Leave a comment

Is it “Me” you’re looking for?

~Hello~ How are you today? 

There’s a lot of thirsty people out there today.  A lot of people who get thirsty and fill up on the quickest drink mixed up by anyone.  It’s the latest Dr. Oz diet, or drink, or formula that will save you, cure you, live you longer.  Everyone’s looking for that perfect drink mix that gives them living water.

What you get is a watered down well.

You don’t believe me?  When was the last time you did a Google search using GOD’s Word.  You know what you get?  You get a mixed bag of tricks and seldom is GOD’s Truth the first thing that appears.  You get all sorts of religious stuff, even some worldly stuff, thrown in with some stuff that has nothing to do with anything, and maybe a few renderings from GOD’s Word.  You get a very watered down well.  This is what the world of “How are you?” is offering on the plate today, and most likely even more watered down tomorrow.

Decision time:

I’m always amazed at how irate we get when what we purchase in the world isn’t what we paid for.  How do you think GOD feels.  His Eyes are watching the world, even within the Body, water down His Word so as to even fit into the most people perfected places.  People taking GOD’s Word and making it fit them, instead of getting fit for Him.  At some point, all on your very own, you and I need to come to a place of decision.  We are either going to get fed up with all this gobbledygook dressed up to look like the real Living Water, or we are going to go to GOD, go to the wellspring and drink from the well of living water ourselves.  Going to church isn’t enough, being baptized as a baby won’t cut it either.  Being raised up in a family of Believers, like dear old mom and grandmom, that won’t get you in either.  You and I can never even serve enough, or be good enough.  We can however make a perfect connection one way.

2 Corinthians 13:10-12

The Message (MSG)

 10I’m writing this to you now so that when I come I won’t have to say another word on the subject. The authority the Master gave me is for putting people together, not taking them apart. I want to get on with it, and not have to spend time on reprimands.

 11-13And that’s about it, friends. Be cheerful. Keep things in good repair. Keep your spirits up. Think in harmony. Be agreeable. Do all that, and the God of love and peace will be with you for sure. Greet one another with a holy embrace. All the brothers and sisters here say hello.

Did you come with a question of purpose?

Did you come with something to share written on your heart?

Did you come looking for a listening friend?

How are you today?

We ask that question so often, and most often it’s done by habit, not by heart.   So my question today is this:  Which call do you want?  The call from someone who recites, “How are you?” but never really wanted to know.  Or, the call from someone who asks that same question and on the other side, is one who truly cares?

Me? I’m so often an idiot, no really.  I believe that when people ask, they want to hear, but truth be told, most people, even the people in your inner most circle, don’t want to know.  Or people are asking on behalf of someone, knowing you’ll trust this individual that asks, and you’ll spill your heart out.  This is the person who asks with an intent of getting information, not intent of concern upon the heart.

Just knowing that this soul knows that you have worth, even if you believe right now that isn’t so, GOD knows it is so.  He said so!  If there is this void inside of you that just can’t find itself filled up, there is a grace to behold, it is His invitation to you, to know that you are an amazing beautiful, necessary part of His creation and beauty.

Stop looking at the outward world to be filled up.  Al that leaves you is needing and wanting more of the attachments here.  This time, trust Him, not because someone said you should; I know right, I’m saying so, but I’m saying this time, lose my words here, and just let go and believe.  I’m telling you that if you give Him your all, He’ll give you all you’re ever going to need.

You see the problem is, we live in a world where a whole lot of folks want to get something out of this relationship thing with GOD.  They either want some tangible earthly assets, or maybe even a healing.  GOD is not a magician.  He is a miracle worker, for sure.  But He’s not to be used like some rabbits foot, good luck charm.  And some of you, you are mixing it up.  You are counting on the “luck” and GOD.  No way can that be.  You are either going to be as constant as you want Him to be, or you are going to end up with some random, rabbits foot sort of, wheel of fortune god *yes, a small god*, something conjured up by your imagination, limited to the possibilities of “if only he did this, or I got that, sort of god.”

Today, if you decide to talk with me, my first agenda will be to introduce you to GOD–The One and Only GOD.  If you aren’t willing to go that route, I’ll still have a listening ear, but there is nothing you can say to turn me away from “My GOD”.  I’ve already been there, done that, and found what He was offering.  I believed, accepted, received and have been on the road with Him a long time growing.  I’m not going to argue with you, but if all you are going to do is try to present some mumbo-jumbo of why you don’t believe, chances are you are not ready for His whole package deal; which is by the by, why you’ve never really gotten it.

Me? I’m going to listen.  I do it a lot, believe it or not.  However, I’m going to only present me and His Word.  So, I guess there is a catch.  But really, the only thing to be caught is you.  You need to allow yourself the ability to come to a place of vulnerability, not to me, but to Him.  If you do I guarantee what you get in return is so much more than this world can ever give.

So again, I begin and end with:

How are you today?  Is it “Me” you’re looking for?

John 4

The Woman at the Well

 1-3Jesus realized that the Pharisees were keeping count of the baptisms that he and John performed (although his disciples, not Jesus, did the actual baptizing). They had posted the score that Jesus was ahead, turning him and John into rivals in the eyes of the people. So Jesus left the Judean countryside and went back to Galilee.

 4-6To get there, he had to pass through Samaria. He came into Sychar, a Samaritan village that bordered the field Jacob had given his son Joseph. Jacob’s well was still there. Jesus, worn out by the trip, sat down at the well. It was noon.

 7-8A woman, a Samaritan, came to draw water. Jesus said, “Would you give me a drink of water?” (His disciples had gone to the village to buy food for lunch.)

 9The Samaritan woman, taken aback, asked, “How come you, a Jew, are asking me, a Samaritan woman, for a drink?” (Jews in those days wouldn’t be caught dead talking to Samaritans.)

 10Jesus answered, “If you knew the generosity of God and who I am, you would be asking me for a drink, and I would give you fresh, living water.”

 11-12The woman said, “Sir, you don’t even have a bucket to draw with, and this well is deep. So how are you going to get this ‘living water’? Are you a better man than our ancestor Jacob, who dug this well and drank from it, he and his sons and livestock, and passed it down to us?”

 13-14Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks this water will get thirsty again and again. Anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst—not ever. The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.”

 15The woman said, “Sir, give me this water so I won’t ever get thirsty, won’t ever have to come back to this well again!”

 16He said, “Go call your husband and then come back.”

 17-18“I have no husband,” she said.

   “That’s nicely put: ‘I have no husband.’ You’ve had five husbands, and the man you’re living with now isn’t even your husband. You spoke the truth there, sure enough.”

 19-20“Oh, so you’re a prophet! Well, tell me this: Our ancestors worshiped God at this mountain, but you Jews insist that Jerusalem is the only place for worship, right?”

 21-23“Believe me, woman, the time is coming when you Samaritans will worship the Father neither here at this mountain nor there in Jerusalem. You worship guessing in the dark; we Jews worship in the clear light of day. God’s way of salvation is made available through the Jews. But the time is coming—it has, in fact, come—when what you’re called will not matter and where you go to worship will not matter.

 23-24“It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God. Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth. That’s the kind of people the Father is out looking for: those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in their worship. God is sheer being itself—Spirit. Those who worship him must do it out of their very being, their spirits, their true selves, in adoration.”

 25The woman said, “I don’t know about that. I do know that the Messiah is coming. When he arrives, we’ll get the whole story.”

 26“I am he,” said Jesus. “You don’t have to wait any longer or look any further.”

 27Just then his disciples came back. They were shocked. They couldn’t believe he was talking with that kind of a woman. No one said what they were all thinking, but their faces showed it.

 28-30The woman took the hint and left. In her confusion she left her water pot. Back in the village she told the people, “Come see a man who knew all about the things I did, who knows me inside and out. Do you think this could be the Messiah?” And they went out to see for themselves.

Until all have heard of His love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

