Leave a comment

Go forth and bake… ~Cappuccino Bonbon’s~

Go Forth and Bake!

Nestled in my handmade little flip recipe file book between Sweet Lemon Scones and Mocha Butter Frosting is a recipe that is yet another easy, breezy to make recipe.   It’s anther  of my quick to go to Jeannie recipes: Thus it’s in a flip-book. =)  You have to be pretty super simple to make it into this little book of fame, LOL.    This one is simple enough to prepare for an any day snack or dessert.   You can make it easy or elegant enough for company.  Which isn’t that what we all love?  A go to dessert that pleases the simplest of, or even the picky-pants palette.  Yes, I said picky-pants!!! =)   Gotta love me, or GOD’ll love me, this I know =)!!!  Which is so good because He knows I am the founder of the Picky-Pants–Not So Anonymous Club! (tee-hee).

Enough of the gibber-gabbier (did I, the queen of gibber-gabbier just type that?–please don’t tell anyone I did, you will ruin my chatty-Kathy rep, LOL)

On to the recipe…

Cappuccino Bonbons

Preheat oven: 350º.  Prepare mini cupcake tins by inserting mini cupcake liners.

Bonbon Ingredients:

1 Family size package of Duncan Hines Brownie Mix
2 eggs
1/3 a cup of water (or you can substitute with brewed coffee–as I did this time)
1/3 cup Crisco Oil
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 1/2 tablespoons of instant espresso coffee

Topping:  Consists of both a thin layer of icing and a powdered sugar top.

A very, very, very, (are you getting the picture =)  thin layer of icing is all that you need. So if you have some leftover icing, or even thin down some of the Duncan Hines Amazing Glaze, either flavor, you’ll be have what you need. My mom would say, “Just a soft handed touch Jeannie.”  Because she would know that I always believe that more is better, but in her wisdom she taught me that, sometimes, more is not always better, sometimes more, is way to much.  And, in this case, that is most true.

Why?  Because for the topping you are going to just take:

1/2 cup Powdered Sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
Whisk together, set aside.

Mix together thoroughly all bonbon ingredients.  If it is to thick, add a bit more water or brewed coffee.  NOTE: You don’t want to thin it to much or you will have a cake like brownie.

Using a 1 1/2″ size, small cookie scoop, fill muffin liners.  Bake 12-15 minutes, until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Remove from oven, cool completely before topping.

Just give a thin layer of the icing, and by thin, I mean almost transparent.  After that, just stick the tippy-top of the the bonbon right into that amazing cinnamon powdered sugar mixture.  And wah-lah, you’re ready, set, to serve.  I used a deviled egg tray to bring these to work.  They fit just perfectly in them, as you can see here.  I also left a few uncovered for those who are on a diet, or don’t care for icing or powdered sugar, but still want a little perk-me-upper. =)

Fancy-shamancy Version:  Just before serving, prepare some  homemade vanilla flavored whipped cream.  Dollop each bonbon with a bit of the flavored whipped cream, and sprinkle with a cinnamon.

All the goodness on a plate or serving platter, from me, and the help of Duncan Hines, of course!

Happy baking,
Jeannie Bee

P.S. aka: Jeannie Commercial Interruption…

You didn’t think I would end that simply did you?  I’m going to recommend a product.  It is one of my absolute fav’s and since your CHRISTmas is around the corner, or maybe even a birthday, someone’s birthday for sure is, so why not treat yourself to this gizmo.  It’s used almost every day, as I love whipped cream in my coffee.  Not my first cup, but the special coffee I brew in my espresso.  So  here goes, my recommended product of the day, that also makes desserts go from simple to the  “Fancy-shamancy” as mentioned above:

It’s the ISI Whipped Cream Dispenser.  I know it’s pricey, but you will come to know it as indispensable!  Pun intended!!!

http://www.isi-store.com/product_detail.asp?T1=ISI+1000&HDR=creamwhipperseasy

Leave a Reply

