4 Comments

I’m Baking A Difference!

If you read my bio you would have read that I’m so much about my faith and family, but I’m also all about baking.  I’m very privileged to get to cook for a living, but for relaxation, I bake.  Truth be told, for this woman, there really is no place like home.  Maybe that’s why, in my walk, I also long for my Heavenly Home of someday.  For now, until I reach my final destination, my earthly home is where I do find comfort and joy.  The side of Heaven will be what I sing, share and witness about, and the therapy on this side will continue on in the kitchen.

So today, I wanted to try something I’d not done before.  A sort of cheat cookie.  You’ll learn as you get to know me that I ♥ Duncan Hines cake mix.  I know, I know, there’s just nothing like making something from scratch.  Building it up, so to speak, from the ground up.  Some of us love to create, some of us love to re-create, and some of us, love to just enjoy the labor of others.  I think, if we were honest, most of us love all three.

Today’s creation is all three-in-one.  I decided to try my hand at Duncan Hines cookies.  I found a recipe a while back and I tweaked it, like all adventurous cooks and bakers do, I had to add my own touch along the baking road.  Today’s rendition is an easy, on the fly little treat, that, if I might indulge myself, “…is as much fun to make as it is to eat.”

Jeannie Bee’s Duncan Hines Ooey-Gooey Almond Butter Cookies

Preheat oven to 350º.

Makes 3 dozen cookies.

  • 1 Box Duncan Hines Yellow Cake Mix
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 8oz. package cream cheese
  • 1/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. pure almond extract
  • 1 cup powdered sugar + 2 tablespoons powdered sugar
  • Prepared cookie sheets: I always use parchment paper.  I’m stuck on it☺

1.  Cream together butter and cream cheese.  Blend in egg and extracts.  Mix in cake mix until thoroughly blended, being careful not to over beat.

2.  Place 1 cup of powdered sugar in a small bowl; set aside.

3.  Using a small size cookie scoop, take mounds of dough and gently roll in powdered sugar and gently form into ball.  Place on prepared cookie sheet about 2-inches a part.

4.  Bake in preheated oven for 12 minutes, or until the bottoms are slightly browned.  Be very careful checking as these cookies are fragile.

5.  Cool all cookies on cookie rack completely.  Sprinkle with remaining 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar.  I used my sifter, but you can use a small hand held, mesh strainer,  as well.

Enjoy these little pillows of air with a such cup of coffee, tea or big old glass of good old fashioned milk.

As always, happy cooking and baking,

Jeannie Bee

4 comments on “I’m Baking A Difference!

  1. This sounds yummy Jeannie. I have a great cake mix cookie that I just got the recipe for. I will try this one. Anything with cream cheese in it is always good. Keep up the great work……Love ya!

    • I have to say, I even liked these. My daughter makes a great cake mix cookie as well. I’ll have to get that recipe from her, and we’ll have to compare. I was surprised I liked these, but I do believe Duncan HInes makes a difference. I’ve had cookies made with other cake mixes and they are always on the salty-baking soda sort of tasting side. These actually got better as they cooled and I found myself looking forward to having them when I got home from work last evening.

  2. […] Right after the first bite into my version of Jeannie’s Ooey-Gooey Almond Butter Cookies:  https://beeiteversohumble.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/im-baking-a-difference/  I was hooked and my mind went racing with all sorts of concoctions, finally setting on a decision […]

  3. Thanks Yvonne, we are for sure sisters in-Christ Jesus, but we are also truly “Baker-sisters too!

Leave a Reply

