sort of CHRISTmas list.  Come on folks, it’s not the CHRISTmas list… it’s CHRIST.  It’s Jesus who already paid it all to give you it all.


Is Jesus your Shepherd?  Sheep follow the shepherd.  Not feelings or frustrations.  This time around, stand firm as if you have This Shepherd’s staff keeping you safe in His fold.  Anchor yourself to one thought, what you see here on earth isn’t all you get.  What you get is what you need, what you want isn’t always best, and what is here and now, isn’t all He has for you.

Speed P.A.S.S.:  Because, “Time keeps on ticking, ticking, into the future.”

Aren’t these just one great designed thing?  Just swipe and go on.  Or if you are at a toll, it just scans the little plaque hanging there and it’s zoom, zoom, zoom.  I mean really, long before they came into being, people wanted so badly to just go through the toll booth without looking back.  Or wanted to pump gas and drive merrily, merrily away… Life is but a dream.  Someone thought so, and they tweaked this so that it was action that could be done, and done legally.

We always seem to want to do all the easy ways things in life.  We want something for nothing, we don’t want to look back, we just want, want, want, want.  If we have to pay a certain price for something that we don’t like we say we don’t like the item.  It goes on sale, or free and suddenly it’s for you and for me.  The want, want, want, if you say this really fast, like you have a pass, it almost sounds like, wah-wah-wah.  So now we have sheep who are bah-bah-bahhing and wah-wah-wahhing.

Some people treat praying the “sinners prayer” as if it’s a speed pass to continue on in sinning.  They still lie, cheat, steal, do whatever thinking GOD’s got it covered, because I’m covered by having asked Jesus into my life.  Really?  Is that how the Bible reads?

Here’s the deal-o, let Jesus be your payment now, or you pay later.  Remember that if you asked Him into your life already, you don’t get to do whatever you want the rest of the life.  Not unless you like slippery slopes that lead to not getting all Jesus paid for, for you.

So I ask you again a question you have to ask yourself:  Are you my Father? We can become so robotic in prayer, in talking, in living, in complaining, in wanting, that we miss the beautiful moments of praying until something happens, we forget that in between all that, there was just some conversational sharing GOD wanted to do too.

Give to GOD isn’t all about the offering plate:

Give GOD the Speed Pass over your life.   There is no magic in repetition or in the form of words because it’s about the relationship you have.  Just like that marriage I mentioned before.  My first husband didn’t know the Lord.  So the verse I clung to in the Bible for hope and persistent living was Acts 16:31… you and your household will be saved.”   I tried the preachy look what I’ve gained, you don’t have Joe method.  That just separated us more, and surely did nothing for us to become One in Him.  What I did was not name it claim it either.  What I eventually allowed was to lose myself, and know that if I didn’t become the wife Joe needed, we were dead in the water of our marriage.  Troubled times, sure.  They come, but what I knew, even as an early on Believer, He was my GOD!!!  So, if He was my GOD wasn’t He Joe’s too?  Yes!  And my job was to be the wife GOD wanted me to be while I waited on Him.  Free choice was out there for Joe, I could not pray the prayer of salvation for him but I sure as, to the best of my ability offer it up as something unlike anything else that was appearing in Joe’s world.  You see when we are witnessing we often act as if we look like Jesus, or have this magical life that is all rose colored.  Why we do that to people I don’t know.  We give them a false hope.  A hope that makes it look like something of shopping at the discount store.  Our hope, the Biblical hope we have is built on Jesus, His love, righteousness, and Eternity.  Why we try to cheapen it as is we some sort of morning glories resurrected here is beyond me.  We have to show people that what we have in-Christ, is what gets us through.  Not our cheerful dispositions of hunky-doreyness.

So, what happened with Joe?  A few years later, about one and half years after I became a CHRISTian, one evening, Joe accepted Christ.  It was after a long-tale story I may share in another blog, but for now, don’t miss the point.  The point is that these are the words that Joe said to me.  “Jeannie, you’ve changed.  You make me feel that I am now more important to you than all those church people.”  Of course I started crying.  You see He’d just come home from a long eight week away work trip.  It was a pivotal moment for me.  I explained to Joe that I didn’t change, that Jesus changed me.  Reminded me of who I was to be in this marriage and who He was for me and for you.  Though Joe didn’t know this.  That evening, after a bit of discussing, of me explaining about GOD and Jesus, and what the Bible says,  Joe said, three words that got the salvation train to glory for him on the track.  “I get it.” Joe said.  After which we prayed, and Joe prayed and Joe said to Jesus three words, that Jesus had been waiting to hear, “I accept You.”

And what happened to Joe?  About one and half years after he accepted Jesus into His life, He went Home to Jesus.  You see we don’t like to think about it, but what we say, what we do, how we spend our words, or time, matter.  GOD’s timing, as if we’ve not heard this enough, is not anything at all what we think.  We think we’ve got this and that amount of time.  We don’t people, we just don’t know how much time.  Time is always of the essence when it comes to relationships for Christ.  Don’t cram it down someones throat, just be who He needs you to be.

I’m blessed to say that Joe wasn’t the last person I led to CHRIST.  I was blessed while working at a CHRISTian school to be able to lead children to Jesus because I allowed them to see, to know, that memorizing a verse is not what the Bible is all about.  Those verses mean something, they mean LIFE, because they, the Words of GOD, are Eternal, like GOD wants them, us, to be.

I’ve also led other adults to Christ.  It’s all good, but it’s not me, it’s all GOD.  I’m just a little sheep being led by my belief in Christ.

Relational:

You see the whole marriage thing, if it’s not relational what is it?

The whole walking with GOD is the same.  If you think you separate GOD Father, Son, and Spirit, and live like hell the rest of the week, think again!  How would your marriage, or any relationship be if all you did was treat that person, or their name as if it was a cuss word, or inconsequential?

The issue is relational: in being faithful and determined in going to HIM. God knows in advance what we need or desire, so He does not need to be lectured and does not respond well to loquacity. Rather, let us go to Him consistently and persistently with simple humility to make our requests known… until they are answered.

GOD-speed =) ♥ =) sheep.

You Are My Shepherd by Tricia Brock

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAQuJNHwLLE&feature=related

Until all have heard of His love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

