Leave a comment

I’m Baking A Difference: Chocolate Orange Cookies

So today’s therapy session in baking popped into my mind after my first go at using Duncan Hines Cake Mix as a cookie base.  Right after the first bite into my version of Jeannie’s Ooey-Gooey Almond Butter Cookieshttps://beeiteversohumble.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/im-baking-a-difference/  I was hooked and my mind went racing with all sorts of concoctions, finally settling on a decision to work with a little chocolate bliss.

Being the transparent woman I am, and knowing that many of you might let out a bit of a *gasp* at this statement, I don’t really care for chocolate.  I know, right?  Like what kind of strangeness is that?  However I did give birth to a chocoholic daughter, therefore redeeming myself.  Thank You GOD, and Jill.  Now just so you know I don’t dislike chocolate, it’s just that it’s something, unless I absolutely crave it, I don’t necessarily rave about it.  I like chocolate well enough, but I crave a whole lot of other things besides chocolate, more often.

So then, why? you ask are you telling us all this.  I’m telling you this because I’m beginning to be swayed by Duncan Hines into a person of chocolate.  These cookies are proof.  One of my absolute favorite cake mixes is Duncan Hines.   You will hear this again, and again, and again, if you follow this blog.

Commercial Interruption:  Retraction Statement to follow…

This just in… Jeannie stated in her blog that Duncan Hines is one of her favorite cake mixes.  This statement Jeannie says is an untruth!  What?  “Yes, it is true, it is a false statement.” Say’s Jeannie.  She is confirming that Duncan Hines is not “one” of her favorite cake mixes, it is HER FAVORITE!

All fun aside, Duncan Hines really does produce a great product.  I’ve yet to be even the slightest bit disappointed in anything of theirs that I use.  And yes, sadly you might see another brand in my cabinet.  This travesty is caused by a BOGO husband who thinks that if it’s something I can bake with, and it’s a BOGO, it must be good.  I’m working on him, truly I am.  However he just believes that I’m a wonderful cook and baker and apparently a miracle maker as well.  Which is, by the by, what it takes to get those other brands to rise to the occasions of  using them in baking something.  And by rising I mean rising.  They truly fall flatter, leaving me the baker in therapy, and in much need of doing more baking because a session in baking with them, leaves me feeling unfulfilled.

Commercial Interruption:  Some rumors have been circulating that Jeannie could be employed by Duncan Hines and working incognito for them.  This rumor has been dispelled by Jeannie herself who said, “Silly people, no, I don’t work for Duncan Hines. I work at Publix Super Markets at doing something else I also love, Publix Apron’s Simple Meals.  If however Duncan Hines ever asked me to work for them.  I would have absolutely no objections, LOL.  No, really!!!  Just in case someone from Duncan Hines reads this, I do ♥ you all at Duncan Hines so very, very much!!!”
Now, back to your regularly scheduled “I’m Baking A Difference” Blog.

Ah yes, the recipe.  You’ve been most patient, so here goes.

Jeannie’s Duncan Hines Chocolate Orange Cookies

Preheat oven to 350º.

Makes 3 dozen cookies.

  • 1 Box Duncan Hines Triple Chocolate Decadent Cake Mix
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 8oz. package cream cheese
  • 1/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. orange extract
  • Zest and Juice of one large navel orange.
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup of cocoa
  • Prepared cookie sheets: I always use parchment paper.  I’m stuck on it☺

1.  Cream together butter and cream cheese.  Blend in egg and extracts, zest and juice.  Mix in cake mix, including contents in small pouch, mix until thoroughly blended, being careful not to over beat.

2.  Place 1 cup of powdered sugar in a small bowl, stir in cocoa; set aside.

3.  Using a small size cookie scoop, take mounds of dough and gently roll in powdered sugar and gently form into ball.  Place on prepared cookie sheet about 2-inches a part.  Set aside remaining powdered sugar/cocoa mixture for later use.

4.  Bake in preheated oven for 13 minutes.   Be very careful checking as these cookies are fragile.

5.  Cool all cookies on cookie rack completely.  Sprinkle with remaining powdered sugar mixture.  I used my sifter, but you can use a small hand held, mesh strainer,  as well.

Enjoy these little pillows of air with a such cup of coffee, tea or big old glass of good old fashioned milk.

As always, happy cooking and baking,

Jeannie Bee

P.S.  Some people say to me, “Jeannie, you’ve really got to get a life.”  I explain that life is baking a difference, and I’m doing that one cake, one cookie, one home baked goodie at a time, and truth be told, sometime two or more.


Leave a Reply

