Leave a comment

GOD is not the author of lies, so why do we dabble in them?

Don’t Sweat the Small Minded People

 

but do

Sweat the Small Stuff—That “stuff” you were about to share.

It won’t harm anyone… Really?

This is a lie that one tells themselves.  Have you ever said terrible things about the people who design viruses to destroy data, steal your info, harm businesses, and the lives of people?  If so, you are and I, if we share hoaxes, urban legends, passed on for years now, e-mails that are lies, we are just as responsible because we are the people who often give access to these corrupt people an avenue to share.

Ask a lot of people who’ve been harmed by these sorts of rumors.  Charities, like the American Cancer Society, Make-A-Wish-Foundation, to name a few.  Or how about people.  Even if they are people you don’t care for, a lie is a lie.  You passing something along and then claiming it raised awareness, doesn’t water down the lie that was told in the first place.  Harm is being done and it won’t stop until we stop being willing participants with our heads in the sand of innocence, when we are nothing but guilt stained for sharing something we chose not to verify.

Hebrews 10:

26-31  If we give up and turn our backs on all we’ve learned, all we’ve been given, all the truth we now know, we repudiate Christ’s sacrifice and are left on our own to face the Judgment—and a mighty fierce judgment it will be! If the penalty for breaking the law of Moses is physical death, what do you think will happen if you turn on God’s Son, spit on the sacrifice that made you whole, and insult this most gracious Spirit? This is no light matter. God has warned us that he’ll hold us to account and make us pay. He was quite explicit: “Vengeance is mine, and I won’t overlook a thing” and “God will judge his people.” Nobody’s getting by with anything, believe me.

What’s the harm?

As Christians we tell people that if they will just search for the truth, they will find it, and it will set them free.  We believe by faith that people each and every day make choices, and the biggest and most important choice of all, is where one will spend Eternity.   By all means that is utmost of importance.  However, as Believers, we also need to hold ourselves up to accountability and it doesn’t end at the crossroads of accepting Christ.

Each day we share all sorts of knowledge.  Some is information and some, sadly is misinformation.  Some things we share we do so out of basically believing the source.  Take Nancy Grace for instance.  How much of what she shares is good for a quick ratings sweep, and how much of it is truth?  How much of what comes out of someones mouth can be believed when she makes herself, not the victim, center of attention.  Now lets forget Nancy Grace, and go right to every day us.  When after hearing something, some juicy little piece of something from someone, do we quickly pass it on?  When we continue to go on like this, sharing on Twitter, Facebook, texting, talk, we are going to have to decide at some point, does sharing the small stuff matter?

Yes, it matters!  GOD is not the author of lies, so we should not be either.  Agree?

Gone are the days when you decide that something is small, a little lie, meaningless.  Since when?  As a Believer you committed to sharing the Truth.  Telling something because you failed to check the facts, leaves not the one who told you, but you responsible.  The reputation you destroy when willingly passing something on, posting something on Facebook, or what have you, believing nobody gets hurt, is a lie to yourself.  Just because you can’t see the people, group, or face behind this small bit of not so much information, but misinformation you share, doesn’t mean you are not the one in GOD’s Eyes now held responsible.

It’s no wonder we live in a world where many people believe that CHRISTians are naive people who will pass on anything and believe anything.  Don’t you want us to be credible?  Wait, it’s not you and I people are in need of seeing.  It’s Jesus.  It’s His Word, His Truth, and His Life, His Death, His Resurrection that set us free to be something more than that of what we are sharing with the world.

GOD gave us minds to discern the truth:

So today, I dare you, from this day forward to stop passing on every little thing that comes by your eyes, your fingers, your Face-book!  Check it out before sharing, and if you can’t verify it, don’t share it at all.

Just maybe if we start with this one action of verifying something before we share, we will become just a little more credible.

So you want to share some Truth?  You want to share something that needs to spread like wild-fire?  Try copying and pasting this onto your Facebook, into an e-mail, on twitter each day for a verse by verse sharing. 

John 14:

The Spirit of Truth

15-17“If you love me, show it by doing what I’ve told you. I will talk to the Father, and he’ll provide you another Friend so that you will always have someone with you. This Friend is the Spirit of Truth. The godless world can’t take him in because it doesn’t have eyes to see him, doesn’t know what to look for. But you know him already because he has been staying with you, and will even be in you!

 18-20“I will not leave you orphaned. I’m coming back. In just a little while the world will no longer see me, but you’re going to see me because I am alive and you’re about to come alive. At that moment you will know absolutely that I’m in my Father, and you’re in me, and I’m in you.

 21“The person who knows my commandments and keeps them, that’s who loves me. And the person who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and make myself plain to him.”

 22Judas (not Iscariot) said, “Master, why is it that you are about to make yourself plain to us but not to the world?”

 23-24“Because a loveless world,” said Jesus, “is a sightless world. If anyone loves me, he will carefully keep my word and my Father will love him—we’ll move right into the neighborhood! Not loving me means not keeping my words. The message you are hearing isn’t mine. It’s the message of the Father who sent me.

 25-27“I’m telling you these things while I’m still living with you. The Friend, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send at my request, will make everything plain to you. He will remind you of all the things I have told you. I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left—feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.

 28“You’ve heard me tell you, ‘I’m going away, and I’m coming back.’ If you loved me, you would be glad that I’m on my way to the Father because the Father is the goal and purpose of my life.

 29-31“I’ve told you this ahead of time, before it happens, so that when it does happen, the confirmation will deepen your belief in me. I’ll not be talking with you much more like this because the chief of this godless world is about to attack. But don’t worry—he has nothing on me, no claim on me. But so the world might know how thoroughly I love the Father, I am carrying out my Father’s instructions right down to the last detail.

   “Get up. Let’s go. It’s time to leave here.”

So which are you?  Someone who has a small mind only capable of sharing small-minded pieces of juicy gossip?  Or are you someone willing to not sweat the small-minded people by counteracting the lies with Truth?  It’s up to you.  On that day, it will be you and I alone with GOD who will give an account for all the utterances we’ve shared.

 

Until all have heard of His love,

 

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

