Leave a comment

~Rhyming in the kitchen~

*GOD*day!

Originally, years ago, I posted this recipe at a site called Mimi’s.  She was gracious, is still gracious enough, to allow people to set up, create and even be able to print your very own homemade recipe book.  In 2002 I’d added this recipe after making many attempts at trying to come up with a good old fashioned sort of biscuit.  You know, the kind that melt in your mouth and yet somewhat crumble in your hands.  This is my final answer to that quest.  Happy Baking,

Jeannie Bee

A tisket, a tasket, a sweet potato biscuit. 

What’s that all about?  This is what happens when I’m in the kitchen baking away and a rhyme pops into my head.  Some how it gets jumbled up in my home baked little mind and comes out sounding more like a gingerbread story of sorts.  I don’t mind though as long as I’m a busy little Jeannie Bee in the kitchen getting to find harmony in the world through food.  Personally, I like my rhyme better, but could just be me =)

Today’s rhyme is brought to you by me doing some tweaking to a recipe of mine.  I had, well really my son had, two sweet potatoes left over.   I decided to bake them and mash them and use them in my Jeannie’s Ginger Ale Biscuit recipe.  I’m so glad I did.  They came out light, fluffy, and when served warm, smothered in some butter, just a true simple pleasure indeed.

Jeannie’s Ginger Ale Biscuits

4 cups biscuit mix — I use Bisquick

1 cup sour cream

6 ounces Ginger Ale

2 Tablespoons softened butter

Topping:
3 T. butter, melted


Preheat oven to 400º.

In a large bowl measure out biscuit mix. Make a well in the center and add sour cream, ginger ale, softened butter. working quickly mix until just blended in (DO NOT OVER MIX–you will have little bricks to use to build and thus a three little pig rhyme where someone will huff and puff and not be able to even blow your biscuits down–LOL). Gather up dough with floured hands and out onto a floured surface and knead just a bit.

Shape into a rectangle that is approx. 15×9″ and 1″ thick.

Take a serrated knife dipped in flour and make 3 rows widthwise, and 5 rows lengthwise.

Place on parchment lined cookie sheet with space in between biscuits.

Bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove, brush with melted butter and return to over for 2-3 minutes more; or until lightly browned in color.

TWO NOTES:

I want you to know I’ve run low on biscuit mix and discovered that you can substitute a cup of it at least, with buttermilk pancake mix. 

SWEET POTATO–For the sweet potatoes: bake, cool, peel, mash and add into mixture.

Leave a Reply

