Leave a comment

“The Power of Veto” born from above!

The true "Power of Veto" rests in God's Hands alone.

*GOD* day

Today’s intro ended up being a bit of a, paid up in full, by GOD, through Jesus, announcement again.  And no, I’m not apologizing.☺♥☺

So *GOD*day All–or again, anyone who seems to come read here.  I have no earthly idea if you come, read and leave.  So maybe you’ll just want to hit the “like” button, post a reply–sort of like leaving a flyer on my door to let me know you were here =)  Just say’n… it’s nice to know I’m not blogging to myself and all this wisdom (LOL) is going to waste.  Really though, it’s not going to waste at all because keeping a journal has always been my banter style.  It’s when I put pen to paper and talk with GOD, and whether you believe it or not, He walk and talks with me this way.  I was going to write that it is no different than you or I sitting in the counseling chair of some counselor, but it is different.  It’s way different.  I’m not knocking counseling, I’m just saying, that any good CHRISTian based counselor will tell you; if they are worth their salt and light, that GOD, Father, Son and Spirit is their Counselor!  So, instead of paying for a counseling session, I go to the source!  I follow the age old alien idea of “Take me to your Leader” and there I sit getting some wisdom worthy advice.  And before you think it comes cheaply, think again!  I’ll be reminding you, and saying this often, even to myself, Jesus paid a high price so that we could go to GOD directly.  So that we didn’t any longer need a mediator, or someone to spoon feed us on what to do, where to go, and most of all, no more trying to work-work-work-sacrifice our way into Heaven or to gain access to this amazing and Mighty-Mighty-Thee-One-and-Only-True GOD!  Jesus is the mediator between you and GOD.  And again, you’ll read me saying this alot, “Don’t take my word for it, take GOD’s Word for it.”

So, after watching a wee bit of Big Brother last evening after a fantastic Blue Sky *see yesterday’s blog* day, I experienced one of those “It’s not the end of the world moments in real life.”  Is that to long for a paragraph title?  Who cares, it’s not the end of the world if it is, and after all, this is my blog, my journal and I’m just going to express myself!  It’s just like satan to try to give you one of his doses of reality meds when you are walking on SONshine.  In fact, I’d say if you don’t experience SONshine daily, he’s probably not bothering with you.  satan tries so hard with his counter intelligence, just when we are having blue skies, and SONshine and everything is Jesus, joy and you, walking in the Walk, to get you to fall off that promise of the rainbow of GOD-love life living.  Nah, he’s not got the power of veto to do that!  Really?  No, he doesn’t unless you give it to him.

So any-who… I’m viewing a bit of Big Brother and though I don’t like what’s about to unfold, and yet I do, sort of, I’m partially getting a bit dreamy and thinking how nice it would have been to have the “Power of Veto” in my life last evening.  Wowza, it would have been so wonderful, and I fell fast asleep dreaming of it’s yielding power in my hands, Z’zzzz, sweet-Jesus dreams drifting off Z’zzz.

I wake up still thinking about “The Power of Veto”.  Only now it’s morning, and a new day.  A blue sky beautiful, GOD-morning day lies ahead.  I’m thanking GOD I’m off, which isn’t suppose to be my “off” day but I switched it out, and it is, and it’s truly a GOD-incidental thing, because GOD knew I’d need it big time.  He knew it was time for a little One on, little me one, counseling time.  So here goes me sharing a little bit of what GOD journaled  with me this morning.

“Go to the source Jeannie!”

So I do.  I search for in “veto” in the concordance.  Nope, no veto power there.  So, I do the next best thing, which is what I always do; oops, that’s not the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, GOD please help me so.  I can be a bit of a frequent flyer on the “take matters into my own hands” kind of soul, and that benefits nobody, and makes the learning curve of life, soooo hard!  But today, today I choose wisely and fly on GOD’s wing and prayer airway.   I get out my trusty: “The Complete CHRISTian Dictionary for Home and School”.  If you don’t own it, you should.  It’s so much better to have a dictionary that is empowered by the Word of GOD, than that of a dictionary just filled with the words of men.

Class is in session with you, me and GOD now, and here, finally, the answer to having “The Power of Veto”.

Veto n.  1.  An authoritative rejection of something that has been proposed.  2.  The right to make such a rejection.  

Hold on, GOD’s not through.

Veto v.  1. To prevent or forbid some action; refuse to allow something.

How about I write it, with a little bit of literary power and give you and I a dose from GOD’s Word on veto power?  It goes a little something like this:

Luke 10:10
“When you enter a town and are not received, go out in the street and say, ‘The only thing we got from you is the dirt on our feet, and we’re giving it back. Did you have any idea that God‘s kingdom was right on your doorstep?’ Sodom will have it better on Judgment Day than the town that rejects you.

Luke 10:16
“The one who listens to you, listens to me. The one who rejects you, rejects me. And rejecting me is the same as rejecting God, who sent me.”

1 John 5:11
This is the testimony in essence: God gave us eternal life; the life is in his Son. So, whoever has the Son, has life; whoever rejects the Son, rejects life.

Reject = Veto Power!  GOD’s got veto power, He’s even given us Veto Power,  really!  GOD however, He’s the only One who gets to do the rejecting of people into His Heaven.  We have the power to reject something, but as nice as it would be, not someone.  Ah that little thing, which isn’t so little, and is as I spoke of on a previous blog day, is also so very complicated for us to learn, let alone to live.  Not before you say something likened, to Jeannie you’ve never met ________.  I have met someone like _____, before.  Goodness knows, it could be my very own name on the line there.  In fact I already have people I know who have rejected me, and you know what, it hurts heart and soul of me.  It hurts, but there is nothing I can do but place even those family members in the Hand of GOD… and sometimes, when it’s very visible that others in my family are accepted and I’m the rejected, I have to sometimes do this several times a day until GOD removes the sting and I sing about the Blue Skies and Promsies of GOD and His love for us all.

We all have met people we’d like to X out and get off the radar of our life.  In fact the person, and I’m being really transparent here, I would like to reject, they themselves said not so long ago to me, “Jeannie we are each here to teach each other something.  We each have something to give and something to learn from each other.”  Sounds a bit Oprahish and a bit new ageish to me.  It does however have it’s Biblical bearings correct.  Although we are allowed to walk away from people that are a bit bothersome, annoying, not even maybe good for us, we are not allowed to “reject” – or yield the now infamous wand of  “Power of Veto”.  If we completely reject someone, we are also now not allowing ourselves to lay them in the hands of GOD.

GOD-infomercial Interruption:  No really!!!

In yesterday’s blog I told you about how I have 411-GOD on my phone.  Well guess what.  TRUE STORY:  Immediately after hitting the period above, GOD-called.  Here is what He said:

Ephesians 1:21-23

The Message (MSG)

 20-23All this energy issues from Christ: God raised him from death and set him on a throne in deep heaven, in charge of running the universe, everything from galaxies to governments, no name and no power exempt from his rule. And not just for the time being, but forever. He is in charge of it all, has the final word on everything. At the center of all this, Christ rules the church. The church, you see, is not peripheral to the world; the world is peripheral to the church. The church is Christ’s body, in which he speaks and acts, by which he fills everything with his presence.

If this doesn’t confirm to you how truly GOD works in our lives, on a One on one basis, your wood is just way to dried out and you my darling need to be saturated in His Word.  Get with the program of GOD.  His Word is not just for Sunday’s and Wednesday.  His Word wasn’t designed to be a feel good party for you.  GET SOAKED in some GOD-Word today.

Yield “The Power of Veto” over to GOD.  As for you and I?  We need to know that we have some powers of our own from GOD.  One, we need to allow the Holy  Spirit control in our life.  That’s power of the utmost kind.  If we can’t yield to Him, we’re going to yield to the flesh.  If we do that two people, or more, end up beat up and nobody comes out a winner.  Especially you, the Believer.  Because GOD holds you and I to a higher standard than that of the unBeliever.  No silly, you thought that higher standard was just for pastors, Bible teachers.  Sure, they’ve got a higher standard, but the moment you and I chose to live for Christ, we chose the road Jesus Christ walked on.  And, let’s hope you know a whole lot more about that glory story, enough to know that when the going got tough, Jesus didn’t poke anybody’s eyes out, or cut their ears off.  He did what, you ask?  He took the road not traveled.  He took the road that didn’t martyr Himself, He took the road that saved the world because He loved the people of the world.  What you only heard of John 3:16, because some famous earthly football player put it under his eyes in a game.  This game of life is way more about you and all the people.  It’s not a game at all.  It’s about knowing something more than a verse.  Read the whole passage here, saturate yourself in it.  Immerse yourself into the yielding of giving the power of veto over to GOD, and holding a little of the power of veto to reject that behavior which is unbecoming of anyone of us in-Christ.  It’s not easy, it’s not pretty, it’s not simple, but it is the way.

John 3

Born from Above

 1-2There was a man of the Pharisee sect, Nicodemus, a prominent leader among the Jews. Late one night he visited Jesus and said, “Rabbi, we all know you’re a teacher straight from God. No one could do all the God-pointing, God-revealing acts you do if God weren’t in on it.”

 3Jesus said, “You’re absolutely right. Take it from me: Unless a person is born from above, it’s not possible to see what I’m pointing to—to God’s kingdom.”

 4“How can anyone,” said Nicodemus, “be born who has already been born and grown up? You can’t re-enter your mother’s womb and be born again. What are you saying with this ‘born-from-above’ talk?”

 5-6Jesus said, “You’re not listening. Let me say it again. Unless a person submits to this original creation—the ‘wind-hovering-over-the-water’ creation, the invisible moving the visible, a baptism into a new life—it’s not possible to enter God’s kingdom. When you look at a baby, it’s just that: a body you can look at and touch. But the person who takes shape within is formed by something you can’t see and touch—the Spirit—and becomes a living spirit.

 7-8“So don’t be so surprised when I tell you that you have to be ‘born from above’—out of this world, so to speak. You know well enough how the wind blows this way and that. You hear it rustling through the trees, but you have no idea where it comes from or where it’s headed next. That’s the way it is with everyone ‘born from above’ by the wind of God, the Spirit of God.”

 9Nicodemus asked, “What do you mean by this? How does this happen?”

 10-12Jesus said, “You’re a respected teacher of Israel and you don’t know these basics? Listen carefully. I’m speaking sober truth to you. I speak only of what I know by experience; I give witness only to what I have seen with my own eyes. There is nothing secondhand here, no hearsay. Yet instead of facing the evidence and accepting it, you procrastinate with questions. If I tell you things that are plain as the hand before your face and you don’t believe me, what use is there in telling you of things you can’t see, the things of God?

 13-15“No one has ever gone up into the presence of God except the One who came down from that Presence, the Son of Man. In the same way that Moses lifted the serpent in the desert so people could have something to see and then believe, it is necessary for the Son of Man to be lifted up—and everyone who looks up to him, trusting and expectant, will gain a real life, eternal life.

 16-18“This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life. God didn’t go to all the trouble of sending his Son merely to point an accusing finger, telling the world how bad it was. He came to help, to put the world right again. Anyone who trusts in him is acquitted; anyone who refuses to trust him has long since been under the death sentence without knowing it. And why? Because of that person’s failure to believe in the one-of-a-kind Son of God when introduced to him.

 19-21“This is the crisis we’re in: God-light streamed into the world, but men and women everywhere ran for the darkness. They went for the darkness because they were not really interested in pleasing God. Everyone who makes a practice of doing evil, addicted to denial and illusion, hates God-light and won’t come near it, fearing a painful exposure. But anyone working and living in truth and reality welcomes God-light so the work can be seen for the God-work it is.”

“The Power of Veto” was born from above!

However always know the difference between a preference, which is often ever-changing, and a conviction:  I follow this motto to all the crossing of the T’s and dotting all the I’s.  If you are going to be a sold out Bible-believing CHRISTian you have no choice but to live in the knowledge that you were sold out to CHRIST, and you are not to sell out to something so changeable like the standards, morals and ethics our society is ever revolving in.

I can be patient, I can be kind, I can learn. I even know the difference in what is good for me, and what is best for the team. I know the difference between someones personal preferences and moral convictions. Don’t ask me to compromise on an ethical or moral conviction. If you do, I’ll just have to get out the “Power of Veto” pen, and sign my name on the little line of moving on.

Today you now know that you must share this “Power of Veto” and not keep it to yourself.!  Let someone else know that just as you did, and do, they also can…

Today, since I’m doing a double lesson plan on the power of veto, GOD knew we needed two songs.  One on coming as you are, and another another allowing GOD to change your heart.  Know fully that you must allow GOD to work on your heart, AND allow Him alone to work on the other persons. 

Come As You Are, by Bryan Duncan:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3M7I_hhdpw

Changed ♥’s Make Changed Lives:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZsu869E6vA&feature=related

Until all have heard of His love,

Jeannie Bee

Leave a Reply

