2 Comments

It’s that time of year: Gobble-Gobble!

Gobble-Gobble-Wabble-Wabble!
“Weebles wobble, but they don’t fall down.”

We however are not “Weebles”, we do fall down. Be it because we fall from grace, fall away from the true sense of Biblical faith, fall physically, or fall away from living like we should… we all fall down sometime or another.

2 Timothy 2:21-23

The Message (MSG)

 20-21In a well-furnished kitchen there are not only crystal goblets and silver platters, but waste cans and compost buckets—some containers used to serve fine meals, others to take out the garbage. Become the kind of container God can use to present any and every kind of gift to his guests for their blessing.

 22-26Run away from infantile indulgence. Run after mature righteousness—faith, love, peace—joining those who are in honest and serious prayer before God. Refuse to get involved in inane discussions; they always end up in fights. God’s servant must not be argumentative, but a gentle listener and a teacher who keeps cool, working firmly but patiently with those who refuse to obey. You never know how or when God might sober them up with a change of heart and a turning to the truth, enabling them to escape the Devil’s trap, where they are caught and held captive, forced to run his errands.

We just love the thoughts that are creeping into our head of Thanksgiving.  Let’s face it, we love all the gobble-gobble goodness on the plate.  I think we even like it more so then before, and I think it’s because we tend not to eat like we use to where we always had so much on the dinner plate.  Back in the day, my day, we had dinner and dessert.  These days people tend to eat side dishes as dinner dishes, and dessert, that’s something left off completely or sparsely on the plate at all.  We do love all the trimmings that what lovingly gets called Turkey Day for some, becomes.  Once again, feasting on the stuffing instead of the Thanks.

We start to think, get-get-get, instead of what has been done, given, and all the gratefulness on the platter of our lives.  What we begin to do is focus on the getting, instead of the giving of thanks.

Being the transparent woman I am, my life is so much about GOD-and food.  I mean come on, I cook for a living and I bake for therapy, so I’m truly a girl who loves all that goodness on the plate, and platter of my life.  I’m a foodie, both feasting on GOD and His Word and the joy of cooking.

I’m guilty–guilty of sometimes letting my thoughts wander to wanting instead of what I’m to be grateful for.  I’ve had to back off from some who all they talk about are their, “this’s and that’s” and yes, I just went and added “this’s” to my dictionary so that word would be acceptable in this post.  What’s important isn’t my grammar here, what’s important is that you lost focus and got caught up in the word, and not what was said.  You missed it, be honest, you did, didn’t you?  You missed that I said I backed off from some people.  I’ve removed them from my life.  It’s for a season, but it’s what I knew (know) that the Lord wanted of me.  We get so caught up in people showing off their “this’s and that’s that we wander into the territory of:  wanting, wanting, wah-wahhing, I want, I need, how come I don’t have? living.  So, instead of being tempted to go into that territory, I headed into His territory that for the time being is all about location, location, location, and where GOD’s got me planted.

All I’m saying is that for me, as with a lot of folks who are down and out, and have been for sometime, thrust into a life that the world calls, “have nots” and not the “have’s”, it can be difficult sometimes.  You know you’ve not had a vacation in some eight years, and listen to folks moan and groan, and grumble they have to go back to work after vacation, some who’ve had weeks.  You listen to people suddenly say they lost their job, or their losing their home, and some of these people were the same people who just a few months back told you, it was all about lazy people, not really trying.  It was and is, and still can be difficult.  I’m just saying… GOD knows though, as well as I know, He’s HOLDING us, it’s Him, and me, and I’m “HELD”.

Isaiah 38:16
O Master, these are the conditions in which people live, and yes, in these very conditions my spirit is still alive— fully recovered with a fresh infusion of life! It seems it was good for me to go through all those troubles. Throughout them all you held tight to my lifeline. You never let me tumble over the edge into nothing. But my sins you let go of, threw them over your shoulder—good riddance! The dead don’t thank you, and choirs don’t sing praises from the morgue. Those buried six feet under don’t witness to your faithful ways. It’s the living—live men, live women—who thank you, just as I’m doing right now. Parents give their children full reports on your faithful ways.

This season of getting, shopping, buying, and throwing into the mix just a wee bit of, “Oh yeah, I’m thankful too, and, Oh by the way, happy birthday Jesus. “, let’s get really honest, that’s about how it all goes.  Come on, I’ll admit this too, I watch the Housewives.  Not all of them, not addicted, but I have to say, for the most part-as unrealistic, and as unhousewivey as they are, they show a lot of what I see in the world around me.  Yes, in church people too!  Because they’re everywhere, us I mean, were everywhere. Everywhere you go, there are going to be people.  We are all people, and on that we can all agree.  Do you watch the Housewives?  If you watch the New Jersey one you’ve most likely seen the episode of their CHRISTmas extravaganza.  The whole “It’s Jesus’ birthday, after all.”  comments that flew out after scantily clad housewives, and vulgar language  flew from the same mouths just scenes before.  It’s the double sided life of people.  The one where we say one thing, and do another, and we all are being watered down, and sculpted, so to speak, into something gripped, HELD, by society’s idea of what is acceptable, and accepting, and forgetting what it’s all really about, being HELD, I mean.  Why am I mentioning “The Housewives”?  It’s because we’d like to look at some of them, claiming to be CHRISTian, and we see the behavior, and we are all so ready to say something.  To comment on how inappropriate their behavior is.  That surely they can’t be a _____, don’t say it.  Why?  Because someone else is watching you, watching me, and just maybe our behavior says something likened to, maybe not in the same fashion, but likened, to that of behavior unbecoming of Jesus, and showing others what He’s done for us.  One way or another we should be speaking up though, right?  So, if we are going to do it regarding this show, and these so called housewives, how about us?

What?  You are shocked I watch the Housewives, or you aren’t getting the connection?  Both?  Cool, then we are on the same page.  I watch a bit of it and get disgusted and turn the channel.  And I pray, no really, I do.  I stop and think this is us.  No, you say!  Ha, go ahead bury your head in the turkey and CHRISTmas presents and deny that though, we might not throw in the bad language, we sure present a less than pretty picture of what GOD sends us and giving thanks, and in showing truly what Present, in His Son, completes us and makes us whole.  If it’s so, I dare us all to show it.  Please, please don’t give me some spouting off about how we can’t spoil it for the kiddo’s or what have you.  Spoil, we’ve already done a completely great job at that.  Look around, “People (said in the voice of “Houston) we have a problem.”

The problem isn’t that GOD hasn’t given His All, and all we need,  the problem is that we’ve failed to give Him our all.  We said we would, we say we will, especially on Sunday in our best, at quite possibly our best.  BUT: We hold back and give Him just a bit of holding back some for ourselves as we gobble up all that the world has to give us back, as if His giving, or even taking, isn’t enough.  Every time we gobble-gobble, we wobble-wobble away from getting All of Him, into all of us.

So I dare you this season to say you like this little sermonette.  Go ahead click the “like” button, not on my behalf, but because you agree that we’ve gotten out of control on the whole Thanksgiving, lack of thanks, and CHRISTmas, lack of CHRIST, celebrating.  Commit to being a little more committed and share this.  Don’t do it for me, because truthfully we shouldn’t do things to show off before mankind.  What we do after committing to allowing these two hyper-sensitive to getting and giving seasons, is between you and GOD, and hopefully for someone, a new commitment to Jesus, in giving the gift of Jesus to themselves, by accepting Jesus.  Not the religious, feel good moment of Jesus, but the true instilling of the Biblical meaning of what it means to become a CHRISTian.  Nothing like giving Thanks and CHRISTmas time, or any one of the days of GOD’s creation to do that.  If today’s the day, it’s CHRISTmas in your H-E-A-R-T, and it’s forever and always.

Oops, I got off track… kind of… So… I mean really, how is it we teach a child to give a shoe box filled up, but show them and tell them to expect mass presents under the tree.  It’s a conundrum, a diabolical man has created that needs to be undone.  It is a mission field alright, and for the man or woman on a mission from GOD these two reasons for the seasons, is going to be highly effective and HELD by Him in high esteem.  That sweet brothers and sisters is all that matters.  We often forget and forfeit for the sake of ourselves, what the Truth is, and in order to stay in good standings, you know, for the sake of ____, what????  What is it that holds us back, and keeps us from being completely HELD captive to GOD.  When is it we really do begin to give ourselves 100% over to Him.  Because even if we hold out and let another brother and sister in-Christ take the blame for something, or don’t step in the good, their good, or if we allow a wrong, for the sake of some protective, not getting involved moment to go unchecked, we’ve just taken ourselves out of His Hand.  We allowed something else to have our attention, to get a bit of ourselves, and we grabbed it right out of GOD’s Hand, just like that *Snap*!

This Fall, fall into His Arms, no really!  Fall, fall into His fullness and grace once again and see if you don’t feel “held”.  Because when you feel that held by GOD, you can’t help but be grateful for whatever it is you have, where-ever it is you are.   There’s a customer who continues to ask what we are going to do when we lose our home.  I have  no earthly clue I tell her.  She says I don’t know how you do this, stand here and sell, and seem so calm.  Deep down I’m concerned, of course, who wouldn’t be?  But overwhelmed with it, consumed with it, what good would that do?  This is what is, to be “held”.

This Winter, slumber more.  Slowly creep into hibernation with a little more comfort and joy in the arms of a manger, where a Sweet Savior Baby Boy was resting and “held” by His Father GOD.  Slip into the manger and rest, and see just how good it is to be “HELD”.  Find out for maybe, for some, the first time what it means.  What sweet, sweet joy there is in being gobbled up with thanks, and wobbling into the arms of Jesus, and being just a little weak in the knees just for having rested fully in His Presence, instead of hoarding and getting, and giving, and showing off all the presents.

Romans 8:17-19

The Message (MSG)

 15-17This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next, Papa?” God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who he is, and we know who we are: Father and children. And we know we are going to get what’s coming to us—an unbelievable inheritance! We go through exactly what Christ goes through. If we go through the hard times with him, then we’re certainly going to go through the good times with him!

 18-21That’s why I don’t think there’s any comparison between the present hard times and the coming good times. The created world itself can hardly wait for what’s coming next. Everything in creation is being more or less held back. God reins it in until both creation and all the creatures are ready and can be released at the same moment into the glorious times ahead. Meanwhile, the joyful anticipation deepen.

Give it up, you I mean, don’t give up, give yourself up as a present to Him and to each other.  If it should ever come to us, being like so many lately who’ve lost all their homes, belongings, etc., if it happened to us, what is it that we’d really miss?  Because it’s the memory in the together times, the times we “held” each other, the times we allowed GOD to “hold” us together, so we could “hold” on through it all, that’s what we really can’t afford to lose out on.  In the end, when we look at tragedies all over, like we just did with 9-11, it wasn’t the plane, the tower, the building, the ground, it was the people.  The people “held”.  The people GOD’s brought into our very lives who we need to hold a little tighter, love on a little more, not lavish with all the “look what I got”.  Look, I’m giving you me!  Maybe we don’t think to much of the getting of someone, maybe you don’t, but I have so few people in my life, that each and everyone of them that let me in, are important and held, and loved by me.  Even to the point of it being difficult for me to let go of them.  Then I remember, I remember it is He who has them and me, still “HELD”, and I can rest in that.

I’m not saying give it up, I’m saying get into the true Spirit of the seasons that are coming.  My husband is a preparedness guy.  He’s all about getting ready for what might come.  Me?  Now don’t misunderstand me, I’m not saying he’s not about getting ready, and isn’t prepared for Jesus too, or with the Word at His side, he is.  But me, I’m telling you me, I’m just loving that what is on my platter, it all matters, which includes every day thankful and His every day Presence.  This season I just want you to know, want you to experience the every day season of being “HELD”.

Click on the link and give a listen and BEHOLD what it is like to be HELD, by Natalie Grant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9QnKrqWhCw&NR=1

Until all have heard of His love,
Jeannie Bee

2 comments on “It’s that time of year: Gobble-Gobble!

  1. Ok Jeannie, that was a LOT of reading for my aging eyeballs, but good. Yes, I do know what it is like to be held up by Jesus, and to hold on to my faith because it is all I have to hold on to. Just this last month, our life situation is starting to take a turn for the better, and we are so very thankful for what God is allowing us to have. We are definately in the “have not” group, but it doesn’t matter. Too many people have such an overabundance of “stuff” that they forget what is really important. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. We are truly thankful to God for our family and the new life that is now growing inside my daughter, our first grandchild to arrive next May. We are happy to have our oldest daughter still with us, even though cancer is ever invading her body. We are happy that we have Christian family and friends who are supportive and encouraging in the best and worst of times. We are most happy for a loving and comforting God who has supplied us with all these people and the things we have NEEDED to sustain our lives. No, we don’t have a lot of “stuff” but we have the MOST important thing of all….God’s love, and the grace of Jesus Christ.
    I enjoy reading your blog, (even with my messed up eyes) and plan to stop in often. I don’t leave a comment every time, because you are such a wonderful writer, that I feel clumsy with my words next to you, but you are doing a great job here! Oodles and bunches of love….Yvonne J.

    • Oh sweet Yvonne, it’s to much for my little eyeballs as well, LOL. If i had the money I could pay for an upgrade and get a different, more clear type post going, but for now, it is what it is. Thanks for reading, and for commenting; as you can.

      I’m so very glad that things are better, better is always better, and every little bit of better makes it all a little bit easier to handle.

      We’ve been kindred through a lot of things, children drama’s, illnesses, finances, so much. We seem to bounce, or in our case, bake right back! =) We both share that too!!!

      One thing I love that you’ve touched on is the continued supportive friends who come alongside. Some are old faces, some are new, and few consistent. Each of great value. Even I think, the ones that walked away, because even in that we can learn and grow. I know that often I can tend to cling to someone for support, forgetting that GOD just wants to HOLD me. Which is sort of what I’ve been reflecting on as I was thinking of all that I’m thankful for. Also listening to people rushing in the CHRISTmas season already. We miss so much because we are planning, planning, planning. If I’ve learned anything, and I think you’ll so very much agree here, in being a part of the “have nots” we have found that GOD has plans in even that. Plans we might have missed out on, like seeing friends touch our lives in such a special way, you just feel the fingerprint of GOD in that moment. You’ve done that for me Yvonne. You are someone whom I admire and have learned from as well.

Leave a Reply

